BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno



on September 16, 2009
Episodic? Sort of. Similar to Lucky Star, the Azumanga Daioh anime is compiled from 4-panel gag manga comics of the same name; either you get the joke, or you don't. The manga is wonderful, to see it in anime is exceptional. Azumanga Daioh has also been compared to, strangely enough, the U.S. sitcom "Seinfeld", because of the episodic feel... supposedly a non-story arc affair. But realistically, the character development and day-to-day life (in this case, three years of Japanese high school) IS the story arc. The repetition of comic relief is quite intentional, this stems from the characters personalities... which makes you grow closer and founder to them. Also, like Lucky Star (and Seinfeld), what makes this series extra special is the reviewable opportunities... you don't feel weighed down by a series that is story-arc driven, this is all about the characters. No matter how many times I hear Elaine bust out "Get OUT!" on Seinfeld, it does not get old; either does this anime.

I would highly recommend viewing the anime with Japanese DUB and English subtitles... mainly because of Osaka's character. The character is from Osaka, which regionally, would be considered "down south" for us in the States. And like the English translated manga, the character is obnoxiously portrayed as being from Boston, which is a far cry... the joke in the manga, is that even though the nicknamed transfer student Osaka is from Osaka, she's expected to be cutting-edge and city-slick cool by the other students when they first meet her... but in actuality, she's quite spacey and slow on the uptake which does NOT come across in either the English translated manga or the English dubbed anime. You'll get and understand the true identity and hilariousness of Osaka by listening to the Japanese DUB with English subtitles... the original dialogue is always portrayed/delivered correctly... dub is often... lost in translation as they say.

Another treat, on a personal level, is that the characters are all Japanese girls, with dark hair and dark eyes... none of the westernized and often whitewashed look or feel of other anime character design... with bright hair and eyes of every color of the rainbow... which is still quite enjoyable, but a breath of fresh air for this anime. If you enjoy this series, I would also highly recommend Lucky Star; although much more in your face fun, it's also derived from the same 4-panel gag-style of manga and isn't story-arc necessary.
55 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
I'm not going to say anything bad about Azumanga Daioh. I do not believe there can possibly be any factual basis for this. Watch it. Failure to do so will render you anime-illiterate, because it is brilliant.

But I will say I find the way the DVDs were packaged in the case to have been, well, haphazard at best. All six discs are stacked on a single spindle with nothing in between them. I ended up just transferring them all to jewel cases. I recommend either having six jewel cases on hand or looking for an older box set. Recent re-releases of a lot of box sets have had problems with this particular kind of material minimalism. If a "six-disc set" comes in a box an inch thick, something funny is probably going on in there, and by funny I mean scratchy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
Azumanga Daioh is still probably my favorite comedy anime out there.

There are a number of other good comedy anime series I could recommend to people depending on their tastes, but Azumanga Daioh is great for just about anybody to be able to appreciate, regardless of their tastes. It has that sense of humor that appeals to a wide range of folks because it keeps things simple and relatable.

This series proves that you don't need excessive fan service or a narrow scope niche appeal in order to be amusing. No, all you need are some good characters, some relatable everyday circumstance, a dash of cuteness, sprinkle some innocent fun on top, give it a playful twist, and you've got comedy gold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2012
Azumanga Daioh is an anime that could in no way be called romantic having none of them have boy friends and at some points you almost get the thought they are at a all girl school!
If you've read the book before you will clearly recognize the star six.
Osaka is a transfer student that has moved to Tokyo from, well, OSAKA. She does not have it together as she has said she needs to get it together.
Chiyo is a 10 year old prodigy that has been skipped up to high school and at the top of her class. Her cuteness is the main part of her character and everyone usually call her Chiyo Chan.
Tomo is a very hyper high school girl that has been paired with Yomi since elementary school.
Yomi as I mentioned before has been in the same class with Tomo since elementary school. She has a totally mature attitude totally opposite as Tomo, who almost acts like she's 5 years old.
Kagura is a very athletic girl on the swim team and is Sakaki's rival. Although she is one of the best athletes she is horrible at school work.
Sakaki is a cat lovin Tall girl with long black hair that every one thinks she's so cool, where all she wants to do is get a cat, but due to her mom being allergic she can't get one. She's very athletic but not into it. She is good at school though unlike Kagura.

This is one of those series you watch over and over again cause of small details.
Great anime to own
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2016
The Best, Cutest, most Heartfelt, High School Drama anime ever made.

I miss these characters, love every one of them and wish i could find out how they turned out later in life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2012
Azumanga Daioh is a really fun series about high school life. It is told through the eyes of 6 very unique young ladies: Chiyo (a 10 year old d genius), Osaka (a total airhead), Sakaki (a cat freak), Kagura (a jock), Tomo (a nutcase), and Yomi (short tempered and impatient). The series follows them through their day to day high school lives. There is not a really much of a point to this anime except laughs and gags. Laughter is the spice of life they say.

I really enjoyed watching Azumanga Daioh. It can definitely lift up your day if you're bored or a little bummed. The animation is pretty good, the background music suits the series well, and the voice acting is great. I think School Rumble may be a little better of a high school comedy, but they are both worth watching. I would recommend Azumanga Daioh to any anime fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2010
You know how you watch Star Wars or something else that gets your imagination going and says 'yeah, I want to be Han Solo, or Captain Kirk, or The Man With No Name, or an awesome samurai in a big robot fighting the big alien monster thing'? Perhaps this is like that, only from the other direction. Instead of getting your imagination going, it gets your heart going, and it says 'yeah, I would totally want to be friends with these girls and go on their adventures and live this kind of happy life'.

That's what this show is to me. It's like stumbling across the blog of someone who happens to be a little quirky and nerdy and funny and generally just a really good person, and you get sucked in for a few hours and learn more about them. And it's awesome. It's funny. It's worthwhile to watch, and you feel better and happier for having done so.

This is perhaps my favorite shows so far, and I've seen my fair share of anime. But I said this is one of my favorite shows, period, not just anime, but across all genres of the visual medium. It may say something that my favorite show is Fraiser. It's odd, as much as I love science fiction and superheroes and the like, when I want to sit down and just enjoy something, I turn to comedies about kind-of-everyday people in comedies. But only the exceptional ones. Azumanga Daioh is exceptional.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2010
Azumanga Daioh is a great slice of life comedy. It follows random days of six female classmates through their high school years to graduation. AD isn't about long plot lines , romantic situations or rich character development, the girls are basically the same at the end as in the beginning. But is that a bad thing? I don't think so , they are young girls that like to hang out together , have fun , go to school and enjoy the carefree days of youth. AD is just a fun series without being weighed down by a lot of extra baggage. If you like comedy that appeals to a large and diverse audience then you should check this out . If you want a great story line , romance , violence or fan service , then you should pass on this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
There are 6 disks in this collection and they are all in the same box. That's great for saving space and all, but the disks are stacked on top of each other which is a bit annoying.
That aside, the quality is amazing. The show is wonderful. Fans of Azumanga Daioh or any other high school comedies should pick this up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2011
I love this anime it is one of the best anime ever. Azumanga Daioh is a very cute and happy anime and along with Lucky Star are my two favorite slice-of-life anime series. The manga (sold seperatly) is also amazing and is available in a single omnibus eddition.
My only complaint is regarding the DVD box: All six DVD's are stacked on top of each other on a single spindle, but thats OK it just makes it harder to change discs.
One of the best anime ever - In my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse