Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEMClub17_gno

  • BABEL
  • Customer Reviews

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$21.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 196 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,185 reviews
on January 30, 2017
Probably the best movie that Brad Pitt has ever acted in, though all of the acting is superb. Some of the work of the young child actors in this movie is astonishing. This extremely serious, but completely engrossing film draws you, by its ever-more-fateful twists and turns into the lives of three completely disparate families, who, though separated by enormous cultural differences and vast geographic distances, are yet linked by a single ghastly tragedy, and by their own familial conflicts. An amazing piece of cinematic art that owes much of its greatness to the vision of its director, Alejandro Gonzales Innarritu. Very definitely a "must see."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2016
The most disturbing movie I ever loved. Truly about bad, very bad, and terrible things happening to good people, for no particular reason. They are not evil people, they don't deserve what happened. Well some made some VERY BAD choices, but who knew it would turn out like that, I mean really! Truly the "rarefied high art" of movie making - the interconnection of story lines, the sequencing of material - OUTSTANDING. There is a sense of redemption (or something) at the end, but I think maybe I projected that, because I needed it to not be so heavy. Great movie. Definitely not for everyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2016
I didn't see this when it was first released. 5 stars not because I "loved it", but because it's a movie that makes you think and ask questions. It's an intellectual film of which there are far too few of. Stellar performances from all of the cast. I won't reiterate the plot line and it's been well covered through other reviews. I will recommend this if you have 3 hours to commit to a film that is uncomfortable to watch but demands introspection and self-appraisal. Are you part of the problem? Or part of the solution?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2013
The main actor in the movie is a high powered rifle. Very educating how this gun influences and changes all these people's lives, their families, their employers, and their marriages. A very simple thing, a grateful client thanks his guide by giving him a rifle he admired. And it begins, the killing, daughter watches as mother commits suicide, never recovers, brothers challenge each other and shoot a woman sitting on a bus, man must make a decisions that will change their lives, husbands lose control of being able to help their wives, who, in turn, lose their children who almost die in the desert, who then lose their Nana, who gets sent back across the border, who loses her life in America, and never sees them again. Best Brad Pitt movie, fantastic tear jerking plot. people don't kill people, GUNS kill people.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2013
This movie moves quickly from events in Morocco to events in Mexico and on to events in Japan. It's almost like watching three different movies.

However, just when you wonder what is happening with all the unrelated shifts there comes the realization they are related. The suspense builds in Morocco and you think you will get to see what happens next and then - Mexico or Japan.

Eventually as the plots thicken again and again you are surprised by each turn. The endings are uneven in terms of tying a neat bow on each drama, i.e., there are different ways to interpret the concluding scene in each setting. In my case, the episode in Japan left me wondering "is that all?"

Brad Pitt is good. It's debatable, however, if this movie is his best film performance. If you enjoy suspense, you will like this movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2017
Great movie. Kept me interested throughout. Great directing/ writing/ acting. I was surprised with Cate's roll. I thought her performance could of been better, but maybe the three key elements were missing for her in this film. Director/actor/ writer " clique" was not there. I like her acting, and I thought a few of her scenes , wasn't all she is capable of. I still give it 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2013
The good news-this is another fascinating look at Spencer Tunick's projects. It's always interesting to see how he puts them together, all the happy and willing participants and the cooperation he gets.
The bad news- according to the description this DVD was supposed to have English subtitles. If so I cannot find them and I'm used to turning them on as we many foreign movies that use them. The very brief menu does not offer them. Oddly, the only time there are subtitles is when he or his assistants are speaking in English and we get Spanish subtitles.
So the movie is interesting, you get the general drift of what's going on, but all the commentary and interviews are in Spanish. I'm wondering if in their mind they were using subtitles when English was spoken-I don't know.
With subtitles it would have gotten 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2014
I enjoyed the story, in the sense that it dealt with 4 different families and they all crossed paths or affected each other in one way or another. I wish the story in Japan was more complete. I wish it was told what the note said. I can guess it is that she is the one who killed her mother, and that was a note, but that is an assumption and I am hoping that is the conclusion the writer intended for the viewer to believe...also the children and the live in nanny I wish they elaborated on that story as well...

I like this move because it shows that our actions have a ripple affect. We may do something and it affects more than just us in this case all the way across the world...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Alejandro González Iñárritu and Guillermo Arriaga (who have sadly had a falling-out) may be one of the most formidable creative teams in the industry. Without resorting to cheap sentiments or preaching, Iñárritu crafts a quietly compelling follow-up to "21 Grams," with an introspective look at the interlaced lives after a tragedy.

Two boys in Morocco buy a rifle, and while testing it out, they strike a passing tourist bus. Unfortunately, the bullet strikes a vacationing American woman (Cate Blanchett), in the middle of a rural area with no real medical facilities. Unable to be transported, the woman and her husband (Brad Pitt) are dropped off in a rural village, to await help.

Unknowingly, the boys have triggered off shattering events in other people's lives across the world -- a troubled, deaf Japanese girl (Rinko Kikuchi) causes a commotion, and the police find that this neglected, lonely teen is the daughter of the man who originally had the boys' rifle. And the American couple's nanny (Adriana Barraza) is delayed going to her son's wedding, and attempts to bring the children into Mexico with her -- with disastrous results.

"Babel" is like a series of completely different photographs, but with the same person in the background. These haunting looks at how lives can be changed in an instant -- and the effects of violence, whether malicious or careless -- makes up the last volume of Iñárritu and Arriaga's "Death Trilogy." It illustrates death with the fragility of life.

But it's also about the difficulty of communicating in the modern world. You can talk to someone across the world, but sometimes never communicate -- cultures, languages, race, and disabilities can divide people, such as when the border police rush to rescue the American kids, but are callous to the kindly nanny merely because she is not a citizen.

And Iñárritu knows how to capture the right feel for the movie, even to giving it shaky, rough cinematography. There's a feeling of powerful emotion even in small scenes, such as Pitt starting to crumble as he makes a phone call. And the movie moves seamlessly from the rocky, dusty Morocco to the flashy, frenetic Tokyo to the relaxed San Diego.

Blanchett and Pitt are at the center of the movie (in that order), and both are excellent. Blanchett gives a stunning performance as the critically wounded wife, and Pitt acquits himself well as her anguished husband, as they rediscover their love under duress. Blanchett's performance should definitely garner her an Oscar next year -- and heads should roll if she isn't even nominated!

But the supporting cast is also excellent, particularly Kikuchi as the rebellious teenager, who feels isolated from the world around her, and is still grieving from her mother's tragic death. So she acts out sexually. And Barraza gives a solid performance as the nanny, in a nightmarish situation that is particularly haunting because it really happens.

Admittedly, a good movie deserves a pretty good special edition, but this two-disc version really doesn't differ that much from the original theatrical release. The primary extra on this is a long "making of" featurette. It's nice, but a bit more would have been expected.

It may comment on the lack of communication between cultures and people, but "Babel" is so compelling in its acting and visuals that it could easily have been a silent film. A brilliant, thought-provoking movie, and one that deserves to be seen.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Alejandro González Iñárritu and Guillermo Arriaga (who have sadly had a falling-out) may be one of the most formidable creative teams in the industry. Without resorting to cheap sentiments or preaching, Iñárritu crafts a quietly compelling follow-up to "21 Grams," with an introspective look at the interlaced lives after a tragedy.

Two boys in Morocco buy a rifle, and while testing it out, they strike a passing tourist bus. Unfortunately, the bullet strikes a vacationing American woman (Cate Blanchett), in the middle of a rural area with no real medical facilities. Unable to be transported, the woman and her husband (Brad Pitt) are dropped off in a rural village, to await help.

Unknowingly, the boys have triggered off shattering events in other people's lives across the world -- a troubled, deaf Japanese girl (Rinko Kikuchi) causes a commotion, and the police find that this neglected, lonely teen is the daughter of the man who originally had the boys' rifle. And the American couple's nanny (Adriana Barraza) is delayed going to her son's wedding, and attempts to bring the children into Mexico with her -- with disastrous results.

"Babel" is like a series of completely different photographs, but with the same person in the background. These haunting looks at how lives can be changed in an instant -- and the effects of violence, whether malicious or careless -- makes up the last volume of Iñárritu and Arriaga's "Death Trilogy." It illustrates death with the fragility of life.

But it's also about the difficulty of communicating in the modern world. You can talk to someone across the world, but sometimes never communicate -- cultures, languages, race, and disabilities can divide people, such as when the border police rush to rescue the American kids, but are callous to the kindly nanny merely because she is not a citizen.

And Iñárritu knows how to capture the right feel for the movie, even to giving it shaky, rough cinematography. There's a feeling of powerful emotion even in small scenes, such as Pitt starting to crumble as he makes a phone call. And the movie moves seamlessly from the rocky, dusty Morocco to the flashy, frenetic Tokyo to the relaxed San Diego.

Blanchett and Pitt are at the center of the movie (in that order), and both are excellent. Blanchett gives a stunning performance as the critically wounded wife, and Pitt acquits himself well as her anguished husband, as they rediscover their love under duress. Blanchett's performance should definitely garner her an Oscar next year -- and heads should roll if she isn't even nominated!

But the supporting cast is also excellent, particularly Kikuchi as the rebellious teenager, who feels isolated from the world around her, and is still grieving from her mother's tragic death. So she acts out sexually. And Barraza gives a solid performance as the nanny, in a nightmarish situation that is particularly haunting because it really happens.

It may comment on the lack of communication between cultures and people, but "Babel" is so compelling in its acting and visuals that it could easily have been a silent film. A brilliant, thought-provoking movie, and one that deserves to be seen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse