Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Price:$23.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 103 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 137 reviews
on August 12, 2015
This game appeals to those with an intellectual bent who enjoy negotiating and building coalitions in a geopolitical context. Diplomacy is to Risk as chess is to checkers. There are no dice and the results of each turn solely depend on each player's orders and the support he/she can garner from other players. You should play this game only if you know people well enough that they won't be offended after the game if you betray an alliance.

The classic version uses blocks of different colors to represent the armies and fleets of different countries and it is easy to distinguish one country's units from another's. However, with the cardboard pieces in this version, the pieces look much the same (I have a slight degree of color blindness). I plan to use multicolored blocks and multicolored "popsicle sticks" (cut into thirds) I purchased from a hobby store to use instead of the cardboard pieces; I'll still have to paint some of those white. Multicolored stickers for the cardboard pieces would be an easier solution.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2017
I owned the original version of this game and I can tell you it caused much dissention amongst good friends. Some long term! Try and play with strangers and save yourself grief. Game play is basically the same but the markers are now made of cardboard (instead of plastic or metal) and the board is probably half the thickness of the original. I don't understand why they went so cheap. I would have gladly paid extra for the original pieces and board. I went and scored a good deal on a basically new 1999 version of the game with the metal pieces on an auction site. Wound up returning this. If you have never played this before and you enjoy turn-based war games, or you want to recap old memories of back-stabbing past, pick this up. For all my old-school friends look for a used version you will likely hate the paper artillery, ships, and whatnots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 21, 2013
It is a classic game.

Diplomacy is an excellent game where the name really does get at the essence of the product.

Players take the role of head of state for countries during the Great Powers period.

Through hook and by crook they connive, wheel, deal, and renege on agreements in order to capture territories and capitols.

It is not a matter of whether you will betray the other players, it is only a matter of which turn.

The rules are amazingly simple, and there is no chance involved.

For those of you with a mind towards stealth and subversion, this is the perfect strategy game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2016
Great, great, great game. Even the board looks great. We are still waiting to get a full compliment of 7 players for a hardcore game. As it stands, if you have friends who won't get mad about what goes on in a game, and if you have several hours to spend on a strategy game with no luck, but instead negotiation, this won't disappoint.

(Well, mostly. The reason for the lost star is that the game comes with flat, square cardboard pieces for your fleet and army units. They look so cheap I decided to not even use them, and bought my own set of differently-colored plastic game pieces (ships and cannons) from Amazon to use with the game; it adds tremendously to the feel when playing. That they wouldn't provide quality game pieces for an extra $10-$15 is a little disappointing--good, quality games typically cost more than the $25 price point Wizards of the Coast was apparently trying to hit. Still worth it, just worth noting that if you want a real wargame feel, you might prefer your own pieces.)
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2014
It's a great game, but know what you're getting yourself into. It took us an hour and a half to go over the rules, then EIGHT HOURS until the first person was knocked out. We were doing twenty minute timed negotiation sessions, and I recommend you do the same, or shorter. Also, make sure you all agree to be friends in the end before you start, because things will get ugly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2016
It is a good game but I didn't notice that it takes a lot of time to play. I prefer games that last around 1 or 2 hours. The estimated time for this game is 6 hours. I am not saying it is a bad game but keep in mind that it last 6 hours before buying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2012
I had first discovered the joy of this game around my High School years, when some friends of mine would get together and have parties centered around playing it (we weren't the coolest bunch). Needless to say I fell in love with it enough to purchase the game a few years later to share this experience in my college setting.

I'm not going to break down how to play for you here but rather give you a brief overview of what to expect in purchasing this:
* A learning curve that might take one or two games to master and an attentive reading of the game manual.
* The possibility of the never ending search for 7 players to make the game both playable and enjoyable (it's possible to play with any number smaller, or larger if you're that creative, but the game shines in its essence at 7 players).
* A game play method that makes no use of dice, and therefor no chance is involved (so if you're a gambler at heart the appeal lies only in making risky moves).
* A game play method that utilizes diplomatic skills over tactics (a two player game being the exception), communication over might and movement, and treachery mixed with teamwork over getting lucky and taking on everyone at once.
* A slow play (unless you call a game) that can take well over an hour, maybe over 2.
* A game that involves a necessity to understand its mechanics and workings in order for it to be enjoyable.

In short, the game remains my favorite (as well as political celebrities JFK and Kissinger's, as was originally stated by the game's distributor: Avalon Hill), and if you have 6 other friends that feel the same way it can be a great time (although when the game boils down to 2, try to ensure you have something else to keep your friend's entertained). Even still, the game requires a certain know-how, can be tough to explain to new-comers (I always shoot for "Risk without dice" and hope they get it), and requires a good 1-3 hours to play through (the time needed grows less with experience).

Also, for those who are already fans of the game, considering the price of the other more recent releases (including the '99 version): metal and plastic pieces may look nice, but the cardboard markers in the version work fine, are fairly durable, and aren't to unattractive themselves. I recommend this version to those who simply want to play the game rather than collect it. It's very nice looking, durable, and functional (despite a lack of attractive plastic or metal).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2017
The game was brand new. Diplomacy is a fun game. I just needed the pieces for a map I have for the Abstraction variation of Diplomacy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2016
this game is fantastic. The game is 30% strategy on the board and 70% making and breaking alliances when it helps you most and screws over someone else. The rule book is a bit dry but there are examples to go with the rules that help. Just remember; the sun never sets on the British Empire.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2016
None of my friends may trust each other anymore, but that's just a testament to how amazing this game is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here