Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Marvel Knights: Astonishing X Men, Dangerous
Amazon Vehicles GoldBox Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Marvel Knights' second X-Men motion comic is a great addition to any x-fan's collection. Joss Whedon's run at writing Astonishing X-Men was one of the greatest in Marvel history. The motion comic adaptation takes the comic book story that made Marvel history and creates an entertaining cartoon version that will appeal to readers of of the comic as well as to a new audience.

Motion comics look as though someone was able to animate the spaces between the panels of a comic book. It makes for an interesting hybrid genre that is not quite an animated cartoon but a lot more than static pictures on a page. The voice actors for Dangerous are spot-on. Wolverine is gruff without being over the top.

There are a few "cons" to the motion comics. The episodes are short (six episodes, each under 15 minutes-ish). The DVD case is very minimalist: a slim case with a cardboard front. I would have liked an insert or episode list. And I really would have appreciated a case that snapped close. However, these packaging issues aside Dangerous in particular and motion comics in general are a lot of fun to watch.

Dangerous features some great action and spotlights a lot of the X-Men's younger members including Kitty Pryde and Armor. I can recommend this DVD to anyone looking for some animated X-citement.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
This is an excellent X Men story. The art is excellent, the story is outstanding, the music is great, but the presentation is awful. This story is broken down into a series of too short segments. To watch each segment, you have to sit through this ridiculously long title sequence that is okay the first time you see it, but then you want to make it go away and you can't. So you have to sit through nearly a third of the time spent on each segment watching this stupid sequence that you have memorized by the second viewing. Poor planning. They need to have a viewing option that allows you to watch the whole thing uninterrupted by the annoyingly redundant credit sequence. Someone needs to get this whole series turned around because all the other Marvel Knights animated features have the same problem. Incidentally,, I have no problem whatsoever with the animation methods uses here. They essentially take some detail of the printed page and make it move with relatively simple animation techniques. I assume this is way less expensive than animating the whole story from scratch. I not only don't mind that but I enjoy it as it gives a very interesting, arty feel to the presentation that is terrific. I just can't get past the repetitive titles micro segment problem. Mine is going to the yard sale!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
An excellent series to watch if your a marvel X-men fan. This series is meant for older fans and not for children who probably wouldn't really go for this style of animation and some of the violence in it may spook younger children, unlike the 90's X-men cartoons people die in this and don't look to pretty after it.
Throughly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2014
This DVD is part of an overall story arc. The complete series is, in order:

1. Astonishing X-Men: Gifted
2. Astonishing X-Men: Dangerous
3. Astonishing X-Men: Torn
4. Astonishing X-Men: Unstoppable

While you can watch the first (Gifted) by itself, as you get through the series, you will need to see the other stories to better understand the overall story.

My only complaint is that there are no subtitles on any of the discs. They would have been especially handy in the last chapter of Gifted where the background sound effects of the action scenes were so high in the mix that you could not make out what the characters were saying.

Also, F.Y.I. the only disc of the series with extra features is Gifted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2012
At first hearing the words "motion comic" I was more than a little bit skeptical about purchasing one. This was before they released the first Astonishing Xmen Marvel Knights DVD. Wanting to see a true representation of the Xmen pushed me to try it. So glad i did.

The first movie was excellent and Astonishing Xmen Dangerous follows down the same path. In many ways i find these Marvel Knights features superior to some of the animated series because the story line is stronger and they take on a more serious tone. I cant imagine that if you are searching in this area of Amazon, that you will not enjoy these. If you havent yet, get the other Astonishing Xmen First, then get this one just for purposes of order.

This sounds wierd but I also highly reccomend the Marvel Knights Feature Spider Woman (just watch it, you will see after). Iron Man, & Black Panther are good too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
I have grown up reading X-Men from their very first battle with Magneto all the way through to issue 281
it was great seeing my Heroes in Action..... Two thumbs up!!! Its a great TV Series to watch!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2012
The thing about motion comics are, you have to know what you're getting into and set your expectations accordingly.

For people who enjoy motion comics, Gifted was and still is in a class by itself and is the template that most other professional motion comic houses attempt to emulate.

The problem with producing a motion comic that is as strong as Gifted, is that if you follow it up with anything less than what was previously produced, you may have to deal with a bit of backlash.

As a motion comic, for me, Gifted is worth every bit of 5 stars. Just as the Astonishing Xmen editions that have followed it are worth, as motion comics, every bit of 3.5 stars.

The animation suffers in these latter editions. I can't imagine it's because of budgetary constraints, but I will concede that time and talent may be of some issue here. On the time front, I think they decided to pump these guys out quickly after Whedon grew to stratospheric notoriety post-Avengers. The absence of any special features whatsoever as well as the far less dynamic animation makes he think, "Similar production budget, less time."

The other factor that hasn't been specifically expressed (to my knowledge) is the -potential- absence of John Cassaday. E.g. talent. I remember reading several articles during the time they were producing Gifted and Cassaday lamenting time and again how overwhelming the demands were on him when helping to create that motion comic. My gut tells me that he had very little to do with the production of these later editions.

In all, it's tough to come down on a product simply because it did not live up to its predecessor, but in the actual special features interviews (of which these DVDs have none -- no special features whatsoever)Marvel's then Editor in Chief Joe Quesada said that his goal was to look back on Gifted in a few years and see it as antiquated, because they would have come so far since its production.

Well, unfortunately, that didn't happen. Maybe it's because Quesada has a different job now, maybe it's for the reasons mentioned above or for some other reason entirely. Regardless, while it's worth watching (though maybe hope for something more from the collected Bluray edition?), it doesn't stand on the shoulders or do anything whatsoever to improve, visually, on its predecessor. And, honestly, the bulk of the importance about a motion comic is the visuals, otherwise I'd just read words on a page.

Five stars for Whedon. 2.5 for the animation. I think it's really not worth above a 3.5, but because it's X-men and it's Whedon, it gets a very, very weak 4.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2012
First off, I'm still so so on the Marvel Knights Series with its live-motion comic format. I enjoyed IRON MAN:Extemis but was pretty lukewarm to the previous X-MEN feature, GIFTED. This is an step-up from the first outing. What is surprising to me is that after so many years of X-MEN comics, TV shows, and movies, Joss Whedon has really come up with an original story and a new villain! And when we're done, we see Professor X in a different light, and a dark fore-shadowing of future events to unfold.
Sorry for not being more detailed but I don't want to give away too much.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Joss Whedon is well-known for creating TV series such as "Buffy the Vampire Slayer", "Angel", "Firefly" and "Dollhouse" and the screenwriter, executive producer is also known for his writing work on comic book series. A big comic book fan, Whedon was a cowriter for "X-Men", "Thor", "Captain America: The First Avenger" and wrote and directed the upcoming film "The Avengers".

In 2006, Whedon caught the attention of fans with his series "Astonishing X-Men" which he stayed onboard for 24 issues. It has become a major best-seller for Mavel comics and was nominated for several Eisner Awards and winning "Best Continuing Series" in 2006.

The first six issues of "Astonishing X-Men" was then released on DVD in Sept. 2010 courtesy of Shout! Factory as part of Marvel Knights Animation. These animated stories (also known as motion comic books) are more like comic books with slight movements but with voice acting and special effects.

And now the second Whedon arc "Dangerous" (featuring issues 7-12) will be released on DVD in April 2012 as "Astonishing X-Men: Dangerous" by Shout! Factory.

The DVD consists of six episodes which are around 12 minutes each.

"Astonishing X-Men: Dangerous" features X-Men members Cyclops, Emma Frost, Wolverine, Beast, Colossus and Kitty Pryde. As the group are trying to protect civilians from a huge monster with help from the Fantastic Four, a mutant teenager named Wing attending the School for Gifted Mutants is depressed because he was "cured" of his special abilities. Wing is standing on a cliff, wondering if it would return his power.

Fellow student Hisako Ichiki (Armor) talks to her friend Wing to not jump off the cliff because he could end up dead. Now that he is cured, he has no reason to stay at the school and can go back home. But then Hisako starts to dare him to jump and sure enough, Wing jumps to his death.

As the X-Men return back home, Hisako starts to panic as Wing has gone missing and other students are also other young mutant psychics can no longer feel him around. Suddenly, trouble arises and Kitty Pryde has all the students go into the danger room to protect themselves.

Meanwhile, not far away is a badly damaged Sentinel that has been kept by a farmer and reawakened. Still deadly, the Sentinel begins to crawl and is now wanting to destroy the X-Men. But who is controlling it?

As the children are huddled inside the danger room, Kitty is shocked to see all the students scared of their discovery. Wing is laying in the ground dead but automatically, Wing is reanimated and brought back to life. The Danger Room has now achieved intelligence and is now threatening to kill all the children inside the Danger Room.

The X-Men must now try to find a way to break into the Danger Room and destroy it before it kills anyone. But the sentient Danger Room has a plant of its own and that is to kill all X-Men.

VIDEO & AUDIO:

"Astonishing X-Men: Dangerous" is not an animated cartoon. It's a motion comic book, so the characters are provided in their comic book version but you will see hair movement, lights blinking or leaves flying around the pages and also some slight animated movements of the character themselves. While a character talks, you will see their mouths move.

Presented in 1:78:1, the motion comics of today differs greatly from the motion comics of the '90s. There is more use of CG animation for special effects and blurring as opposed to the comic book pages with standard lighting effects.

The best part of these motion comics today is the voice acting. The voice acting is fantastic!

SPECIAL FEATURES:

There are no special features.

JUDGMENT CALL:

As a long time collector of the X-Men comic books and having read so many of the comics even to this day, I have to admit that Joss Whedon has managed to make X-Men a serious and entertaining comic book series. There was a lull of storyline content unfortunately created by Marvel due to its plethora of X-related comic books and every character having their own series or mini-series and truthfully, it was one of the biggest reasons I quit reading the series. Too many titles, increase in price for comic books and the quality of the series was dwindling.

Whedon's storyline manage to continue its action-packed battles but he emphasized story, especially character development and his presence with "Astonishing X-Men" was felt and while he was involved, it was an amazing run!

And now his contribution to "Astonishing X-Men" is being carried out via motion comic books on DVD.

Having been one of the earlier adopters of motion comic books on CD, suffice to say, they have come along way especially with these Marvel Knights DVD releases. Back then it was just a page with voice acting (which was not all that great) and lighting effects. It worked during the mid-90's but in 2012, you expect a bit more and sure enough, you do get animated movements, special effects, mouth movement. And of course, much better voice acting. And as mentioned, they were CD's and can only be played on computers.

The DVD itself comes with six mini-episodes that were available on Hulu, iTunes and the PlayStation Store and other video services. But for those who are X-Men fans and want them on physical media, then these motion comic DVD's are worth it. If there was one thing that I wish it contained, that there were some sort of special features included.

As for the storyline, the storyline was fantastic as it took a storyline of what would happen if the danger room could be sentient and learn over time. And the answer is "chaos" as the X-Men are suddenly faced with a rival that was designed to know and counter their fighting style. And to make things worse, the Danger Room has become sentient to the point that it wants nothing but to kill the X-Men.

For fans of the older Uncanny X-Men series, the storyline of the X-Men is much different and the storyline itself didn't mesh with Marvel's current run of X-related storylines or Marvel crossovers. If you were familiar with the characters, that was all that was needed to understand the series. The X-Men are still funded and led by Professor X, the team is led by Cyclops and there is no Ice Man, nor is there a Jean Grey, who has since been replaced by Emma Frost (which is a big part of the storyline from 2000) who is romantically linked to Scott Summers (Cyclops). But similar to the original series, Beast and Wolverine are still part of the team and the romantic angst between Kitty Pryde and Piotr Rasputin (Colossus) is still ongoing.

But there is also a deeper and darker element to this series and showcases a different Scott Summers, especially during its ending minutes as we learn more about the creation of the Danger Room. But the storyline is entertaining and loved how Whedon concentrates a lot on the characters. Prior to Whedon and with past X-Men related issues, too much was focused on convoluted storylines, including regurgitated non-interesting banal storylines that went nowhere and eventually some other writer would have to clean up the mess. Whedon stayed with keeping things simple, but yet focusing on character development, team dynamic and intriguing adversaries.

Overall, if you are an old X-Men fan who quite awhile back or a fan of "Astonishing X-Men", "Astonishing X-Men: Dangerous" is an entertaining motion comic book on DVD worth checking out!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2012
This whole series of Joss Whedon motion comics have been pretty solid. You forget about the motion comic part of it after awhile since Dangerous continues where Gifted left off and the story holds your interest. The tone of the film is darker and more mature than other typical "cartoony" superhero films. The one drawback to these films is the fact that each episode is just over 10 minutes each plus you get the opening credits (which have been reused from Gifted) and the closing credits even if you select the "play all" option. Overall, I highly recommend this to X Men fans as you get what feels like a living breathing comic book. Enjoy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse