Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis hots Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$29.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 82 reviews
on October 3, 2014
The editing and writing style is horrid. It's like they didn't even run the thing through a spell checker, much less tightened up the grammar and punctuation. The structure and narrative style are also wildly inconsistent. The author waxes and wanes between being all too chummy with his reader and being obviously disinterested. And then there's the ordering. This book jumps back and forth in time more often than Dr. Who. For example, just when you think you're getting ready to finally move into the 80's, you get this whole chapter about Atari side projects that should have been an appendix at best. Occasionally you'll get a mini-bio on somebody that played a major role in some project in the early days but was scarcely mentioned in the actual section about that project.

All that said, it's the facts that carry this book, not the writing style. It is VERY thorough and fascinating in that regard alone. I would have appreciated more interviews with the major players, but the research shown here is quite admirable. Worth the read if you're a technology history fan.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
Clearly, the authors put a lot of time and effort into writing the book. There's an incredible amount of detail describing Atari's history and the people involved. However, I was hoping to get more technical information. I wanted to learn more about the development of the Atari VCS and 8-bit computer hardware. I think Jay Miner was only mentioned twice in the whole book. The sections which went into some technical detail were prefixed with silly "warning: technical information ahead" warnings. I think most readers of the book are technically minded and would have appreciated more depth in that area.

Finally, like most other reviewers, I have to say the number of typos and grammatical errors is stunning. Even "Atari" is misspelled at one point! Running a spell checker and having an experienced editor would have improved the quality immensely. I've never read a book with so many errors. I'm still shaking my head over that.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2017
I liked it. I have to agree with other comments about the uncorrected grammar and spelling errors. And I too was a bit confused with the sudden changes of timelines. But having been an employee in coin-op from 1976 onward, I found the information thorough and quite compelling. I had my nose to the grindstone and had no idea what was going on on elsewhere in the company.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2017
I was stunned when this book arrived. This is the encyclopedia of atari, it contains every thing one could possible want to know about the company.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2017
The book is thoroughly researched and telling the story of Atari as it happened while also dispelling many myths. Really wonderfully researched and thorough. So why only 4 star? The editing (at least in the Kindle version) is atrocious. Misspellings and bad grammar pop up relatively frequently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
Really great book that has a detailed history and interesting perspectives that add a lot of interest. The only real complaint is there's numerous typos, and the book seems completely devoid of an editor at points. An online preview of the book also showed color images throughout, however the printed version is entirely in black and white.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2017
If you love Atari, you gotta get this book! Fantastic you won't be disappointed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
While overall interesting, the book occasionally delves into a bit much irrelevant detail. A ton of misspellings, hard-coded hyphens in the eBook version, and repetitions of previous material also detracted from the story. Intriguingly, the two chapters noted by the authors as containing too much detail, the ones about personal computers, contain too little information. It is clear that the authors are completely indifferent to Atari's foray into personal computing. Quite a shame, Atari had great designs, graphics, sound, even operating system features that were ahead of their time, but neither Atari management nor these authors cared.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
I've expected a book like this for many years; however, I feel saddened that the results are not quite up to the standards I hoped for, Atari being the greatest and closest computer company to my heart. While an incredible amount of stories are present here, recounted with extraordinary level of details, there is a notorious lack of a strong narrative and confusing sequences of events (jumps in time, events happening in parallel but not clearly presented as such, etc) which leave you losing interest after many endless paragraphs of not-so-interesting trivia. As a reader, I felt the book would have benefited from the hand of a more experienced writer (I think Levy's "Hackers" is the golden standard for a book like this). I applaud the effort by the authors, but I think this should not be the definitive book on the company all of us (30-ish programmers) grew up with and loved.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
Loved this book. Easily 4.5 stars, and would be worth 5 stars if only the authors had run it through a spell-check.

So many times, I'll be reading and I come to a misspelling that totally throws off the flow of a paragraph. "Whre" instead of "Where."

This book is good enough for a second edition and would be improved if only for spell-check.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse