TG18_gno Lyft Vehicles Review Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now



on April 26, 2014
This is an astonishing disc, and the performances here are exquisite. The Empire Brass is a superb ensemble, and I have never been disappointed with their albums. Doug Major is Associate Organist at the Washington Cathedral and has collaborated with the Empire Brass on other albums. They perform together seamlessly.

The music chosen for the album are mostly transcription and represent some of Bach's finest music. Some pieces such as "Sleepers, Wake," "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring" and "Sheep May Safely Graze" will be more familiar, but all are equally beautiful. The Sinfonia on Track 8 spotlights the organ with Empire Brass providing color. The disc concludes with a glorious account of "A Mighty Fortress Is Our God" albeit not with the melody of the familiar hymn the predominant musical element.

The organ and brass are recorded vividly. The entire program is a work of stellar beauty. There is no small ensemble that is more inspiring than brass and organ. Few recordings of such are likely to give more pleasure to musician and non-musician alike than this album. Very highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 23, 2015
Great transcriptions of Bach's finest works. The combination of Brass and Organ is perfection for my ears. There are some organ solos interspersed with the brass combos but these organ interludes are not of the brain crushing kind that Bach can inflict on us mere humans!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 9, 2015
Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 27, 2014
I had this cd when I was younger bur at some point it disappeared. I have looked for another copy for years, finally finding it here. Excellent cd in great condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 7, 2016
Wonderful selection and musicianship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 7, 2013
Great recording quality. Superb playing and Bach is best. Nowhere are the dynamics strained or overblown lovely listening Brass and Organ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 29, 2015
Wonderful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2007
I spent a looooooooong time hunting the "perfect" recordings of "Jesu..." and "Sinfonia" for our wedding. I knew just what I wanted but I had NO IDEA there were so many different (and substandard!) versions of these songs available. THIS one was EXACTLY it. The horns are simply fantastic. If you're a musician, you'll love it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 20, 2005
If you think of Bach as a dry-as-dust, longhair composer you should stay away from this album, for it will prove you wrong, time and time and time again. On the contrary, this is one of the most exciting recordings around, featuring matchless performances by the superlative Empire Brass (my favorite brass group) and the talented Douglas Major playing the great Aeolian-Skinner organ of the Washington Cathedral (in D.C.) in some of the best-loved works of the old master, Johann Sebastian Bach.

But unfortunately this disk seems not to be in EMI's (Angel's) current catalog, so if you want to enjoy it, you'll probably have to try to track down a used copy. If you like Bach and brass and organ as much as I, you'll find it worth the effort. And we may hope that it will be reissued again soon.

In general, the music here is lively, tuneful, and joyous in character, starting from the very first selection, a fully satisfying transcription of the well-known "Jauchzet, frohlocket" (Exult, rejoice) from the Christmas Oratorio. But there are a few more somber pieces, such as the chorales "Christ lag in Todesbanden," (Christ lay in the bonds of death) and "O Haupt voll Blut und Wunden," (O bloody and wounded head).

The music features basically three kind of excerpts from Bach's cantatas: choral preludes, chorales, and sinfonia. The choral preludes were written as organ introductions to the sung chorales (here "sung" by the brass quintet alone); the sinfonias were instrumental interludes in the cantatas. Most of the choral preludes here are played by the brass with the organ, though there are a few played by the organ alone. This combination of performances by the brass alone, the organ alone, and the two together offers delicious variety.

As a glance at the program will show, most of the big favorites in this genre are included, the best known being titled in English, as "Sleepers, Wake," "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring," and "Sheep May Safely Graze." The others are titled in Latin ("In Dulci Jubilo") or, mostly, German ("Nun danket Alle Gott," [Now let all thank God], "Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern," [How beautifully the morning star shines], and "Wir eilen mit schwachen, doch emsigen Schritten" [We hasten with feeble, but eager footsteps].

It is the last-mentioned piece that suggested the title of this review, for in interpreting the text Bach and the performing artists give us such a rhythmic and lively bit of music that I find it hard to sit still while listening. This piece rocks!

The recording is excellent in all respects: the balance between organ and brass is right, the sound quality is all you could want, and the acoustics of the Washington Cathedral provide about the right amount of reverberation. (You will, by the way, hear the brass players taking breaths at several points, especially in the chorales.

The sound of the Empire Brass seems uniquely fine to me; though there are several other excellent brass groups around, this one I can usually recognize almost immediately because of the quality of their sound. And the 10,650-pipe cathedral organ presents under Douglas Major's fingers all you could wish for.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
If you think of Bach as a dry-as-dust, longhair composer you should stay away from this album, for it will prove you wrong, time and time and time again. On the contrary, this is one of the most exciting recordings around, featuring matchless performances by the superlative Empire Brass (my favorite brass group) and the talented Douglas Major playing the great Aeolian-Skinner organ of the Washington Cathedral (in D.C.) in some of the best-loved works of the old master, Johann Sebastian Bach.

But unfortunately this disk seems not to be in EMI's (Angel's) current catalog, so if you want to enjoy it, you'll probably have to try to track down a used copy. If you like Bach and brass and organ as much as I, you'll find it worth the effort. And we may hope that it will be reissued again soon.

In general, the music here is lively, tuneful, and joyous in character, starting from the very first selection, a fully satisfying transcription of the well-known "Jauchzet, frohlocket" (Exult, rejoice) from the Christmas Oratorio. But there are a few more somber pieces, such as the chorales "Christ lag in Todesbanden," (Christ lay in the bonds of death) and "O Haupt voll Blut und Wunden," (O bloody and wounded head).

The music features basically three kind of excerpts from Bach's cantatas: choral preludes, chorales, and sinfonia. The choral preludes were written as organ introductions to the sung chorales (here "sung" by the brass quintet alone); the sinfonias were instrumental interludes in the cantatas. Most of the choral preludes here are played by the brass with the organ, though there are a few played by the organ alone. This combination of performances by the brass alone, the organ alone, and the two together offers delicious variety.

As a glance at the program will show, most of the big favorites in this genre are included, the best known being titled in English, as "Sleepers, Wake," "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring," and "Sheep May Safely Graze." The others are titled in Latin ("In Dulci Jubilo") or, mostly, German ("Nun danket Alle Gott," [Now let all thank God], "Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern," [How beautifully the morning star shines], and "Wir eilen mit schwachen, doch emsigen Schritten" [We hasten with feeble, but eager footsteps].

It is the last-mentioned piece that suggested the title of this review, for in interpreting the text Bach and the performing artists give us such a rhythmic and lively bit of music that I find it hard to sit still while listening. This piece rocks!

The recording is excellent in all respects: the balance between organ and brass is right, the sound quality is all you could want, and the acoustics of the Washington Cathedral provide about the right amount of reverberation. (You will, by the way, hear the brass players taking breaths at several points, especially in the chorales.

The sound of the Empire Brass seems uniquely fine to me; though there are several other excellent brass groups around, this one I can usually recognize almost immediately because of the quality of their sound. And the 10,650-pipe cathedral organ presents under Douglas Major's fingers all you could wish for.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here