Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on July 27, 2011
Since my husband discovered he has a nasty gluten allergy (not full celiac, but still unpleasant enough to avoid gluten), he's been mourning the loss of donuts, pancakes, and other baked treats in his life. I bought this book on the recommendation of a friend, and since then have heard nothing but good things from a number of gluten-free friends who have tried its recipes.

To date I've tried only the granola recipe but can vouch for its awesomeness. It was hands down the best granola I've ever had -- you just can't top fresh granola from your oven, chock full of pecans and dried fruit. I love it with yogurt and berries, and have made two batches so far.

McKenna (the author) is really detailed in the foreword and I suggest reading every word before continuing on to the recipes so you know exactly what products she recommends and how to measure in a way that will produce results similar to her own. She labels each recipe with a difficulty scale, which is helpful for baking novices like myself. The recipe I most look forward to trying: ice cream cake. That is my husband's absolute favorite kind of cake, and with his birthday coming up I think I'll be giving it a shot!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 5, 2016
Book came in perfect condition from the seller! I love and make many of the recipes on a weekly/monthly basis. Very easy recipes and delicious!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 10, 2013
Certainly a good cook book with very easy recipes. Taste was delicious and I made many treats for my grandchildren. Worth the price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 20, 2011
This book, like its big sister (Erin McKenna's first book), is out of this world. As someone who has Celiac disease and is consistently working to develop gluten-free recipes, it is truly inspiring to know that it can be done ... and it can be done damn well. From the gorgeous pictures (i.e. food porn) to the outrageously wonderful recipes, I am simply in love with this latest book from Babycakes. You know you have a fantastic recipe when even the people who don't subscribe to a gluten-free or vegan lifestyle are begging for seconds! Thank you for working so hard to put together this book, and for inspiring gluten-free and vegan bakers everywhere.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 24, 2011
I bought the book a few weeks ago and made the chocolate chip pan cookie last night. It tastes exactly like toll house cookies made in a pan. Seriously impressed. Looking forward to trying the donut recipes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 2, 2014
A must have for allergy free baking!!!!!!! Best doughnuts EVER!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 10, 2015
Has some great recipes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 31, 2015
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 19, 2013
I am in love with this cookbook! I was wary after reading some of the reviews that reported less-than-stellar results for some of the recipes. I've made the donuts, whoopie pies, chocolate chip cookies and thin mints. They were all AMAZING! The recipes were simple and straight forward. I own over 40 cookbooks but am by no means a great cook; meaning, I truly appreciate a cookbook that is easy-to-follow and that yields great food. Babycakes Covers the Classics is just that!

I am a huge fan of the Babycakes bakery and while the shop's food is one-of-a-kind, the recipes here a strong second for at-home treats.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 24, 2015
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse