Lyft Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Only: $49.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno

Diplomacy
Price:$26.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on August 12, 2015
This game appeals to those with an intellectual bent who enjoy negotiating and building coalitions in a geopolitical context. Diplomacy is to Risk as chess is to checkers. There are no dice and the results of each turn solely depend on each player's orders and the support he/she can garner from other players. You should play this game only if you know people well enough that they won't be offended after the game if you betray an alliance.

The classic version uses blocks of different colors to represent the armies and fleets of different countries and it is easy to distinguish one country's units from another's. However, with the cardboard pieces in this version, the pieces look much the same (I have a slight degree of color blindness). I plan to use multicolored blocks and multicolored "popsicle sticks" (cut into thirds) I purchased from a hobby store to use instead of the cardboard pieces; I'll still have to paint some of those white. Multicolored stickers for the cardboard pieces would be an easier solution.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 20, 2017
I owned the original version of this game and I can tell you it caused much dissention amongst good friends. Some long term! Try and play with strangers and save yourself grief. Game play is basically the same but the markers are now made of cardboard (instead of plastic or metal) and the board is probably half the thickness of the original. I don't understand why they went so cheap. I would have gladly paid extra for the original pieces and board. I went and scored a good deal on a basically new 1999 version of the game with the metal pieces on an auction site. Wound up returning this. If you have never played this before and you enjoy turn-based war games, or you want to recap old memories of back-stabbing past, pick this up. For all my old-school friends look for a used version you will likely hate the paper artillery, ships, and whatnots.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2014
This is a fantastic game because it relies on complex strategies, like chess, where you have to consider multiple different possible moves and outcomes, but has a very pronounced human element, as well. There is a learning curve but by the third game everyone is very much up to speed, and even the first game is not too difficult, but play may proceed more slowly. What makes it interesting is the interpersonal dynamics of the negotiations between moves. Luck is mainly a result of player choices, there are no dice. The difficulty is getting enough players--you really should have at least five players or more to have the most fun with it. The game tonight involved five---France, Germany, and Turkey allied against Russia and Austria-Hungary, and although outnumbered, Russia-Austria-Hungary was holding their own and pressing Germany hard and within a couple campaigns of destroying Turkey when the game was halted. France had a giant army and Navy (having stayed largely out of the conflict!) but was in no position to defend or help either of its allies. This particular set has a great board and good maps but the pieces are punched out of cardboard. I recommend using Risk wooden blocks for the armies and the Risk beans for navies. Works much better than the cardboards. The flags made out of cardboard, however, are fine.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 15, 2013
The game board is very well made and looks beautiful too, with sharp lines and good color. The pieces the,selves are cardboard, and although this disappointed me at first, the pieces are actually some tough-ass cardboard if I ever saw it. Rulebook is clear enough. No disappointments in production quality.

Gameplay is tense and I remember multiple times being immersed in the game and the players. I remember everyone writing down orders as fast as they could. I remember being betrayed and betraying others. 10/10 would play again. If i could find more players...
review imagereview image
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 26, 2017
Great game, and this anniversary edition is well-crafted and pleasing to the eye. Only quibble is that the color scheme of the units is not suitable for low light conditions or even the slightest colorblindness. I found that we had to play with some of the close color hues distinguished by placing the units with the plain side up. I will be cutting myself a different set of unit pieces.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 17, 2016
If you hate your friends, this is the game for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 17, 2017
Everything is fairly well made. The cardboard pieces old up well and nothing has broken after generous usage.

If you do get a copy, I'd recommend picking up a few small plastic bags too. The box doesn't have any compartments for organizing the pieces which creates a bit of a mess when trying to find the proper pieces during gameplay. Other than that, everything works as it should.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 8, 2016
None of my friends may trust each other anymore, but that's just a testament to how amazing this game is.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 27, 2017
To get the most out of this game you have to have enough people (and enough time). It's truly more about the diplomacy and player interactions and not the actual game mechanics. That said, the mechanics seemed pretty complex and took quite a while to understand. I feel like this game gets played more online.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 12, 2016
Best board game of all time. Want to know if your friends respect you or not, in 45 minutes you can find out. Then you can think about it for the next few hours as your "friends" slowly wipe you off the map. Very intense game, not for those who take things personally.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 17 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here