Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Am I Bad? Recovering from Abuse (New Horizons in Therapy)
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
5 star
78%
4 star
22%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 22, 2016
The reviewers are correct when they say it is meant more for clinicians. I was looking for something a little more self-help. It still had some good points and gave me things to consider as I try to help someone I love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2014
Many thanks to Dr. Ewart for an informative book, from so many angles on the subject of abuse. I assure you that whatever you may be dealing with, this book will certainly speak to it. Once you find yourself, be sure to go to the Word of God for final answers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
"What if I didn't take that piece of candy?" "What if I hadn't walked down that street?" "What if my skirt was longer?" "What if I didn't look at her twice?" "What if ...?" The list and questions go on to an infinite number of possibilities.
Am I Bad? Recovering from Abuse tackles "blame the victim" and "self-blame" mentalities exceedingly commonplace in today's society.
It's part of the game for an abuser to make his/her victim feel responsible for the abuse.
Am I Bad? goes through the gamut of different types of abuse offering real life case studies, tests, warning signs and definitions of each type. This includes some many would not even think were abuse.
It's an unfortunate reality that abuse is more in the media. While I don't doubt the amount of abusers/victims has changed over history, the level of report has risen. Mostly, I am grateful to say, to the conscientious eye of neighbours, media attention to teaching self-protective behaviours.
I believe it is crucial to start early with teaching any age victim that it is NOT their fault. Some success has been reached with this through such events as Canada's Slutwalk that went global in a week and now held all around the country, Take back the night rallies, and programs like USA's Be The Change and Australia's Love Bites to name a few.

More effort is needed and Am I Bad? certainly takes a large step in the right direction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
As a psychology doctoral student at St. James the Elder Theological Seminary, I had the pleasure to meet and be taught by this phenomenal and eminent psychologist. Am I Bad is a great reading source for those who are seeking to understand the hurtful feelings that a child that has been abused experience and carries throughout their lives. Powerful documentation and a must to read book! It will inspire you to go out and help those in need.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2011
This was an excellent read. To bad I left it in the lounge at my car dealership. I have not seen it since. I plan to purchase another copy. Definitely a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2010
A tour de force of the tortured landscape of child abuse and its pernicious long-term outcomes. Numerous case studies are expertly intertwined with theoretical insights to produce the equivalent of a comprehensive and unconventional treatment modality. The author demonstrates the direct and indirect pathways from single or multiple identity-shaping events of sexual, physical, and psychological maltreatment in childhood to self-abuse and the preponderance of self-destructive and self-defeating behaviors in later adult life. Equally, certain personality disorders are known to be the sad consequences of child abuse. Social phenomena such as domestic violence and delinquency inevitably follow. Those who are supposed to tackle such malignant outgrowths - most notably mental health practitioners and social workers - are rarely up to the task. This book is an important contribution towards the edification of victims and institutions alike. Sam Vaknin, author of "Malignant Self Love - Narcissism Revisited"
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 30, 2009
I used to be a social worker. It is an unfortunate fact of life that abuse is prevalent today, and has been for some time. I do know that things have changed slightly for the better, as understanding of the effects of abuse have significantly improved. That said, much remains to be done.

Perhaps one of the toughest parts of dealing with clients, abused, abuser, and family members of both; is getting them to understand the far reaching consequences of abuse. The author, Heyward Ewart III, does an excellent job of illustrating just what some of these consequences are for all involved. Through the use of case studies, discussion and review of psychological theory, and information of on-going research; the author offers hope of healing and working through the abuse for all involved.

There are numerous tests, checklists and questionnaires included. These are extremely useful to the layperson, qualified counselor, student and family members. Anyone in the field of psychotheraphy or counseling will find this book extremely helpful. Some of the areas, of course, are simply review of theory and information already known widely. But even for the long-term counselor there is new information to be gleaned. I consider this work to be an important new addition to the field of study of abuse. If you have a family member who has suffered abuse, or been abused yourself, you will find much here to help you.

I admire the author's ability to speak to all levels of interested people who will be reading this book. I think no one will be confused, or feel that he is talking "down" to you, or dumbing down the info to make it easier to understand. His forthright manner and detailed writing style will make this book informative and useful to anyone in the field or with an interest in the long term effects of abuse.

It is definitely a book that will be referred to again and again by all users. I look forward to reading additional material by this author.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2008
I am a survivor of all kinds of abuse. I also am a student that has been seeking the best way to heal from abuse, for myself and for others. So many times I have talked with clinicians or the average person and they have no understanding of abuse and definitely not how to heal from it. As many therapists as there are there are also as many opinions or guesses on how to help victims heal. Many have lost all sense of logic when it comes to dealing with abuse. Fr Heyward Ewart PhD has found the missing link to how to heal. He is logical and clear and his message is of extreme importance to those who want to heal and those who want to help others heal. It is refreshing and encouraging to know that there really is help out there! You can heal! You are normal and reacting to something that is abnormal. Most people who have survived trauma suffer from complicated Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), they don't have "mental illness" and they need to be understood and not insulted anymore! The original abuse is enough, the mental health community needs to get its act together to treat these survivors in the way they deserve. This book describes the way to accomplish that, to be an effective healer, to give the right message and to hear the right message. You are NOT bad. But if we don't hit the root of the original message that was given to us, we will believe the lie. But we don't have to anymore...
Lisa Plumb
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2007
Reviewed by Lori Plach for Reader Views (6/07)

"It's all your fault! You brought this on yourself! If you would have done something different, this wouldn't have happened to you!" Ah yes, these are things an abuse victim may hear. Or they may simply believe. Do you know someone who has been abused? Perhaps it was a close friend or family member. Or maybe it was you yourself who was abused a year or many years ago and you are still dealing with the effects of it all. Your natural reaction, when something like this happens to you, is to blame yourself. Traumatized people often find themselves abusing alcohol, drugs or others but there is something much less destructive.

Heyward Bruce Ewart has created the book "Am I Bad?" to help victims, parents and therapists. There are various tests included in this book which can help determine whether the victim is suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. There is a test for concealed child abuse and a domestic violence inventory questionnaire throughout its pages, descriptions of what effects the abuse has taken and how you can break free. This book is not meant to take over the work of a qualified therapist, but to help therapists and those dealing with abused people.

No two cases are exactly alike. What happened in one case didn't happen quite the same in another. Just like each victim may react differently in dealing with what happened to them. "Am I Bad?" is an excellent resource!

Received book free of charge
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here