Industrial Deals Beauty Silent Corner STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 13 reviews
on May 29, 2012
This book offered both exciting new information on my favorite rock stars as well as a perfectly intriguing narrative from the writer's point of view. It's rare to have a rock n' roll book these days with a different level OF information and a story told from someone who actually was part of the scene. I would suggest this book as a summer read, a book for a music obsessed person and a true history on some of the biggest legends we all think we know everything about. I was pleasantly surprised at how much more there was to know! A great read and highly suggested for any age!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2012
Very interesting and insightful book written as a novel by Debra Sharon Davis, who actually toured back stage with the Rolling Stones. Lots of fun and unknown stories and insider info that the author weaves throughout. This is a fascinating book for a book club to read as there are surprises and an interesting twist at the end coupled with the authors revealing perspective. She has a unique way of intertwining aspects of pop culture while humanizing the story and making the reader feel like they are getting to know unique aspects of the characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2012
BackStage Pass VIP is an exciting look into the greatest rock icons of our time. The author delivers a unique and detailed human portrait of John Lennon, George Harrison, Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Elvis, Buddy Holly -- surprisingly even a peak at Janis Joplin and Mamma Cass and more. It is also beautifully written and fun to read. I would recommend it to everyone from teens to baby boomers.
Great pick for book clubs!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2012
This book excites your interest from the beginning and maintains its appeal throughout. It is a fun and interesting read. Seen through the eyes of a fellow musician, it gives us an inside perspective on rock `n roll history and the personal side of the people who made it from Buddy Holly through Lennon and the Stones. Fun read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2012
Written by someone who was there, "BackStage Pass VIP" is an inside peek into the wild habits and antics of rock stars you may have thought you knew.

A fun read where you can experience the uninhibited lifestyles of some of the music icons of the 60's and 70's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2012
This book has a lot of stories that can be found in other biographies. I wasn't really impressed and maybe thats because I was looking for more on John Lennon and George Harrison.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2013
The rantings of a person who hates rock n roll, men and herself.
How did this woman dupe the people featured in this book into participating?
Do not bother!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2012
BACKSTAGE PASS VIP is a must-read! It's a true story that weaves in and out of the musicians' lives and it really does capture you with great reporting and storytelling. The book is filled with authentic details about these rock stars and their times. It's almost like you feel you're there, right inside the heads of these music icons, reliving the 1950's through the 1980's but with a wise twenty-first century viewpoint. It is exciting and has the ability to be a timeless classic. As a former editor and educator, with a love of pop culture, music and great fiction, I was blown away.

Debra Sharon Davis takes the genre to a new level with humor, empathy and a dynamic, new approach and bold voice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2012
Very interesting book! Many facts that I have never heard before. I recommend this for any music junkie out there
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here