Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Enlightenment Now Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno



on October 24, 2015
Amazing voices!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 21, 2001
I may be a bit biased (I am in the Xtension Chords, track #10) but this is an excellent cd. Every song is a pleasure to listen to. As another reviewer mentioned, this is not your standard choral music. One just needs to look at the song selection to realize it is full of great songs that are still on the radio. If you have not been exposed to a cappella this cd is a great way to get started. If you have then you will appreciate this cd even more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 7, 2001
Collegiate a capella singer unite! This album, a compilation of the best tracks by the best groups of the 2000-2001 year, has just as much spirit and style as the last few albums. The music on this CD is how everyone wishes they sounded while singing in the shower- with a full group of backup singers! Its more living proof that the human voice is infinate in range, and that instruments just aren't necessary. As an ex-Wellesley Widow, this CD brings back every moment on stage and makes me wish I were still singing. Anyone in San Diego want to hook up for some vocals?!? :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 2, 2001
Listening to BOCA albums from no 1 (1995) to now, I'm amazed by the technical leaps that groups have been making. In reference to "a capella," the term means "without instrumentation," e.g. sounds are done solely by human voice and body. The percussion should be human-made, but with all the sound mix and effects, it's getting harder and harder to tell what stays true to a capella and what gets slipped in because of ambition getting ahead of style. Would be nice to have live recordings in addition to the humor albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2003
These groups are truly innovative, creating new takes on songs that may be recognized from your favorite radio station. The first few tracks get the album off to a great start, with amazing effects on Owner of a Lonely Heart, a smooth, seemingly effortless, deep bass sound on Get Set, and great all-around selections. A definite must-have for a cappella fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 5, 2001
I am not sure what the previous reviewer is talking about. Vocal percussion is both difficult to perform, and also an integral part of modern a cappella music. I wouldn't call the vocal percussion in any of the songs on this album tacky. All the songs on this album are amazing and very well done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 2, 2003
My favorite track is Peg (#1), and the Rainbow song (gotta love Kermit!)
Excellent CD. You will keep playing this disc over and over again.
The music is top quality singing and each track was selected for good reason.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 9, 2001
Alright, BOCA stands for college A CAPPELLA. Then why does the CD not contain what the label says? A cappella, meaning chapel music, more contemporarily, music using vocal sounds only? The tacky percussion on some of these tracks gets zero marks with me, but the soloist on track 5 has a voice to melt ice, and I mean diamonds! Love to hear more from her!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here