Industrial Deals Beauty Silent Corner STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Doppler $139.99 All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis dm3 Shop Now toystl17_gno_dm3



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 79 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 86 reviews
on December 21, 2016
This kit contains everything you need for a very basic setup. It's pretty bare-bones but it doesn't sell itself as anything more than that. You get 1 locomotive, three rolling stock (cars to follow the locomotive), 12 pieces of track that make a circle, one controller, and one AC adapter. $70 seems like a pretty good value for this.

However the set cuts some corners in some pretty upsetting ways. The controller in the kit cannot power remote turnouts. The couplers LOOK like the couplers from other Bachmann products, but they aren't; these couplers lack magnets and perform really poorly. Due to this frustrating to get the components of the train to link together. You need to spend an additional $20 for a controller that is compatible with turnouts.

I don't recommend this kit for these reasons.

That said, the track is the same as normal Bachman track and the locomotive is pretty nice for the price. It seems identical to the same make and model sold separately, except the cheaper couplers. These couplers are even called "dummy couplers" in the instruction manual. That's... insulting. Even Bachmann admits how crappy the couplers are.

Let's look at how expensive it would be if you were to buy these components separately:
Bachmann GP40 N Scale: $40
2x Bachman N Scale 11.25" radius curved track: $10 x 2 = $20
AC adapter + Controller: $70 on Amazon but $20 on Ebay (multiple listings): $20
1 Pack of Bachmann Rolling stock from their website (includes 3 freight + 1 caboose): $20

So for $100 instead of $70 you can have all these components with an extra freight car, a remote compatible with turnouts, and working couplers instead of the cheap-O ones included here.
Better deal on the whole. You won't have to spend $20 for a pack of couplers and $20 for a better controller.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2016
Put train on my track, the engine lit and did not run, tried my other transformer thinking it was the transformer but the same thing happened. The transformer that came with it was inferior quality. I did not want to wait for a replacement from Amazon so went to a local Hobby store and purchased the exact same Thunder Valley Bachmann set. It was $10 more.

Not only did the engine work, but the transformer with the set from the Hobby store (which again was the exact same Bachmann Thunder Valley set in the same box) was the same quality as the transformer I have on my other set and the whole system worked like a charm. It was very clear as soon as I opened the box that there was a much higher quality transformer included with the set from the Hobby store.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2015
Unfortunately, the electric train engine does not work. The electrical connection between the wheels & the motor is faulty. The one train locomotive engine is the only item which needs to be replaced. Please email me & advise what we should do.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2017
This is a great set to get yourself started in the world of miniature train sets. It comes with an engine and 3 cars. The track included in this kit is the "EZ Track" system which comes only curved track. I have since purchased additional straight and curved pieces to expand my track as well as additional cars. There are plenty of videos on YT with Bachman EZ track layouts, wiring, and modeling. Note that this kit is the "analog" system and not the "DCC". For other newbies like me you have probably figured out that this is an expensive hobby. The cheapest engines are around $45, the cheapest cars range from $17 to $27, and then additional track and accessories. Not sure how far I will take it but it has been fun so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2013
This is a very we'll made train set. Small scale but works very well. Not for very young but my 11 year old grandson can assemble and operate it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2015
Packaging etc was good. The problem starts when you unwrap and put it together. Many of the rail joiners were not properly fitted so that all of the track segments would go together easy it's suppose to be E-Z track. Then after that many of the sections would not conduct elect. properly so, i had to use pliers to tighten many of the rail joiners so smooth operation could be attained. The engine runs fine but, the headlight(led), won't put out enough light to run in the dark and all of the couplers on every car included are junk. They wont stay coupled without lifting each car up off track and incerting into the next one. Totally unacceptable and I'll scratch Bachman off my list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2015
2 stars only because it is a nice-looking set of cars and engine. Other than that, mine made about a half dozen laps around the track, stuttered and died. No amount of disconnecting, reconnecting, track checking, wheel placing or any other type of troubleshooting would bring it back to life. Pretty disappointing for my first new train set since I was a kid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2017
Very disappointed with the arrival of the product. The couplers don't connect to each other, so they send replacements in the box - but the replacements are not N scale, so the cars are an unrealistic distance apart and it looks so hoky. It was disappointing that the first thing you need to do upon opening the package is to get out a screwdriver and make repairs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2016
Let me preface by saying that N-Gauge trains are quite delicate and need to be handled with care. Having said that this particular set has a design flaw that will stop you in your tracks--The GP 40 Diesel Locomotive couplers have a "snap fit" type cover that holds the actual coupler in place. The rest of the included cars use screws and have replacement couplers. But because of the locomotive's coupler design, the coupler cover "pops off", which in turn allows the coupler to fall out. This will happen under normal use, i.e just while pulling the three included cars around the track. I have included pictures of my attempt to keep the coupler cover attached, but in the end the coupler still fell out from the cover.
Soooo, long story short: Because of this design flaw the engine is very soon rendered useless. Buy only if you also buy several other locomotives to replace the included one that will break.
PROS:
1) Nice details (on par with Lionel O Gauge), and other than the explanation above, good build quality
2) E-Z track is actually easy-- a 6 year old can figure it out.

CONS:
1) No straight track pieces included in this set--all you can build is a perfect circle track
2) Aforementioned coupler system on locomotive is a design flaw
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2017
Was not what I expected a very small circle. Having bought a few trains in My lifetime have never got one that was just a little circle but it is ready to run. Would have liked more track to get more enjoyment from it. But will have too spend more money đź’µ to get the fun out of it but that was My plan anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse