Salon Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on February 10, 2013
Andrew Carnegie easily could have taken the slot as richest man ever in history. He could have also created a legacy like many of the other millionaires of his time to solidify his family name for eternity, but instead he chose to not give into 'one of man's greatest evils' (The worship of money), and use the influence he had to politically and socially elevate the world. There isn't a more inspiring figure to me than a man who where most people would only think for themselves, he thought of everyone but himself. There are many pages in this book, where Mr. Carnegie's had to fill in the details, because the guy was to modest to talk about himself in a bragging way. He teaches many great lessons about how public opinion is moot when you know you have a good cause. He preaches reading as practically the greatest good on earth, and spoke highly of his parents. Some of his chapters have inspired me (notably the one where he treats everyone, even people how to politically hurt him, by taking them out enjoying their company and then firmly telling them his stance). I read the book because I wanted to become a big shot entrepenuer, but by the last pages, Andrew Carnegie gave me something a lot greater, knowledge and and the mindset to always treat people like they deserve more dignity than the world gives them. This is not because I'm co-dependant or weak, but because we live in a very self-centered and greedy world, and Andrew Carnegie led by example on how to change that paradigm. He led the finest example I've ever read so far, and I encourage this book to everyone who has interests in autobiographical pieces.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2017
The content is excellent, don't get me wrong. The reason for the low rating is because of the dreadful kindle formatting. A total mess. What happened here?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2017
Perfect! Thanks!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2011
A very good book to read, not only for the stories which I like to learn about people in their autobioraphies, particularly well accomplished businessmen and others of accomplishment. Some of the good parts speak about the steps in gaining, working at and succeding at very high expectations in a profession, pg 118, and some other business advice pg 155, and there are other forms of advice such as about marraige and other business advice having to do with partnerships, staying away from speculation, keeping reserves of money and never pledging for something you could not pay for right now if things came to the worst. Also only doing the best work, and not being a shoddy type. and there is more. good book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
You always think people are born into families that make them rich.
But when you read Andrew "Andy" Carnegie's story you know that it was his drive and smarts, plus some really good luck and timing that made him wealthy.
But really seeing the opportunities when they arise and taking them, he really did have a keen eye for what the next big thing would be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2016
A fascinating autobiography of one of the richest people in the united states.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2017
great book by a great man worth the read definitely. looking forward to picking up other books by Andrew Carnegie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2015
Great book. Biography is awesome, which goes without saying. The gospel of wealth is particularly interesting because it still stands true. Its very interesting to read the father pieces of what has became todays self help, and 4 hour work week style books. Awesome read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
Enjoyable reading even though the setting took place at the beginning of the 20th century many of the principles still hold true today. Also these events took place in an area close to where I grew up so it was interesting for me to see this area from an adult's perspective.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2017
very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse