YED Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Subscribe & Save nav_sap_shop_all_hm_cal Shop now Shop Popular Services SneakyPete SneakyPete SneakyPete  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Beat the Cold with Outdoor Clothing on Amazon NYNN

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). Show all reviews
on September 18, 2012
That this is a tough read is an understatement. But worth the effort. The story is so relevant: a warning never to forget, as those who hear the word of God hustle politics, believing their own shtick. Marquez's imagination is so astounding it makes me fearful that Western civilization died a long time ago. In the best of my dreams I can only sustain for five seconds what Marquez holds together for his entire novel.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2009
I have been a big fan of Mr. Marquez for many years now, and have read at least four of his other books. This one intrigued me when I read about it, since it is reputed to have been his first.

I found the first fifty or so pages difficult to get into because, typical of Marquez, he tends to write in run on sentences, no paragraphs, and differing persons. Stick with it, however, and the book will captivate you. For anyone familiar with one or more of the dictatorships typical of South America, either past or present, you will become enthralled with his eye for detail. A great read, and an object lesson for would be dictators.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2008
Amazing.
I have no other words describing this book. The narrative style, for those complaining - is in my humble opinion Marquez BEST : spell binding magic realism.
The book details in long and convoluted sentences the minutiae of every day life of a maniac, a universal type of tyrant - which just happens to be caught in Marquez writer's cross hairs in South America. It may be one of the many South American dictators and it could easily be one of their European monster counterparts. Marquez is sometimes sublime, often bold and always funny in a strange way. Recommended !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2014
When Gabriel Garcia Marquez died I heard a podcast discussing his work and the critic in the podcast chose Autumn Of The Patriarch (1975) as the most representative of his writing. I was intrigued since it is one of the novels that I hadn't read yet, so I decided that would be the next Marquez novel I would read. it reflects all the great lyricism of other novels such as One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love In The Time Of Cholera. It also catalogs the barbarity of the military dictatorships that once dominated South America and most of Latin America. The book is divided into six sections about the eternal dictator and his cruel reign as well as the discovery of his so-called dead corpse at the onset of each section. The sentences and paragraphs are long, flowing, and lyrical. It is truly one of his masterpieces of modern fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2015
Exquisite. His prose reads like fine, thought- provoking gems, one after another after another.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
excellent insight into Columbian culture and lifestyle during the period written about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
Such a grim confusing story that I couldn't finish it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2016
From the master, always a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
As always, wonderful and majical!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
Book appeared as new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse