Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 30 reviews
on June 29, 2010
Generally, this is an excellent book if you do not have access to live models. Specifically, it is an excellent book to study foreshortening of the human figure. Some of the poses are hard to hold for a real model and this book fills that gap, allowing one to spend as much time as one wants drawing a particular pose. I would highly recommend this book for artists who have always had trouble with foreshortening. It allows the artist to see the model not so much as a human form, but a 'shape', (sometimes quite abstract) to be studied and drawn, thus 'freeing ' him from trying to make his drawing look 'real' and as a result ending up with some surprising results! The book is a very good drawing tool. The downside is, of course, that drawing from a real live model in one of those difficult poses most often captures the energy and vitality of the pose that drawing from a photograph does not. But this book is a great starting point.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2008
I happen to like the fact these are in black and white, since the simplicity of it makes you familiar with the form. I already have The Nude Figure for my other references for life drawing. As another person said, this is not the best book to get reference for illustrative foreshortening. This book is more to train your eye to capture various parts of the form in foreshortening.

I thought it was interesting how the author noted that it was difficult these days to find models because of people's need to do body alternations like piercings and tattoos.

While I find the models average, I would have liked to seen a few different models like overweight or even more athletic to get variations of the form in perspective. I wouldn't even mind old people, but I'm not sure if the elderly could perform in some of those poses.

Most of the poses are in seated or lying down positions, I remember the author saying also that a lot of poses even in perspective started looking the same.

I got some use out of the book, for the photography was clear enough for me. I also like using it as an exercise to recognize the form, like certain muscle and bone groups would look like in certain perspectives. I think too many people want to copy and not understand the true value of learning and utilizing reference.

It's not an AMAZING book, but it's still useful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2015
Move over, Muybridge. Foreshortening is a hugely difficult human or animal perspective viewpoint to believably portray. Now we can simply look up the view we need to incorporate into a painting. Live models are the best, but not only do most of us not have access. but it is a lot to ask of a model to "hold that pose" while we figure out the foreshortening piece!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
Foreshortening is one of the trickier aspects of drawing anatomy. This book helps to take some of the frustration out of the process by providing visual references for the artist to work with. Definitely a must-have for your anatomical studies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2014
My husband is taking a figure drawing class and wanted more instruction on foreshortening. There are many, many good photos of models in various positions involving foreshortening but no verbal instruction. If all you want are pictures to draw from, this is it, but if you need instruction, not so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
Fabulous for an artist!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
This book contains a comprehensive collection of body positions covering slight foreshortening to sever foreshortening both front and back! Very helpful to the artist!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2013
The photos are good to see how muscles and bones behave, but they are not ideal for pose reference. There's the same amount of photos of men and woman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
great book for artists
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2010
I am a fine artist (NOT an illustrator), and I purchased this book in hopes of adding some reliable reference material to my growing stockpile. I sincerely feel that I wasted my money on this book.

For one thing, as stated by another reviewer, the photos are of fairly low quality. I prefer black-and-white reference because it allows me to see value more clearly and does not prejudice me when I am selecting the color for my subjects, but I would expect a "reference" book to contain sharp, clear images. This book does not; the images are grainy, the focus is too soft to be useful for a broad range of techniques and styles, and the lighting is uneven across all of the images.

Second, as also stated by another reviewer, every single pose in the book is of a reclining model. Especially in the case of women, this presents one major problem-- the effects of gravity on soft/fatty tissue. Women in particular look completely different when reclining, than standing, and this book offers not a single image that offers foreshortened views from above or below of a standing, kneeling, or sitting figure.

On the other hand, if you are an art student who is leery of using soft porn images from the internet to get your life-drawing practice, this book may be worth the investment. If you are serious about experimenting with different perspectives of the human body in fine art (or if you are an illustrator), spend the money on decent anti-virus software, and peruse the aforementioned soft-porn sites. You'll find a lot more usable reference, much better-photographed.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse