Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 51 reviews
on December 7, 2015
 This is a great N scale set for those who want a large steam locomotive. The packaging was great, the whole thing held together well during shipping. The included EZ-Track was fairly simple to assemble, a few miss alignments but that's going to happen with any track. The rolling stock looks decent and rolls well. The locomotive itself is difficult to get on the track, but that's expected given that it's a 4-8-4. Once it was set up and rolling, it ran smooth and without issue.

Everything is detailed, but not crazy detailed. That's the thing with Bachmann, most of the sets are good and everything works, but you're not going to lose yourself in the details. I think with a little weathering the locomotive and tender will look much more "real", along with the rolling stock.

I think a lot of the issues people experience are from poor setup and tracking issues. If the front axle is not on the track (which is hard to tell as it's mostly hidden), it will derail a lot. If the rear isn't on the track (again, hard to see), it will derail. If the tender isn't on the track, it will derail. There's a lot of alignment needed to get the locomotive on the track and running right, but once that's done it runs great.

Overall it's a solid set, and for the price you can't really beat it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2013
I've had this train set for about 2 weeks now and this was just what I wanted and expected. We have limited space this year for a big holiday train layout, and our tree and train set needs to be on the dining room table (very active 1 yr old!). The trains have excellent detail, and the transformer quality exceeded my expectations. I do not have any problems with the locomotive as other reviewers have noted. Even at high speed the entire set of cars does not derail, just cruises right along. I added six lengths of straight track to expand what came in the box to beef up the distance a bit. The only tricky things about these trains are that the track metal slide connectors are a little challenging to slide together, and the train couplers require a set of spring closing hobby tweezers (what I used) or some small needle nosed pliers to connect. For whatever reason they don't simply clip together like HO scale trains do. Either way, these concerns are minor, and it doesn't turn me off in the least. Fun train set!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
An excellent train set, very well detailed and at a reasonable price. Have had it about a month and have already put a few miles on it. Assembling the E-Z track is a little tricky, but it's very stable, doesn't come apart and looks good. When everything is in place, the locomotive is smooth running. I've added the N scale track pack and currently have two concentric ovals connected by the four switches from the track pack. So the 4-8-4 locomotive has to run over the swiches. Overall, a nice train, but a few problems, one pretty serious.
The locomotive front four wheel pilot truck assembly is very loose and floppy and doesn't stay on track very well, especially thru the switches. The two axles have far too much play. Seems like the whole assembly needs some reengineering.
Another problem is the couplers. The instructions state: "To couple the cars, gently push them together,.. The couplers will engage automatically." Not true, they don't engage. You must pinch them together with a long tweezers or pliers. And they come apart very easily. The supplied rapido couplers aren't much, if any, better.
Another problem is the poor quality of the wire connectors and plugs. They are difficult to keep in place and difficult to make a good electrical contact. And they should be marked or color coded to show polarity. I've painted a white dot on each plug to keep the switches and trains going in the right direction.
Overall, this is a very nice train. If you have only a straight oval with no switches, the pilot truck assembly problem shouldn't be much trouble. This is my first set and it's a great starter set.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
Love my new train:) A few tips though: 1. Check that the track sections are correctly joined. The cars are very light, and derail easily if the joints are not smooth. 2. The locomotive was a bit jerky when first started, but is breaking in nicely and getting smoother with age. 3. It is not a racing train. If you go too fast it easily comes off the track.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2015
Another great product from Buchmann. I purchased this set to restart my hobby interest in railroading but in N gauge. Great little set fun to use and very entertaining. Excellent service fast shipping and was well packaged. Would recommend and buy again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2014
A very nice trainset with a good selection of period rolling stock to match perhapps one of the very best operating 4-8-4 steam loco's built by any model train maker. Price is very good for what all comes with the package.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2012
This is a great starter kit and very good value. With light adult supervision the tracks are easy to assemble even for my 4 year old grandson. However, I used my old transformer because I don't like the reverse polarity switch on the new transformer as I think that my grandson could "fry" the engine if he reversed the switch at high speed.
The steam engine was derailing on my train layout and I have asked Bachmann Trains to replace it for a diesel engine. After about six weeks I received a replacement.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2016
my husband loved this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2011
This is a fine little train, beautifully detailed and fun to watch. Putting the track together requires a firm, careful touch but is not difficult. The only problem I had was in getting the cars to join together but I soon learned that a firm push, holding both of them on the track, would do the trick. Otherwise it is quite easy to assemble and a joy to own.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2014
Grandsons were thrilled to receive this set!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse