Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning billions billions billions  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$6.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 166 reviews
on June 20, 2013
I am not a student of the Arthur legend. I have seen "Monty Python and the Holy Grail" a few times. That was not helpful, for this book. If you have a decent grasp on the legend and those characters, you will grab on to the plot of Avalon High. If not, you may find yourself tapping into Knights of the Round Table background info on Wikipedia.

I liked these characters a lot. I loved the boy meets girl storyline. YA readers may really love it. Then again, the world of these high school juniors and seniors, where cell service is spotty and texting has not yet been invented, may feel a little quaint and olde tyme-y.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
I know this is geared to teens but I am only 22 and take great enjoyment from other teen novels. This book is about the second coming of Arthur from the Knights of the Roundtable. This is so predictable it is painful. There are no great twists or surprises. I could read it but it wasn't anything special. Meg Cabot usually does really great work but this just wasn't one of them in my opinion. However, the adaptation of this book to film is totally great. Be warned that the two have barely anything in common though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2017
I loved loved loved this book! There want really any unnecessary drama and it was a great book to pick if you have to read a different version of king Arthur for school. I totally recommend reading it!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2016
Shallow and uneventful. Another re-imagined story of King Arthur's court that involves reincarnation within a high-school setting. Read this for a college Arthurian-genre course... Maybe teens would enjoy?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2014
Avalon high was awesome! Will, (insert girly sigh here), was positively dreamy;) I have seen Avalon High the movie many times and the book, though different from the feature, is just as interesting and captivating as the movie. Meg Cabot illustrates a unique story sure to please even the harshest critics and entertain the most restless readers, regardless of their lack of insight into medieval times or the knights of the round table. Whatever your previous knowledge of King Arthur may be, (for me that would be nothing), Avalon high is a book that will steal your breath away...... and maybe even your heart, too<3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2014
When Ellie moves to Annapolis on a sabbatical she finds things are a little strange. Her World Literature teacher is certain her crush is the reincarnation of King Arthur.
In the events of saving A. William Wagner from his stepbrother , Ellie learns she is the only one who can save him.
A great read for anyone loving mystery and romance books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2006
I would first off like to say that I love Meg Cabot, so please do not take this as a flame. I am also 18, which would also change any thoughts as, this is a Young Adult Book. I thought the plot line was perfect. Perfect, but the entire book seemed rushed. Even the chapters were short. I also think this would be a good start to a series. The characters were believable, even the quirky parents, but everything was much to rushed in my opinion (character development, emotions, etc). I would recommend getting it at the library.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
The story has twists, great characters, depth and insight. A satisfying read for an adult, illuminating for younger readers. DO NOT watch the movie! They changed the entire motivation of the book. An embarrassment. Wish Cabot would write more about these characters or a similar book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
This book is great for pre-teen to teen girls! I love the King Arthur legends and putting a modern twist on the story was amazing. The only problem is, and it will still receive 5 stars, the swearing. All in all it was well written, mildly funny, and a good perspective of good verses evil.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2010
when i watched the movie i was suked into ellies world so the first ting i did was get my kindle to buy this book and i ended up disapointed with the movie they changed so much that makes this book so awsome. so botom line honestly your money wont go to waste
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse