Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Ateco 7.75 by 1.25-Inch Medium Sized Blade Offset Ultra Spatula
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Size: 8"|Change
Price:$7.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon December 1, 2008
If you're a baker who frequently makes brownies, bar cookies, and cakes, you need to have an offset stainless-steel icing spatula in your collection. The blade is the ideal combination of strength and flexibility, and using an offset spatula means that you don't end up dragging your knuckles through your frosting as you work around a cake. It's useful for leveling brownie and cake batters to ensure even baking and is a must-have for spreading frosting, particularly on quick-setting sheet cakes like Texas cocoa cake. It's also my tool of choice for spreading fillings and frosting layer cakes. When you're finished, you can either hand-wash or pop it in the dishwasher.
22 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2011
This a nice offset spatula, but small. The description says the "blade" is 9.75 inches, however, this is actually the full length of the knife, thus making it much smaller than I expected, making this somewhat expensive for such a small size. I guess I need to order the largest available, or go with the Oxo.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
This is a HUGE spatula. Keep in mind that the 14" blade length does not include the handle. The actual length from the tip of the blade to the end of the handle is 19". We are cheesemakers and use this to cut curds in our bigger cheese vats- the blade itself is nice and thin, so it doesn't crush the curds while cutting, but is still sturdy enough that it doesn't flop around while you're trying to use it. The handle has a comfortable grip and the blade seems to be firmly attached to it. We've ran it through the dishwasher multiple times with no discoloration, etc. My only complaint was finding a place to store this sucker- it's too long to fit straight into most drawers, and too tall to fit into most utensil crocks!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2009
bought this a while ago because I was tired of icing cakes with a short knife and boy is it way easier. Not only that but it also comes in handy when you need something rigid to run under something to loosen it from it's pan. Definitely suggest this product.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2014
My arthritic hands usually necessitate getting others to help open and unstick things. This label, at the end of the spatula defied maps elf, and two friends. Soaking in hot water, oil bath ( like you use with the labels stuck to 'non stick' pans), and the goo remover one uses to get residue from windshields didn't work. Finally, a brillo pad and a soak in boiling water did the trick. The spatula itself is fine, but the effort needed to make it usable means I would never purchase another from the company. Of course if you have strong fingers, and weeks of patience, try it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
This spatula is a handy size for my baking needs. It is versatile; I use it for measuring and gentle mixing of my breads ingredients. Some stylish spatulas with wood handles are lovely, but I don't like to put them in the dishwasher. This spatula wipes clean easily or can go in the washer.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon May 23, 2014
Why would anyone want such a long (14 inch) spatula? I do not know the answer for others who purchase it but for me the only reason for buying something that would barely fit the drawer is to use as curd cutter. I am a home cheese maker and I make cheese in 20 quart pots. One step of the protocol is to cut the coagulated milk ( after adding the enzyme and culture) in checkboard style. This item is perfect for the job. Reaches the bottom of the pot easily and thin and sharp enough (not as a knife of course) not to deform the edges of the curd slices...

It is both durable and flexible, easy to hold and maneuver. Dishwasher safe with no darkening in the metal parts. I find it a little pricey but this size is not commonly found in local stores and it is decent quality so I am happy with the purchase.

UPDATE: One reviewer commented about the measurements given on the website and said they were misleading. I measured it myself and website description which says the blade is 2X14 inch is correct. The handle is 1.2X5 inches making the total length 19 inches.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
Really, what more can you say? Compared to the wooden spatula that came with my crepe maker, this is light years ahead - for a novice to flip a crepe, the spatula needs to be longer than the size of the pan, not half the size. Only problem is that this, being metal, has scratched my non-stick electric crepe maker. Not too badly though, and avoids the messes I was getting with a shorter, wooden spatula. If it was wood, it would be five stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2014
GREAT FOR FROSTING - CUPCAKES - AND 8 OT 9 INCH LAYER CAKE - DURABLE - DISHWASHER SAFE- LOU CARUSO PS SHOULD YOU WANT AT STATULA TO FROST A LARGE SHEETCAKE GO WITH A 10 -11- OR 12 INCH SPATULA - AMAZON HAS ALL OF YOUR QUALITY BAKEWARE THAT IS SOLD TO WHOLESALERA -
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2011
If you are planning to work with crepes or large items in need of a long spatula, this is the one. However, be careful as it is metal and you need to watch your non-stick surfaces.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here