Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

  • Atlas
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
82
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$11.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 65 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 82 reviews
on April 7, 2014
Bands usually have a creative arc, starting tentatively and building confidence until reaching a creative climax. Real Estate is following that path. Showing great promise on Days with moments of shear genius like "Green Aisles", they've finally put it all together on their third record, Atlas. A casual listen might lead you to think this to be background music, but the songs are deceptive in their simplicity. Highlights include the opening song "Had to Hear", the incredibly catchy "Crime" and the closing "Navigator", but it's hard to find a song you won't want to put on repeat for an hour. Beautiful and captivating.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2015
Where do I begin with this album...It is one of the most shockingly great albums I've stumbled upon. The sound of this album compared to Real Estate's previous efforts shows a heightening level of musicianship. It's clear in this album that the band is coming together more and more with each album and this album hits the nail on the head with what makes a great album. It's consistent, natural, smooth, precise, nostalgic, emotive and so sincere. There are so many beautiful subtleties within 'Atlas' that allow for repeated listens. I love this album so much. Play this album any time you wish to feel calm and enjoy your surroundings. It's such a gem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
This is a great, great album. The vinyl pressing is very nice. It is flat, silent and mastered properly. The music takes me back to Lloyd Cole, early REM, Felt, and the Stone Roses. Needless to say you will really enjoy this album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2017
You can't go wrong with Real Estate, the album is a delight to listen to and the quality of the pressing I received is outstanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2017
Thanks for a speedy delivery - the item was just as described and put to good use!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2014
Although Real Estate's music exists squarely in the here and now, its jangly rhythm guitars and mellowish, conversational vocals harken back to the golden age of naval gazing UK pop--the sort of stuff that labels like Postcard and bands like The Field Mice did so well. What sets "Atlas" apart are the well-crafted melodies and an endless supply of really great if understated lead guitar lines that shimmer and shine and bubble like a stream gently but quickly flowing over rocks on a sunny spring day. The result is a nearly-perfect late-spring, early summer record.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2014
Another solid performance by the New Jersey rockers. Perhaps a step slower, sadder, and wiser than the laid back Days it is still one the comes on slow and you can wallow in for weeks like a comfortable couch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
Another excellent album from Real Estate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
I listened the the riff on "Crime" and immediately texted my girlfriend like, "LISTEN TO THIS TONE! IT'S SO PRETTY." She agrees. So if you like pretty guitars then you have to buy this. The bummer, though, is that I buy physical copies of albums, because I like the pictures and lyrics and actually HOLDING a disc in my hands. Ya know? I just like that. But the packaging from Real Estate was pretty weak. No booklet with lyrics or anything. So pretty guitars and pretty weak packaging. The music is awesome though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2014
If you close your eyes and listen to this cd it makes you think of throwing the windows open on the first nice day of spring. The warm sun, still a cool crisp bite to the air, a quiet breeze and birds singing...ok a little to dramatic? It is a wonderfully melodic and uplifting selection of music. If you are looking to "rock out" look elsewhere, if you want something easy to listen to while relaxing, working, or running this may be the one you're looking for. Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.19
$13.05

Need customer service? Click here