Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on September 16, 2017
I bought this as a started set because I needed the track. I have a few engines and no way to run them. This set went together and was running in no time. It came with instructions but I never opened them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 26, 2013
This is a very we'll made train set. Small scale but works very well. Not for very young but my 11 year old grandson can assemble and operate it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 1, 2015
Packaging etc was good. The problem starts when you unwrap and put it together. Many of the rail joiners were not properly fitted so that all of the track segments would go together easy it's suppose to be E-Z track. Then after that many of the sections would not conduct elect. properly so, i had to use pliers to tighten many of the rail joiners so smooth operation could be attained. The engine runs fine but, the headlight(led), won't put out enough light to run in the dark and all of the couplers on every car included are junk. They wont stay coupled without lifting each car up off track and incerting into the next one. Totally unacceptable and I'll scratch Bachman off my list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 19, 2017
Very disappointed with the arrival of the product. The couplers don't connect to each other, so they send replacements in the box - but the replacements are not N scale, so the cars are an unrealistic distance apart and it looks so hoky. It was disappointing that the first thing you need to do upon opening the package is to get out a screwdriver and make repairs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 20, 2017
Was not what I expected a very small circle. Having bought a few trains in My lifetime have never got one that was just a little circle but it is ready to run. Would have liked more track to get more enjoyment from it. But will have too spend more money đź’µ to get the fun out of it but that was My plan anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 3, 2014
I have been messing around with toy trains since i was 4, and im now in my mid thirties. I read some of the posts on these train sets and i was a bit concerned when i purchased, but knowing the simpliciy of the build i was not too concerned.

Out of the box, everything was great. Packaged well, seperated well, and the documentation was what i expected, not that i read it. The New EZ track has its advantages, such as being able to run this on a carpet without having lint buildup on the wheels and trucks like on the open track styles. A distinct disadvantage is the incompatability with existing track types out of the box. It is possible, especially if you are handy with a saw and can cut wedges to gently ease the track down from the "fake trackbed" to the layout level like i did.

Installation was easy, just like all other train sets that are out there. Took me about 20 minutes at a moderate pace. The speed controller uses a 1/4 inch jack to power the rails and a "wall wart" (on wall transformer) style power pack instead of placing the transformer in the control module. These made this a easy install to test it out on the kitchen table.

As far as operation goes, i had no problems getting it on the track or getting it to function properly, without any real issues. I will say this. i have about 3 hours of operation on it at about 50 percent power. The Manual does state that these engines require a break in period before you can expect top performance, and i would imagine, the best longevity. Mine seemed like it functioned without strain after 20 minutes of continous run in one direction, and then again in reverse.

I would have to say, if you slow down and come to a stop before changing direction, operate at a moderate speed (not fully open), and dont "rev" the engine speed like a motorcycle, i would assume one would have years of fun with this model.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 23, 2016
Great N-Gauge train set! Assembly is easy and well thought out. Diesel engine starts smoothly and has no dead spots in the commutator. A nice train set for under the small Christmas Tree this year. Nicely constructed and close-up images with a camera, it looks like the real thing. Very good detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 25, 2013
I wanted a train set so I bought this one because I thought it might be fun. I was totally right. This little cars are colorful and cool looking. You will need extra track because it doesn't really come with a lot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 16, 2017
very fun train
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2016
couplers are very bad quality, they come off without touching them ! other than this the set is fine for me as a new rail roader
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse