Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
27
BBC Shakespeare Tragedies DVD Giftbox
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$99.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on January 5, 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 3, 2015
A "must have" for anyone passionate about Shakespeare's works!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 21, 2013
I showed my class all of these tragedies which came alive because of the quality of the acting and production.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 22, 2014
Have used MacBeth and Romeo and Juliet in class. Very good versions of both.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 11, 2010
The gift box had a couple of holes and wear on corners, even though I bought it as new and was still wrapped in plastic. Three of the DVDs from the set I watched so far played well and were in good condition. Excellent production!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 29, 2015
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 2, 2010
I have been teaching The Tragedy of Julius Caesar for over 30 years and this BBS production is the best version available to show. Not one word has been omitted. The Hollywood versions are okay in a pinch but they lose some of the beauty of the language by editing for a movie audience. I'm glad that I bought this collection and hope that all the others included are as faithful as Caesar is.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 11, 2010
Just what I needed to teach these plays in my English classes. Came on time in perfect condition.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 31, 2008
The BBC did something really ambitious here. to produce all of Shakespeare's plays with some of the leading British actors of the time was no easy undertaking. But...this portion of the collection did not come out as good as it might have. Still, there are good plays in it with many fine performances. Hamlet, Julius Ceasare, and Romeo and Juliet were more or less up the standards one would hold for these actors and the BBC in general. Derek Jacobi gives a wonderful performance as Hamlet. His range of emitions and the speed with which he can shift from one emotion to the other is quite remarkable. I found his Hamlet to be one thinking things through all the time. One who isnt sure at first to the answers to the questions he asks himself but comes to conclusions after much thought. He also pokes fun at the comic characters in the play (Polonius, Osric, ect)with a savage wit. Yet he can bring himself to towering passions as well. Clare Bloom is quite impressive as the regal but still sexy Queen, and Patrick Stewart shows he can do Shakespeare with ease, which made me wonder why he didnt pursue it longer and instead turned to Star Trek (hardly high art). Romeo and Juliet was also a delight, keep an eye out for a younger Alan Rickman as Tybalt. Keith Michell totally sheds his Henry VIII and gives a powerhouse Brando-like performance as Marc Antony. then there is Macbeth and Othello... I was shocked these plays were soooooo bad because the cast seemed so impressive. Nichol Williamson simply cannot do Shakespeare, he looked like a drooling imbecile for half the play...it appears that his only technique for doing Shakespeare was opening his eyes very wide and speaking into the camera. he looks totally miscast for the part, like a hairy village idiot who wandered onto the set. Lady Macbeth appears to be having an orgasm in half her lines and the supporting cast aint much better. Othello was a real shock, Hopkins was a frizzy haired fop hissing out his lines most of the time and Hoskins looked like some school yard punk playing dirty tricks on the teacher. Hoskins just isnt meant for this kind of role (if you want to see a film where his performance will blow you away stick to The Long Good Friday and Mona Lisa). So these two plays really bring the collection down. still, the other three are a delight.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 9, 2006
...and is the reason why I bought the boxed set. In my opinion the other adaptations are tepid, though I must admit I haven't watched Hopkins as Othello yet.

Jacobi is the definitive Hamlet for me (and the definitive Claudius in Branagh's 1996 version).

I suppose I will have to save my pennies and buy the Histories boxed set to own his Richard II. I recall seeing it as a youth on PBS and being duly impressed.

Too bad the DVDs are not sold individually.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse