Buying Options

Digital List Price: $14.99
Kindle Price: $11.49

Save $14.51 (56%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
An Atlas of Extinct Countries by [Defoe Gideon]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


An Atlas of Extinct Countries Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 310 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$11.49
Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Mac and Windows desktops
    Desktop

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login now

Editorial Reviews

Review

★ “This book is a sparkling gem.”—Booklist (Starred Review)

“Defoe brings a light touch to this unique collection... The author’s superior talent for vivid similes and punchy writing do justice to the tales of megalomaniacs and fools. This is perfect for fans of Atlas Obscura.”—Publishers Weekly

“Both educational and entertaining, An Atlas of Extinct Countries is an irreverent look at the history of defunct nations and the larger-than-life personalities behind them.”—ForeWord Reviews

“As fun and light-hearted as Defoe’s writing seems on the surface, there’s always a comment being made. Great fun.”—The Independent

“Defoe keeps things moving along and has a winning proclivity toward footnotes—where he does some of his best writing—and nonsensical asides.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Equal parts satire and farce as if written by Monty Python, Defoe skewers everyone and everything in a laugh-out-loud performance.”—Publisher’s Weekly

“Very funny, very silly and highly original.”—Esquire

“One of the biggest joys in my life this year, stuffed with witty one-liners and good-humored observations on the human condition.”—Sacramento News & Review

“Throughout the book, Defoe manages to mix nonsensical jokes with subtle social commentary… Equal parts witty and absurd, it will put a smile on the face of even the stiffest reader.”—Memphis Flyer

“Not just a recitation of nations that no longer exist, An Atlas of Extinct Countries is a very pointed and very funny critique of nation-states, borders, and the flawed men who make them....a timely cautionary history.”—Lesley Rains, City of Asylum Bookstore (Pittsburgh, PA)

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

Gideon Defoe is the author of The Pirates! book series and wrote the screenplay for the Oscar nominated Aardman film The Pirates in an Adventure with Scientists. He has written about how animals have sex and penned a computer game tie-in novel for Gollancz. He does film development work with Locksmith Animation and Studio Canal, and is developing a sitcom with BBC studios.

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08JHHL7YZ
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Europa Compass (June 8, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ June 8, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 18284 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 226 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 310 ratings

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
310 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on November 3, 2020
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 25, 2020
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 13, 2020
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the read
By Amazon Customer on October 13, 2020
I'm not much for listening to CNN when they review a book, but this is by far one of the best reads I have had. Call it the definition of a conversationalist piece--it will not disappoint with not only the facts but the witty sarcasm and humor that many of these extinct countries deserve.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 23, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 26, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 30, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on November 12, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 31, 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

EllieWC
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't follow his dreams of a kingdom!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 26, 2020
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
craftylady
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book to dip into forever
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 7, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Nicky Bacon
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 26, 2021
Verified Purchase
Sharon Threlfall
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction of a little short on details
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 11, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Nicholas Osborn
5.0 out of 5 stars Good
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 20, 2021
Verified Purchase