Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Back to the Future: 25th Anniversary Trilogy [Blu-ray]
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lindsey Stirling Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$32.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 8, 2013
I won't review or ramble on about the movies, it has been almost 30 years since BTTF 1, and most know what these three movies are about.

I will rave, however, about the quality of the Blu Ray transfer of the movie - in Blu Ray, it is crystal clear - I was floored by how crisp, clear and gorgeous the Blu Ray transfer was. I viewed it on a 65" Panasonic VT60 Plasma, and it was beautiful. Not all Blu Ray transfers of older movies fare as well. What is also nice is the movie is 1:85:1 Anamorphic Widescreen which means you get to view it full screen - no "watchband" like 2:35:1 here... that is always nice.

What is a bonus is that after almost 30 years, I STILL enjoy these movies. And more importantly, so do my 13 year old boys - which says a lot about how well done these were - it is very entertaining. I saw the original first movie in the theaters when it first came out, and I am still entertained from beginning to end.

So here we have a timeless set of movies which is still entertaining today, and one where the Blu Ray transfer allows you to watch it in crystal clear HD. Awesome.

5 stars all the way!!!

Thanks for reading.
88 comments| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2008
This 2005 release, "Lowest Price Ever" on the front package contains the corrected Widescreen versions of Part II and Part III. The original release in 2002 with an oval sticker on the package contains the defective versions of Part II and Part III.

The framing was so bad on Part II and III, you actually missed visual jokes! In Part II when Marty sizes the jacket in the future, the framing cut off Marty's hand when he presses the button to size the jacket. In Part III, when Marty and Doc are in the Drive-In to leave for 1885, Doc makes the joke about Marty's tennis shoes because the boots don't fit, but the framing cut off Marty's feet. When Doc tries alcohol in the Delorean and blows the fuel injection manifold, the majority of the explosion is cut out of the frame.

Part II DVD will have the marking, "V2" on the outer edge next to the copyright. Part III DVD does not have any new markings, but the Widescreen framing has been corrected in this 2005 re-release.
1818 comments| 298 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2015
Don't listen to any of these reviews prior to Oct 20th. The item hasn't been released yet. How can there be a 1 star review for something that doesn't exist yet?? Amazon needs to do something about these loons. Ignore my 5 star rating as well.. (even though we all know it's going to be awesome)
1818 comments| 167 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
This is a very shameful cash grab by Universal, they have not upgraded the picture quality or audio from the 25th Anniversary set, all they have done is repackage the 25th anniversary and add a bonus disc of new content of which half of it is not even in HD but 480i standard definition. They have been very cunning here though, as I was one of the people apprehensive about buying this again. But then I saw they were releasing in digibook packaging and it was at a lower price to the flux capicitor set. Being a fan of digibooks and sucker I was I purchased it as I didn't see review of the set until it was too late. Basically this is not a digibook in the traditional sense i.e a 32 or 64 page book with behind the scenes info but essentially a bunch of cardboard pages where the sleeves of each page act as pocket pouches for holding the discs which you can remove easily. Previous extras are spread across the first 3 discs along with the films, the new bonus disc is a hit and miss affair with 7 new extras of which 3 are 1080p Full HD 1 1080i and the other 2 in 480i SD. They are as follows 2015 message from Doc Brown & new short in 1080p which is basically what he said at the end of the last movie and the new short film is somewhat pointless and boring 2015 commercials 1080p for Jaws 19 & Hoverboard, Outatime: Restoring the Delorean in 1080i which is only 1 of 2 worthy new extras. The other 2 being in 480i SD 2 episodes from the animated show couldn't they just upgraded this? being this is bluray & the 9 part Looking Back to the future from 2009 also SD when it should have been HD also portions of this doc just repeat what was said in previous 6 part doc. It does have nice cover art of all the films on the discs though. Now living in the UK I purchased the UK exclusive collectors tin 25th anniversary which in addition to the blurays had lots of memorabilia like the Grays sports Almanac, Lenticular McFly photo and more which was much better than this set. So I feel like a sucker for buying this again and won't be getting it again which they will probably release when it is 40 or 50 years. So if you have previous set this is not worth your time or money.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2002
Great Scott! Step aside Yoda. Move over Captain Kirk. The greatest sci-fi saga is finally available on DVD. The trilogy is long overdue in the new format, but definitely worth the wait. A bonus to the long hiatus will be the extras that have become standard on all new releases.
The plot for the trilogy seems complicated at face value as teenage Marty (Fox) and his unlikely best friend Doc Brown (Lloyd) travel back and forth through time altering the past, present, or future at every pitstop. However, when you watch the films, the story is not complicated at all. The script is tightly woven, the characters are memorable, and the chemistry between the major players (Fox, Lloyd, Thompson, Steenburgen, Glover, and Wilson) is unrivaled.
The simple moral of the story is "Life is what you make of it."
Going against the grain, I have to admit that the second feature was my favorite of the three. This is primarily due to portions where Marty battles his way through scenes in the first film without being seen by his other self or his parents.....similar camera tricks were seen a few years later in Zemekis's other great film "Forrest Gump". I was also amazed at the gratuitous and shameless product placement in the second film, which even made "Seinfeld" seem subtle.
One thing I've got my fingers crossed for on the extras would be the scenes with the original Marty as played by Erick Stoltz. Allegedly, three weeks of filming occurred before he was switched out with Micheal J. Fox.
33 comments| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2002
Just wanted to let people know that in the widescreen edition, a mistake was made on the second and third discs--instead of using actual widescreen footage, someone just put black bars on the top and bottom of the fullscreen pan-and-scan version, so you get even *less* picture with the widescreen version. This error was not noticed until it was too late, although Universal Studios is planning to correct this in a future version of the dvd set, and people who bought the original set will be able to get a free trade-in. Here's the email they've been sending to people who asked about this:
"Thank you for your email. Universal Studios will exchange Back to the Future parts 2 and 3 for copies with the updated framing in late February 2003. You may send the DVDs back now or wait until February. Please send Back to the Future disks 2 and 3, without the case, and a letter with the following information: Name, Full Mailing Address, Daytime Phone Number, Reason for Return and Return Address. Send to:
Back to the Future DVD Returns
PO Box 224468
Dallas, Texas 75260
Thank you,
Universal Studios Customer Service"
2727 comments| 609 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
I own the previous blu-ray collection relased in 2010. These 30th Anniversary discs are identical to the 25th Anniversary Collection in every way. The actual discs are silver and blue and even have the year 2010 printed on them. These have not been given any new film transfers. The very few extras added to the new bonus disc in 2015 aren't essential and do not warrant a re-purchase unless you are an absolute completist and must have the new cover art. This was only released to correspond with and capitalize on the date of October 21st, 2015. I love the trilogy so I can can't give less than 5 stars in any configuration. Only buy this if you've never owned the 25th anniversary edition.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2014
5 star movies. Good packaging. Extra features. Horrible preview system for any blu-ray player connected to the internet. If not connected to the internet the movie boots to menu. If the player is connected to the internet it automatically downloads previews. Return to menu, skip and fast forward are disabled. You are forced to watch previews as they download with no way to stop them. I finally had to disconnect the internet AND power off the player to make it stop downloading previews. They do this to make sure you always get current previews. I hope other companies don't pick up on this practice. Minus 2 stars for this practice.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2015
Universal are at it again releasing this back to the future series on Blu-ray once again
advertising it as 30th Anniversary this time around
the HD transfers for this new 30th Anniversary are the same as the 25th Anniversary transfers
and so is the sound quality which is the same 5.1 Master audio mix
I mean you would think that for a new 30th anniversary the sound quality would be boosted to a new 6.1 or 7.1 mix
just like Lucas did for his Star wars Blu-ray which is 6.1 master audio mix for all 6 episodes
Universal did it for Jaws and added a 7.1 master audio mix for the Blu-ray version
which sounds incredible by the way
but Universal did not bother making that much effort with the back to future series
most of the content on this new 30th anniversary edition is from the 25th Anniversary edition, nearly all of it actually
the setup for the extras is the exact same way as the 25th Anniversary edition
Disc 1 has the feature film plus the Tales from the Future featurettes
plus the archive featurettes from the special edition dvd versions, plus the Deleted scenes, outtakes etc
every extra from the 25th anniversary has been carried over
Disc 2 & 3 have the exact same setup
Disc 4 is the Bonus Disc with the new retrospective Documentary
which is not new at all, apparently this retrospective Doco called
LOOKING BACK TO THE FUTURE was filmed back in 2009 so it's Definitely not new
it must've been a TV broadcast special or somethin'
obviously universal felt the need to add something as a new extra for their 30th anniversary release
there's a featurette on restoring the Delorean called OUTTATIME again not a new featurette
it was filmed back in 2012
DOC BROWN SAVES THE WORLD which Christopher Lloyd talks about the Gadgets
from the series and explains why they don't exist in 2015, pointless waste of time featurette I think
and you get 2 episodes from the back to the future Animated series
that's about it for this Bonus Disc

the U.S. 30th Blu-ray version is foldout case Digi-pak, the U.K. version is a thick Blu-ray case with Disc trays inside it
both versions are all regions so all you have to do is choose which packaging you like best
if you have the 25th anniversary Blu-ray trilogy, not sure if this new 30th anniversary is worth buying
the only Difference is the Bonus Disc with the LOOKING BACK TO THE FUTURE TV special
2-3stars for this new 30th Anniversary Blu-ray, if your not fussy about the 4th Disc
just keep your 25th Anniversary Blu-ray edition of the series
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2002
Well, after too much Internet gossip and anticipation, we can finally enjoy the DVD version of this great trilogy. Actually, nothing needs to be said about the story or the fantastic crew that made it happen, everybody knows it (and if not, you're a caveman amongst other cavemen...or cave-women...). The DVDs have many extras you'll enjoy and then some...
Probably the most-talked about issue of this release is the product's interpretation of the soft matted original cut. If you dig deep enough in Internet sources, you'll read a mixture of positive and negative responses. Fact is, on this 1.85:1 version, you will see less picture information in height, and more in width than the 4:3 version. This movie was shot in soft-matted format, which basically means that the original prints were in a kind of '4:3' format, where in the upper and lower regions there is information that needs to be covered (the microfone syndrome...), and was not intended to be part of the screening of the film. This is done in theaters, and again with every video/ld/dvd release. This in contrast to 2.35:1 movies, or otherwise matted films and formats, in which case the widescreen format is 'directly' converted to DVD, and will give a much more complete film than the 4:3 viewing. But that's not the case here.
What all this means is that with the Back To The Future DVDs, a new matting has been applied that has converted the original soft-matted material to a new 1.85:1 format. This means that, like I stated earlier, when you compare the 4:3 VHS (that everybody knows) to this release, the 4:3 has some extra film top and bottom, and this DVD has some extra film left and right. This is what the 'confusion' on the Internet is all about. Some people, rightfully, indicate that they are missing peaces of the film (Marty's sci-fi jacked is f.i. not fully displayed in the DVD whereas it was on ld and VHS), but other information is added on the DVD (the hard matted special effects sequences). Thus, some people are inclined to say that this is not the original movie version. Actually, being a soft matted presentation in theaters in the mid '80's and later, it probably differed each time it was presented, with a different projector setting each time, resulting in a different matting and screening each time. This DVD version is just another interpretation of matting. And everybody has something to say about this one!
To make a long story short, please enjoy this classic and its many extra features, with or without the knowledge that in every different media format, there is a different viewing of this wonderful peace of family entertainment.
0Comment| 208 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse