Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
30
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$30.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 30 reviews
on December 29, 2013
Not bad at all. A nice blend of fiction with some history. By the middle of the book it was bard to put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
I couldn't put this book down. It tells the war story from a completely different angle "admin" - office, guard, and general duties required of int/logistics staff and interaction between "permanent" lifers and conscripts. Very very interesting and once again EXCELLENT reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
Very good read,could not put the book down until I found out how things turned out for Farnsworth,ended up feeling grateful l was out in the Bush away from lifers like bragg
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2013
this story is close to the truth. this stuff did happen to some people, it was also well written. One reason to try some more of his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
I, like the story's main character, was a company clerk in the U.S. Army in the period fondly remembered (NOT) a the Vietnam War. While I was a clerk in the 3/37th Armor in Germany, I had spent a couple years in Laos. The sense of the military life during those times, the descriptions of that part of the world, and, maybe most important, the "bad attitude" of a rational person caught in a truly irrational situation are totally accurate. This is a must read for anyone of my generation, true believers of the baby boomers who discovered the real truth about their government, corporate greed, and human nature in a part of the world that in many ways remains more real today than what surrounds them. The sounds, smells, and affects of that place never leave.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2013
You never know what people think or will do and in this book you get a look at what it takes to be someone that your not and try to get along with others that hate you!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2013
Excellent book I was in the 48th group 7th Bn & Dennis made it sound like it was real, good wrighting Dennis yes I would recommend this book, he put in all the BS that really happened
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2013
If the drugs did not get me , then some idiot officer would have gotten me killed.I am positive I would not have survived.A stupid war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2013
Enjoyed the book and found the portrayals of REMF's and lifers to be spot on. I was a Marine grunt in 1969 and thought it oddly fortunate to be in the bush for most of my deployment. It was torture being in the rear for r and r processing and such and to fall prey to the lifers in the rear. The author's depictions of their their insanity and cruelty is factual and depressing. Great read. Would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn about the other story of Vietnam service...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2013
I picked this book after reading the reviews. What a mistake, again. This book just plain stinks. The "hero" has a bad attitude and then the whole book is about all the trouble he gets into due to his bad attitude and of course, it's all someone else's fault. The guy is just a loser and so is this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here