Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now Start your Baby Registry



on December 27, 2015
The quality of this train set is decent. The EZ track is not easy to put together and short circuits easily. The train set actual did not function on the included track and or power supply for us at all. However we did get this train to run on Atlas code 80 n-scale track layout, which is the main track we are going to run the train on anyways.

The coupling of the train and cars are a little problematic. We had to sort of force the cars together until we heard a snap. It seems like something that could break easily.

It a decent train set this for the train and 3 cars itself. However I would suggest not using the EZ track at all. I recommend using something like Atlas code 80 track instead. Atlas track is made with better quality and craftsmanship than the cheaply made EZ Track.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 29, 2015
Overall the engine, cars and track are a good entry-level system. My main area of concern is the actual ability to couple the cars to the engine. Without a "rerailer" this is virtually impossible (especially with only curved track sections). The track assembles easily, but in some instances needs to be tweeked a bit at the connections, or one side of the rail rides higher than the other which will with out a doubt throw your train off the track.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 19, 2014
Everything came out well as I wanted. The Bachmann Santa Fe F7 looks more prototypical than ever! The wait was so worth it! I truly recommend this to everybody, from beginners to die-hard Santa Fe railfans. You can either use the set as an expansion for another layout or you can set it up under the Christmas tree. I understand there are some people who know that during its corporate existence the Santa Fe never assigned red "warbonnets" to freight service until the 90's, and F7's ran for the company until around the mid-70's, so you may use this set however you like. Add some straight tracks, some turn outs, bumpers, another locomotive (Bachmann's Santa Fe GP40 recommended), a couple more freight cars (such as Bachmann's Santa Fe 50 Ft. mechanical reefer) and passenger cars for the F7, as well as buildings and scenery so you can create your own little Santa Fe railroad.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2016
I love this train, it's the perfect price and size if your limited for space. You can build a nice layout without breaking the bank too. A great starter kit with everything you need to have a functioning train.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 22, 2013
Great equipment to get started with. Highly recommend getting the Track Pack in addition to your train set to create a nice layout.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 15, 2014
Nice train set!! Good locomotive and cars. Ordered straight tracks to expand and works well. My 3rd Bachmann n scale train set, began with the fine Royal Blue then the powerhouse Thunder Valley and now the fast Super Chief!!! At fair prices from Amazon!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 26, 2014
very nice /easy train to enjoy..For everyone out there that who wants to start a hobby in Model Trains..you cant go wrong with Bachmann Trains..Very detailed..easy to install the track..and great customer support .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 4, 2013
This is not the black one it is silver and red. Perfect as this is the one I wanted. It was shipped and delivered in two days . I was surprised to see it arrive 1 day earlier than they said. It is a beautiful set we did order more track that is in a desperate delivery.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 16, 2016
I love this train set a little tricky to connect the tracks the truck as of the end of the season don't disconnect the tracks store them as a complete circular unit
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 11, 2013
This is a nice train set. Runs well right out of the box and with the purchase of a few more pieces of track will make a nice addition to my layout. You do get more track and more cars with the Bachmann Explorer set (which I also own and run) but at less than half the price this is a very nice set. The extra couplers that came with mine are welcome as well. Cant wait to get to the hobby store and get more track to lay it out the way I have planned.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse