Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning animespring animespring animespring  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 57 reviews
on January 23, 2014
Three survivors of Drancy, one of the lesser known camps outside of Paris... a way station from where people were sent mostly to death at Auschwitz and other camps... come together for the first time in forty years. Max Von Sydow, Susan Sarandon, Christopher Plummer, Gabriel Byrne... these actors bring sensitivity, nuance, subtlety and mature technical skills to their performances. Their silences are delicate; they honor a time, place, a part of all too recent history by being bravely honest. This is a quiet story of the long-term effects of trauma and sacrifice, as well as a startling celebration of life reminding us that we need always to continue the task of remembering and witnessing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
I really enjoyed the movie. I am a diehard fan of Roy Dupuis he was nice to see him in something "quiet". To me he was a great supporting actor in this movie. I have also learned that he may be a great cook, because he was always in the kitchen in this movie. As I say in most of my reviews of Roy, those eyes and that voice will draw you in everytime. He has got what it takes to keep you going. The always talented Susan Sarandon, Christopher Plummer, Max Von Sydow and Gabriel Bryne made the movie very enjoyable. I do like Roy in more action flicks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
This is an extraordinary movie -- completely mesmerizing. The cast is incomparable and they are allowed to display an emotional range that none of them have been able to demonstrate before. The dialogue is captivating and, coupled with the Quebec scenery, "Autumn Hearts" is both touching and powerful. I have watched this movie many times and will watch it many more times. Forget the dippy title and the fact that there were problems securing a wider distribution for the film -- "Autumn Hearts" is a one-of-a-kind wonder.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2012
When you get legends like these people in the one movie you must end up with something, and you do. The emotions are described on their faces and you experience it with them. I feel like I know these people personally after seeing them time and again through their careers, they never disappoint. A love story that brings home to us the raw fact that the past is never forgotten, no matter how much we wish it was. You can experience Sarandon's twin lives, and know the sadness and the understanding of it in Plummer's eyes. A "nice" movie mixed with raw emotion. Right up my street.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2012
I loved this movie. It definitely tugged at my heart strings. Well acted and well written. It shows what price was paid by some to save others and gave you a better understanding of the trials, turmoils and heart break these people who lived through the horror and what their families now have to live through and with.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2016
The realities of war-time inhumanities are so difficult for our minds to absorb, but the reality is to remember these atrocities so they never occur ever. This film captures what humans have and can endure and to never give up hope.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
A slow movie with beautiful and serene scenery and music, with strong acting from almost all the actors. The plot is nicely presented with good eventual emotional catharsis. It leaves you with the question of, which is better about the bad experiences of your past, remember them or forget them? The answer is obviously very personal. Altogether is good movie for passing time on a Sunday afternoon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
The subject matter is rather deep; but, draws the viewer in right away. It is one that you do not want to end. Beautiful scenery, peoples' survival and the depth of relationships. I would highly recommend. The acting was masterful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
Superb acting from the beautiful Susan Sarandon, Max Von Sidow, and Christopher Plummer. I found the pace a bit slow at first, but it picked up considerably as the tale unfolded and I quite enjoyed it. Beautifully filmed, lovely scenery. The ending was a bit of a cliffhanger, but glad I saw the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
Actors were excellent. Story was very different from WWII concentration camp stories. The actors brought forth the depth of despair that comes from such an experience. The story itself is a bit complicated and I need to look at it again to understand the emotional intricacies of the characters. In some places it was very melancholy, but in other parts gave rise to a release of problems carried from earlier experiences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here