Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Holiday Gift Picks Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Presto! Laundry Gifts for Him Get up to $100 back on House Cleaning services TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Sting Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 62 reviews(verified purchases). Show all reviews
on January 26, 2011
My eleven yr old nephew was thrilled to get what he wanted-a train! He was able to quickly assemble the train to Mom's pleasant surprise. He does state that the train will stop
1/10 of the time for unknown reasons. It must be noted that the Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set is still highly valued a month after he rec'd it for his Christmas gift.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
I have been messing around with toy trains since i was 4, and im now in my mid thirties. I read some of the posts on these train sets and i was a bit concerned when i purchased, but knowing the simpliciy of the build i was not too concerned.

Out of the box, everything was great. Packaged well, seperated well, and the documentation was what i expected, not that i read it. The New EZ track has its advantages, such as being able to run this on a carpet without having lint buildup on the wheels and trucks like on the open track styles. A distinct disadvantage is the incompatability with existing track types out of the box. It is possible, especially if you are handy with a saw and can cut wedges to gently ease the track down from the "fake trackbed" to the layout level like i did.

Installation was easy, just like all other train sets that are out there. Took me about 20 minutes at a moderate pace. The speed controller uses a 1/4 inch jack to power the rails and a "wall wart" (on wall transformer) style power pack instead of placing the transformer in the control module. These made this a easy install to test it out on the kitchen table.

As far as operation goes, i had no problems getting it on the track or getting it to function properly, without any real issues. I will say this. i have about 3 hours of operation on it at about 50 percent power. The Manual does state that these engines require a break in period before you can expect top performance, and i would imagine, the best longevity. Mine seemed like it functioned without strain after 20 minutes of continous run in one direction, and then again in reverse.

I would have to say, if you slow down and come to a stop before changing direction, operate at a moderate speed (not fully open), and dont "rev" the engine speed like a motorcycle, i would assume one would have years of fun with this model.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
I, a retired woman, have enjoyed my train set, although I had to figure out some things at first, being totally unfamiliar with model trains. Getting the cars on the track was a touchy task at first, but I kept taking "patience" breaks and finally nailed the knack. I had to use a pair of tweezers to get two cars to couple, but it worked. Patience is required. This is good practice for when I want to expand this new-found hobby. I've always wanted trains, and now I have them. N-scale is a little pesky to work with, since the cars are small, but I like the fact that they take up so much less room than bigger units. More women should take up this hobby -- it's not just for kids and old men!
44 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2013
This is a very we'll made train set. Small scale but works very well. Not for very young but my 11 year old grandson can assemble and operate it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2008
Good price and buy, they are under our Christmas tree and the grand kids got a big kick out of them. Will shop again.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
If you are gifting this for a child, be prepared for them to run the train in circles a few times before they put it away and fire up the computer... UNLESS you are really prepared to take on the task of providing this as a start toward a hands-on hobby the old fashioned way. That means getting a permanent or temporary use train layout board, and then planning the track route, the scenery, buildings, vehicles, people and all the other imagination focused ideas from plan to completion to make this a long lasting project that does not need to have a video display to use or operate.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2016
Great N-Gauge train set! Assembly is easy and well thought out. Diesel engine starts smoothly and has no dead spots in the commutator. A nice train set for under the small Christmas Tree this year. Nicely constructed and close-up images with a camera, it looks like the real thing. Very good detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2016
Put train on my track, the engine lit and did not run, tried my other transformer thinking it was the transformer but the same thing happened. The transformer that came with it was inferior quality. I did not want to wait for a replacement from Amazon so went to a local Hobby store and purchased the exact same Thunder Valley Bachmann set. It was $10 more.

Not only did the engine work, but the transformer with the set from the Hobby store (which again was the exact same Bachmann Thunder Valley set in the same box) was the same quality as the transformer I have on my other set and the whole system worked like a charm. It was very clear as soon as I opened the box that there was a much higher quality transformer included with the set from the Hobby store.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2015
2 stars only because it is a nice-looking set of cars and engine. Other than that, mine made about a half dozen laps around the track, stuttered and died. No amount of disconnecting, reconnecting, track checking, wheel placing or any other type of troubleshooting would bring it back to life. Pretty disappointing for my first new train set since I was a kid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2015
Unfortunately, the electric train engine does not work. The electrical connection between the wheels & the motor is faulty. The one train locomotive engine is the only item which needs to be replaced. Please email me & advise what we should do.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here