Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$5.00
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Awakening Earth: Exploring the Evolution of Human Culture and Consciousness Hardcover – November, 1993

4.7 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$23.00 $0.01
click to open popover

Editorial Reviews

From Kirkus Reviews

A stimulating, though not elegantly expressed, vision of the evolution of the cosmos--and of our role in its future. California social-scientist Elgin (Voluntary Simplicity, 1981- -not reviewed) draws on ancient spiritual traditions and modern scientific insights to form a picture of where we're going in the universe. The present, he argues, is crucial, since advances in technology and communications suggest a new expansion of human consciousness even as ecological problems cast doubt on any ``sustainable future.'' Elgin discerns three decisive stages in the development of consciousness: the era of hunter-gatherers, beginning roughly 35,000 years ago and marked by limited self- reflection; the era of agrarian-based civilizations, beginning about 10,000 years ago; and our own scientific-industrial era, begun in the 1700's. He contends that now we're entering a new era, one in which mass communications make possible the beginning of a global consciousness, as well as hoped-for reconciliations among ourselves and between us and our planet. Looking forward, Elgin projects three further stages: ``bonding,'' in which community and viable future can be built; ``surpassing,'' which will foster free creativity; and ``maturity,'' a wisdom-culture of enlightenment and cosmic consciousness. The author claims that his thinking isn't New Age, since he envisages a process involving matter as well as consciousness--a process he terms ``co-evolution.'' Elgin's stress on human responsibility avoids the determinism of many evolutionary views, and his suggestions that the ideal world government will resemble that dictated in the US constitution, and that ultimate reality is ``democratic,'' will please patriots. But Elgin's final vision is of consciousness being freed from matter, and his concept of an eternal ``Meta-universe'' seems to align him with the Taoists or pre-Socratic Greeks. Moreover, it's difficult to see how personal individuation has a place in his view of the fully evolved consciousness. An ambitious and provocative call to greater awareness, marred by sometimes tortuous turns of expression and thought. -- Copyright ©1993, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

Review

Challenging, thoughtful, original, well-documented, and plausibly hopeful. One of the best long-term futures books in many years! (Future Survey, Volume 15, Number 10, October 1993)

Awakening Earth argues that we are now collectively poised for a major species shift. If the first stages of human awakening involved separating ourselves from nature, developing our sense of autonomy as a species and discovering our ability for remaking the world, the next stages of evolution will require reintegrating ourselves with nature, exploring our deep bonding with one another and with the cosmos and developing our capacity to act in harmony with the universe.

Though at times daunting in its comprehensiveness, the book's ultimate achievement is its balance of vision and sober reasoning, in the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and Buckminster Fuller. Without denying the tension and suffering that go with change, Elgin conveys a powerful sense of what he calls enthusiasm for the conscious coevolution of life on Earth, for it is only through our individual awakening and creative action that the Earth will awaken as well. (San Francisco Chronicle, Review, April 10, 1994)

Elgin bases his tour de force on an awesome synthesis of his reading over the last dozen years and a personal spiritual experience documented as an appendix. He is the West's version of Sri Aurobindo, an Eastern sage who created a mighty synthesis of East and West. For weaving together the strands of spiritual traditions, various thinkers and the new physics, this book is worth the read. For anyone who wants, as I do, the grand overview, you certainly get it here. (Initiatives, Newsletter of the Institute of Cultural Affairs in the Western United States, Vol. X, No. 3, Summer, 1994) -- Initiatives, Newsletter of the Institute of Cultural Affairs in the Western United States, Vol. X, No. 3, Summer, 1994

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 382 pages
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Co; 1st edition (November 1993)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0688116213
  • ISBN-13: 978-0688116217
  • Product Dimensions: 1.5 x 6.5 x 9.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.7 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,755,144 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
83%
4 star
0%
3 star
17%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By A Customer on April 19, 2004
Format: Hardcover
the entire book is available on Duane Elgin's website as a free pdf file.
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Duane Elgin has compiled a fairly complete and comprehensive outline of the evolution of human consciousness and the direction we are headed and therefore, the drastic and immediate changes humans need to make to insure survival of life on our beautiful, but vulnerable planet Earth. I'll borrow a simple, but profound Ancient Chinese Proverb Elgin included in his book: "Voluntary Simplicity" to emphasize the need for humans to realize the slippery slope to disaster we are on and the need to alter course:

"If we don't change our direction, we are likely to end up where we are headed"- Indeed!

Elgin doesn't just dwell on the negative without proffering ideas, means and ways to clean up our collective human act, rather, most all of his energy is poured into answers and ideas for human lifestyle changes that are sustainable and healthy. All of his publications are guidelines to sane, harmonious living. And this can be seen in another fine, eloquent book of his: "Promise Ahead".

"Awakening Earth" outlines the on-going poll seen at his website about what stage of maturation and consciousness is humanity at: "What Life Stage of the Human Family". There are four choices: Toddler, Teenager, Adult or Elder. The poll has maintained it's choice percentages for several years at about 74% for Teenager and about 21% for Toddler- not much left for the Adult or Elder category. After reading Elgin's books, one might be inclined to see him as one of the Elders.

The importance in Human Maturation was the focus of a very simple, eloquent, but potent book published in 1947 by H.A. Overstreet: "The Mature Mind" which became an international bestseller and I found it is as profound and timely as Elgin's important work.
Read more ›
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book is a fascinating, but realistic exploration of Man's possible futures. It could be a takeoff of Tielhard DeChardin, yet it is gripping, and challenging. Definitely not for those looking for an easy ticket through life, or the religious fanatic, yet it is important read for those seriously concerned with our future
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse