Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
55
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 55 reviews
on May 25, 2015
These are some of the best fantasy stories I have read in a long time. Each one is different. Each one is compelling. By turns scary, sad, thrilling and haunting, there isn't a dud in bunch. There's lots of wild magic in this collection, but it's always grounded by the something familiar. Reading, I was always absorbed and always amazed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2017
Richly detailed stories... reminiscent of Ron Rash. Will be looking for more works from this author. I cannot place this squarely within science fiction, rather more broadly in general fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2016
If you are a fan of the short stories of Kelly Link or Elizabeth Hand, this collection should very much appeal to you. Extremely well done "trippy" fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2016
Highly original, wonderfully written stories: engaging and engrossing; perfectly painted scenery/imagery. Highly recommended! Probably the best collection of short stories I have read in a very long time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2013
Many of these stories are about animals. Monkeys, foxes, dogs, cats and yes, bees. Some of them are science fiction, some of them are fantasy, some of them are magic realism. All of them are about the far reaches of human emotion that are never far from us. Searching, grieving, drowning, drifting--all that is here and more. A fabulous introduction to an amazing author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
Any one of these stories would be worth the price of admission alone. Johnson is the very definition of a storyteller-- she TELLS you, and it is, it's truth. Mostly harsh truths, but with such a grip that you forget to protect yourself, and simply go on listening. A necessary book, about need and necessity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2015
I recently discovered Kij Johnson's many delightful and wonderfully crafted tales. I urge serious readers to delve into these rich and thought provoking stories...You will be glad you did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2015
Some people don't like science fiction because they say it's not real. But it is real... If. This book poses some great ifs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2015
The best collection of science fiction short stories to come along in years. Kij Johnson has a unique voice-I look forward to reading more from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
Perhaps these stories suffer somewhat from being grouped all together: discovering just one of them in a magazine would probably have delighted me. I admired the first one and maybe it got my hopes up too high; as I progressed through the whole collection I began leaving stories unfinished and even skipping some later entries entirely. It's not that they all strike the same note exactly–I'd even say there's a conscious attempt here to experiment and to vary the key elements. The problem is that the constant theme of this collection is alienation, and there's only so far one can go with alienation without, you know, generating some intimacy, some compassion for the characters in their various odd plights. So in the end I found the collection lacking in warmth and depth, even though the writing shows mastery and the author does intrigue me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$15.13

Need customer service? Click here