Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Dixit (Cover Art May Vary)
Amazon Vehicles GoldBox Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports

Price:$24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon September 4, 2013
I first played this among a Gaming Group I play with once a week, not long after it was one of the favorite "board" games among the other gamers at the Game & Hobby shop where we all play. Although it says 8+, my 7 year old daughter also took to it right away and it has since become her favorite game.

What I love about this game is it's a quick and simple play and for anyone and everyone. The set up is easy, deal six cards to up to six players, everyone picks a color (to represent them via Bunny on the score board and voting chips)and you pick someone to start. They pick a card from their hand, for example let's say Player 1 chooses a card with a Bunny on it and two doors before him, one red. This scene could remind the player of The Matrix (one commonly used with this card among our group), Alice in Wonderland (because of the white rabbit), Doors, Doorway or Entrance (because of the doors, obviously) or even Bunny or Rabbit (for the younger players, there are more rabbits in different decks).

Once he chooses his card, he says something that reminds him (like the above mentioned), let's say he chooses Alice in Wonderland as his phrase. The other players then pick a card from their hand, without revealing, that reminds them of Alice in Wonderland. Let's say Player 2 has a card with a cat on it somewhere that reminds him of the Cheshire Cat, so he plays this. Player 3 has a card that shows several cards stacked, the top having a Red Queen on it, reminding him of the Red Queen in Alice in Wonderland. So he plays this. Player 4 has nothing that represents the clue so he simply plays a card he wants to get rid of.

Then all the cards are shuffled up so nobody knows who played what, then revealed on numbers 1-4 (or however many characters are playing). Then each player looks at the cards and chooses which they think the first player played (not nessasarily which they think is most like the clue, but which they think that player most likely played) This game comes in handy when you play with people you know very well as you can anticipate what they chose sometimes based on their clues, their cards and who they are as a person. This makes the play funner sometimes and also challenges players to be more abstract with their clues.

Each player votes anonymously, vote card face down, for which card they think PLayer 1 played. Once all votes are cast they are revealed.

If everyone picked then right card, everyone but Player 1 gets 2 points (penalizing Player 1 by being too obvious with their card or simply nobody else had a card that also represents the clue). Bunnies are moved up according to points.

If at least one person voted for another card, then the players voting correctly AS WELL AS Player 1 all receive 3 points.

The Player whose card was chosen also receives an extra point. They receive as many points as there are votes for their card, and those who wrongly chose their card receive none.

If nobody chooses the correct card, everybody but Player 1 receives 2 points (again penalizing Player 1 but this time for not being obvious enough). They also receive 1 point for everyone who votes for their card.

The player who chooses a card this turn obviously does not vote as they already know the chosen card. You also may not vote on your own card at any time.

It's a very simple rule set up which goes quickly as points are quickly earned and everyone's bunny races to the end.

There is also a different set of gameplay for if you are playing with only 3 people, making it harder to narrow down the few cards by having opponets play two cards instead of one, providing 5 choices instead of 3 in a 3 player game.

Definitley Highly Recommended, you'll be buying expansion cards as soon as you fall in love with this game, too. I've already purchased two myself. A must have for any gamer no matter what level or type of games you love, this truly is one for everyone. Simple and Great fun!
11 comment| 140 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
I purchased this game after seeing Will Wheaton's show TableTop on the Internet.

Last night I brought it to a gathering of adults who had never seen a game like it, and were initially put off. After some cajoling, they stepped up and tried it. I won the first game, but everyone else wanted to play it again, and the second time a gentleman won who had been the toughest to convince to play.

The comments I received were like, "This is the most unusual game I've ever played," and, "I'm engaging parts of my brain that I never use!" It was a hit and a half, so if you're reading this you need to get this game.

Best with four, five, or six players. The more players, the greater the experience. Also keep one person in charge of dealing the cards, shuffling and revealing the selections, basically running the game. I filled this role last night since I owned the game. Also, find something to use for an active player token. It will cut down on some confusion.
11 comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2015
I wouldn't say we're really into board games, but we did purchase most of the highest-rated games recently. To date, we've played Dixit the most by far, since it's so easy to pick up and teach to others. Setup only takes a minute and most players will get the hang of the game after only the first round.

The general idea is for everyone to put down a face-down card that relates to the round leader's verbal clue, and then guess the leader's card out of that pile. Points are awarded for guessing correctly and getting others to choose the card you placed down. It's a little more complex than that, but that's about the gist of it.

What I like most about this board game is that it appeals to such a large range of ages and personalities. Dixit is casual enough to avoid the problem of turning away people that don't generally play board games. The way the game is designed, each person will interpret the images on the cards differently, so having a diverse group of people greatly enhances the experience. There are also additional cards available for purchase that come in sets of 84 to expand the game.

Dixit comes with 84 illustrated cards, a game board, six rabbit player tokens, six sets of numbered tiles, and box that holds the game and up to three expansions. The box I received does not look like the one pictured in the product description, so I added the photos of what's currently the newest version.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
The mechanic is familiar, picking out someone's card but Dixit adds a little twist and still manages to be fun. In Dixit, on a player's turn, he/she tries to convince others to pick his/her card through clues. Easy, except the player do not want everyone to pick it, just some. That player gives a clue, puts down a card, all others, pick a card from their hand and puts down a card, trying to get their cards picked so they can get points. It's a easy game in theory, but in practice, the cards themselves are sometimes not easy to give clues for, plus one may see the "clue" in multiple cards presented. Dixit is a wonderful light and enjoyable game, no pressure, no deep brain draining thought process required. Despite that, Dixit still makes you think about connecting the clue to the picture. Great for children and adults, the kids may not "get" it but the fact that they can play along and not feel left out is a giant step in the right direction.

[...]
0Comment| 148 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2011
This is an outstanding game for children and adults alike. In fact, playing with my 6 - 10 year old granddaughters is great fun. The children are more dramatic in the delivery of their one or two word stories. The adults more laid back. I bought the 2nd deck as well and mix them together. Dixit certainly helps children to focus and to use words carefully and descriptively.

Recently my husband had a game party and we had one table of Dixit. It's a game that is easily learned and enjoyed by all who play. Terri P Tepper
11 comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2014
My wife Mary is a public school teacher who says this game is a fun-filled game for expanding vocabulary development. S.A.T. Prep, anybody? Forget story-telling and movie-related clues. Instead, have game players provide a clue with one or two vocabulary words that describe mood or theme, e.g., daunting, perplexing, divergent, mysterious - or for primary school examples: lost, excited, pleased, help. Players identify a card from their own hands that best matches the given vocabulary word and that is the basis for subsequent voting. This clue strategy should end the critique by some that the game is not fun if you know which movies and stories other players have enjoyed. Mary loves this game!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
I purchased this game to play with my friend's 5 and 7 year old kids. They both picked it up right away and really enjoyed it. Not only is it a smart and creative game, but it has a small learning curve. A great introductory game for young kids and older people who think of Monopoly when someone says tabletop gaming.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2015
About the Different Versions:
Asmodee did a really good job of making the different versions of Dixit as confusing as possible. All versions of Dixit use the same card size and have the same card back so they are all compatible with each other. Here is what I was able to figure to the best of my knowledge:
There are 7 sets: Dixit, Dixit Odyssey, Dixit Quest (Dixit 2), Dixit Journey (Dixit 3), Dixit Origins (Dixit 4), Dixit Daydreams (Dixit 5), and Dixit Memories (Dixit 6).
Dixit Jinx is a totally separate game with square shaped cards.

Dixit
US name: Dixit
Euro name: Dixit
Artist: Marie Cardouat
Standalone game that comes with 84 cards and everything you need to play with up to 6 players. There are several different printings.
The older version, also called Dixit (International Rules Version), comes with a scoring track built into the box and space to hold the 84 cards. It can be identified with a German Game of the Year icon on the front of the box.
The newer version, Dixit, being printed since 2012, comes with a foldable scoring track that is less cute but more functional than the scoring track in the old/international version and space to hold 336 cards (Dixit's 84 cards plus 3 other sets). It can be identified by the word "Family" on the front of the box.

Dixit Quest Board Game
US name: Dixit Quest
Euro name: Dixit 2
Artist: Marie Cardouat
Dixit Quest is an expansion that comes with 84 cards. A standalone version of the game (Dixit, Dixit Odyssey, or Dixit Journey) is required to play.

Dixit: Odyssey
Dixit Odyssey Expansion Game
US name: Dixit Odyssey
Euro name: Dixit Odyssey
Artists: drawn by Piero colored by Marie Cardouat
Available as both a standalone version and an expansion. Both come with the same 84 cards but the standalone version also comes with everything you need to play with up to 12 players.

Dixit Journey
US name: Dixit Journey
Euro name: Dixit 3
Artist: Xavier Collette
Dixit Journey is a standalone set that comes with 84 cards and everything you need to play with up to 6 players. Older printings of Dixit Journey came with pawn shaped tokens and space in the box to store 84 cards. Newer printings of Dixit Journey come with bunny shaped tokens and space in the box to store 336 cards (Dixit Journey's 84 cards plus 3 other sets).
The European version, called Dixit, 3 is an expansion with just the cards from Dixit Journey.

Dixit Origins
US name: Dixit Origins
Euro name: Dixit 4
Artist: Clement Lefevre
Dixit Origins is an expansion that comes with 84 cards. A standalone version of the game (Dixit, Dixit Odyssey, or Dixit Journey) is required to play.

Dixit Daydreams
US name: Dixit Daydreams
Euro name: Dixit 5 Daydreams
Artist: Franck Dion
Dixit Daydreams is an expansion that comes with 84 cards. A standalone version of the game (Dixit, Dixit Odyssey, or Dixit Journey) is required to play.

Dixit Memories Board Game
US name: Dixit Memories
Euro name: Dixit 6: Memories
Artist: Carine Hinder and Jérôme Pélissier
Dixit Memories is an expansion that comes with 84 cards. A standalone version of the game (Dixit, Dixit Odyssey, or Dixit Journey) is required to play.

Dixit Jinx Card Game
US name: Dixit Jinx
Euro name: Dixit Jinx
Artist: Dominique Ehrhard
Dixit Jinx is a standalone game that is totally separate from the other versions of Dixit. It comes with 71 double-sided square cards with simple abstract images, plus 9 selection cards. It's a quicker game, and while there are some similarities in the mechanics with one player picking a card and other players guessing which one based on a clue, it is still quite different.

About Dixit in General:
Dixit is a game about creativity, subtlety, storytelling, and whimsical art. While there technically is a winner in games of Dixit, it shouldn't be approached as a competitive game. Most people tend to either love it or hate it. Gamers focused on strategy, tactics, winning or literal minded people are less likely to enjoy the game than creative people, artists, or those comfortable with metaphors.

This Version Compared to Other Versions:
Originally I bought plain Dixit (the older pre-2012 printing), and while I loved the game concept and mechanics, I was really disappointed with the design of the board. While that board was cute and whimsical, the little stepping stones that represented movement spaces were way too small to accommodate more than a couple player tokens at a time despite the game supporting six players. The problem was compounded by the bunny shaped player tokens which are poorly balanced and have a tendency to fall on their face when moving them.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2015
I think this game is best played with people you know well and with whom you have a history. Otherwise, your references might be too obscure for your opponents (which may cause you to switch to being too obvious which makes the game boring.) Playing with younger kids isn't much fun, either, because they're either too obvious or their clues only make sense to them. The artwork on the cards is always interesting and often beautiful. I don't know if my 'cover art' is different from what was pictured on the site; I haven't checked because I don't care. What I did care about, however, was the inner artwork, specifically that on the scoring track. Mine varies greatly because I didn't get a copy with a neat, built-into-the-box scoring track as shown in the picture. Instead, I received a copy with an unattractive, folding scoring board, half of which isn't even a scoring track but is actually a list of the slightly confusing or, at least, difficult-to-remember rules for scoring. This made the purchase of a not-so-great game even more disappointing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2015
Dixit is in rarefied air when it comes to games. First, its gobsmackingly beautiful and crazy art style will pique everyone's attention. Next, it will force new players to employ a divergent approach to giving clues. During play, the game will engender hilarity, bewilderment, deep analysis of other players' potential viewpoints, double guessing, and ultimately an incredible amount of satisfaction . At the end of the game, it will make even non-gamers clamor for another game. Then, after the third or fourth game, those non-gamers will get home and promptly log-in to Amazon to purchase their own copy. Dixit is a simply transcendent gaming experience that belongs in any game collection.

Pros:
+ Gobsmackingly beautiful and crazy art style
+ Extremely simple to learn and play
+ Encourages creative and non-traditional style of thinking
+ Superb interaction and engagement between players
+ Rewards knowledge of the other players
+ Brings emotions to the table ranging from hilarity to consternation
+ Always an enjoyable experience regardless of score
+ Easy for players to jump in and out during a party setting
+ Accessible for all ages

Cons:
- The base game should really include more cards
- Lends itself to inside jokes which can alienate some folks
- Competing to win breaks the communal experience because clues start being tailored for just one person
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here