Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Arthur's Perfect Christmas
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 10, 2000
Marc Brown's Arthur is very popular with young people. It is usually well written. However, I found Arthur's Christmas lacking. I thought at first a page was missing. The story did not flow well and felt like he was trying to cram everything about the winter holiday season into a 32 page book. I found it much too busy. It seemed rushed and not well thought out.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2000
Despite the useful lesson that Americans enjoy the holiday season differently, the true gem of this story is the soothing way things can work out, even when they are not going the way you had hoped. ARTHUR'S PERFECT CHRISTMAS is really a story about how all of us get wound up for this time of the year, fantasize about it and become crushed when it's not so picture perfect. Our children, ages 8 and almost 4, shuddered when Arthur accidently broke the beautiful gift he had chosen for his mom--only to be buoyed by his Uncle's surprise gesture. They also watched intently as the typically spoiled Muffy finds that despite having received many Christmas gifts, what she wants most is a resurrection of her fractured friendship with Francine.
This story spends much energy on getting kids to understand that different families celebrate the holiday in different ways, from Hanukkah to Kwanzaa. Because Arthur fans never knew before that Arthur was a Christian, Francine a Jew and the Brain an African-American, it at first seems "stretched-to-fit", a little forced. The lesson, however, is invaluable because human beings even in similiar faiths and cultures do not necessarily celebrate in similiar ways. While this is an vital lesson of its own, it is ultimately trumped by one that all us can recognize and share, that is friendship and compassion towards others can prevail. It can make any holiday disappointment seem "perfect."
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2012
my 3 year old is the biggest arthur fan and we have way too many of the books. we bought him this book for christmas and i was so disappointed in the way it was written. it jumps from character to character and there isn't a very good plot. why can't christmas be christmas, i felt that marc brown spent way to much time trying to cram every other winter holiday into a christmas book that he missed the "marc"
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2004
It's clear that the book is an attempt to fit a whole TV special into a book. It's done poorly, and there even are characters who appear without explaination in the last few pages! I'd skip this book and buy others from the Arthur series.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
This book is a lot of fun to read, the pictures are colorfully drawn and the story line is basically the same as the TV show. My kids take along time reading this book because of the detail in the pictures. Yes, I would recommend this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
This book has the potential to be a wonderful story with lovely illustrations however the book seems more like a poorly transcribed movie and not a story. It jumps from one character to another more like scenes of a movie, it doesn't flow smoothly like a story for young children should. There is no focus making it difficult for younger kids to follow. "Grandpa Dave" randomly shows up without introduction/explanation towards the end of the book. I think it would be much nicer if it was divided into several books so we could explore some of the different character's stories more deeply.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2004
It's three days until Christmas, and Arthur doesn't see how he could possibly be happy. For one, there's no snow, and you can't possibly have a perfect Christmas without snowmen, snow angels, and snowflakes falling from the sky. Two, his Father has decided to cook a Middle Eastern meal, instead of the traditional turkey dinner that almost everyone eats on Christmas. And three, the wonderful present he bought for his Mother is now broken, all because Arthur was too careless when bringing it downstairs. Now, the one holiday that's supposed to be perfect, is going down in flames, and Arthur can't do anything to stop it.

I have never seen the ARTHUR'S PERFECT CHRISTMAS television special on PBS, but I found that the book was quite enjoyable. Especially for those who want their children to learn about Christmas, Hanukkah, and Kwanzaa, as there are mentions of all of these holidays wrapped up in this short holiday story. Filled with lovely illustrations, this book is sure to capture everyone's heart around the holidays. A must-have!

Erika Sorocco

Book Review Columnist for The Community Bugle Newspaper
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2003
This is a great book about Christmas! In the book Arthur wanted everything to be
perfect. Arthur decorated the tree. He also got a present for his mom and
dad. Unfortunately, the present broke. Arthur learned what the best thing about
Christmas really is. Read this book to find out what the best thing about Christmas is!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
I bought this for my classroom to read to them at the holiday season and it was great. I even got the movie to go along with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2006
This is a family favorite! I just ordered this book for the second time since the littlest sister in our family did some damage!! I would recommend it to anyone who is an Arthur fan!! You can't go wrong!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here