Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports toystl17_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
33
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$14.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 33 reviews
on October 5, 2016
I love Visiting Hours - good spooky movie! I don't recall seeing Bad Dreams but looking forward to seeing it soon!

Visiting Hours (1982) - Creepy Underrated Horror Thriller
Michael Ironside is a great mad man killer in this one!
This is a movie I seen as a teen that gave me the creeps - and I think of this film every time I go to a hospital *shivers*.

The movie is a thriller and has some slasher type qualities to it. Most people do not identify this film as a slasher film I guess because it did not have 10 sequels after the first.

If you have a love for horror/thrillers then you may like Visiting Hours. The movie seems to be underground these days and should be brought back into the "must see horror arena". It is quite chilling and will leave you on the edge of your seat.

I have to agree with other reviews I've read on Visiting Hours that maybe the reason this film is so underrated is because Bill Shatner is in the film. William has played other movie and TV roles quite well but most people only see him as Kirk and cannot shake that image - he's been wrongfully stereotyped. Shatner's role in this film was good! Do not let your love or dislike of William Shatner keep you from watching and, maybe, enjoying this film.

8.5/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2012
Bad Dreams had some clever ideas and a realistic psychological ending that impressed me; I had not seen this gem until now. Hippie girl realizes that the Charles Manson-like cult leader (played by always sinsiter, always creepy Richard Lynch) in hoping to capitalize on his psychotic fantasies of a freaky commune in the after-life by setting everyone on fire; by accident, hippie girl survives the community suicide and wakes from a coma years later, only to be haunted by psychotic episodes of silky-sick Lynch, an incompetent police detective and an overzealous psychiatrist obsessed with the use of psycho-hallucenagenic drugs. What's real? What's not? What's Memorex? A fun, smart film. Charles Manson vs Sigmeund Freud in hippie girl's head.

Visiting Hours I saw this one when I was in high school. Michael Ironside (Scanners, V-The Final Battle and Starship Troopers) does creepy skullduggery like very few and he doesn't disappoint here, either. Linda Purl is the sexiest nurse ever captured on celluloid and made me apprecriate women in uniforms with ponytails like no other (wowzers!). William Shatner (on loan from T. J. Hooker and Star Trek II) does a subdued role in that crazy baby blue suit that would have made Murray Hamilton beam. Not necessarily a typical 80's slasher as much as a bloodier homage to Alfred Hitchcock and Dario Argento. Ironside becomes equally obsessed with two strong-willed womenfolk that challenge his sexual insecurities, but its the death mask of photos taken of his victims in his bedroom closet that creeps me out, and inspired the infamous one-sheet of the baleful skull over blackened hospital.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
Bad dreams is a childhood favorite of mine with dream (warrior) girl Jennifer Rubin looking all stressed out, bats*** crazy & all cute & s*** she is awesome. It also has a really cool villain that has a calm & peaceful cult leader vibe but really is like the frickin anti christ, sooo creepy when they show him all burnt up calling out to his love child to join him in death. many will not regard this as an 80s classic but its pretty close. Visiting hours is not as fun and has a real sadistic sicko vibe to it but is well done & scary as s***. It has a giallo / grindhouse flavor to it & full of suspense. Can't wait to get the blu & much love to scream factory for putting out some classics. ( Halloween II & III The Fog The Howling Ninja III Vincent Price Vampire lovers Cat people Witchboard Sleepaway camp)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
Having already seen BAD DREAMS I wasn't keen on picking up this Blu-ray set from Scream Factory / Shout! Factory. But after listening to the ScreamCast Podcast episode about this release I didn't hesitate to order. First, BAD DREAMS is a very good underrated horror movie with an excellent turn from Richard Lynch. I haven't seen VISITING HOURS but the hilarious discussion on the podcast made me very curious to check it out. The decent price point sealed the deal. Overall this was a great buy for $13 and highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2012
1. BAD DREAMS...great 80's slasher / killer flick. Richard Lynch makes a good villian. We really enjoyed this film, I can recall seeing it on VHS back in the day. Very refreshing and nice plot twist, too. The supporting characters help this movie along and add a sense of slight comedic value and maybe a slight campiness that you just don't see done effectively in movies today.
2. VISITING HOURS....Michael Ironside is a fantastic villian! This really is a good companion to Bad Dreams as they are both "hospital" related. Lee Grant is a nice strong female lead as well. You really find yourself rooting for the victims...the plot is nicely paced and no 'dead' (pardon the pun) spots.
Definitely worth picking up this set.
For fans of 80's flicks before or at the start of the more over the top gore and violence. I (personally) enjoyed Visiting Hours more out of the two but they are both fun!
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2015
Shout Factory provides another great release for horror fans in a 2 for 1 deal. The first film is a supernatural "Nightmare on Elm Street 3" meets Jonestown supernatural horror flick starring some of the best character actors in the business. The second is a well thought out early 80's slasher that takes place in an LA hospital with a strange feminist twist and Captain James T Kirk himself along for the ride. As usual, Shout Factory lacks the disc with interesting extras, making the price a bargain
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2012
This set is a great way to get the movie "Bad Dreams" for a low price. This is a great thriller/horror "ghost" story from the 80's that, while still bloody in places, actually relied on writing and plot, instead of sex and gore, to tell its story.
It is about a young woman, Cynthia (played by the lovely Jennifer Rubin), who survives the mass suicide of the hippie cult she was a part of, and awakens from a coma 13 years later, only to be haunted by the ghost of its psychopathic leader, Franklin Harris (a very creepy Richard Lynch).

"Visiting Hours", on the other hand, was fairly boring. Michael Ironside plays a serial killer out to kill a feminist activist played by Lee Grant. The problem is, Lee Grant's character is just not very likable, so it's hard to feel concerned about her. Her nurse, played by Linda Purl, is a far more sympathetic character and, considering her survival is not garuanteed, her part in the story offers a lot more suspence than that of Lee Grant (of whom it is clear she will eventually gain the upper hand and triumph in the end). This one is simply not worth the time and effort put into watching it and, for me, ended up being little more than a bonus disk to be discarded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2017
Jennifer Rubin will be remembered as a B-rated scream queen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
love both movies. had to watch them on VHS tapes and they were either blurry or damaged to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2014
I bought this movi for Bad Dreams a movie I remembered a little from my childhood. I remember a cult that set itself on fire and one member survived. It maybe she is being hunted by the dead or is it worst.
Visting Hours is worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse