Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by dinarbart
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Minor cover wear. Pages clean. Marks on cds, play great. LE6.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Barbeque Soul-A-Bration Party Pack

Box Set

3.8 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, May 5, 1998
"Please retry"
$39.95 $29.95

Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping.

Editorial Reviews

Despite heavy industry competition, Rhino Records has yet to cede its title of "Label Most Likely to Make a Silly Idea Work." Latest case in point is the new "Party Packs" series' double-CD selection of grill-soundtrack sides packaged with recipes for ribs, catfish, and other delicacies, manufacturer coupons included. The music leans hard toward '60s soul (Otis, James Brown), often with a food-related bent (King Curtis's "Memphis Soul Stew," Little Milton's "Grits Ain't Groceries"). Left-field entries by Tony Joe White (who schools those of "y'all never been down south too much" on the mythical "Polk Salad Annie"), the Clovers, Willie Bobo, and Betty Wright ("Clean Up Woman" closes the set, naturally) assure that the discs avoid the over-familiar: They go down real easy, don'tcha know. --Rickey Wright

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Memphis Soul Stew - King Curtis
  2. Sweet Soul Music - Arthur Conley
  3. Bar-B-Q - Wendy Rene
  4. Hot Barbecue - Brother Jack McDuff
  5. Watermelon Man - Mongo Santamaria Band
  6. Green Onions - Booker T. & The MG's
  7. The Nitty Gritty - Shirley Ellis
  8. Grits Ain't Groceries (All Around The World) - Little Milton
  9. Grits - James Brown
  10. Soul Food - Asylum Choir
  11. Soul Food - Albert Collins
  12. Polk Salad Annie - Tony Joe White
  13. The Happy Song (Dum-Dum) - Otis Redding
  14. Summertime - Billy Stewart
  15. Chicken Strut - The Meters
  16. Let The Good Times Roll - Bobby Bland, B.B. King
  17. The Oogum Boogum Song - Brenton Wood
  18. Soul Man (Special Karaoke-Mix Track) - Sam & Dave
  19. Respect (Special Karaoke-Mix Track) - Aretha Franklin

Disc: 2

  1. Red Beans - Professor Longhair
  2. Jambalaya (On The Bayou) - Fats Domino
  3. Smokey Joe's Cafe - The Robins
  4. Millie Make Some Chili - Billy Vera & The Beaters
  5. The 'In' Crowd - Ramsey Lewis Trio
  6. But It's Alright - J.J. Jackson
  7. Soul-Limbo - Booker T & The M.G.'s
  8. Rock Steady - Aretha Franklin
  9. Cool Jerk - The Capitols
  10. One Mint Julep - The Clovers
  11. Compared To What - Les McCann & Eddie Harris
  12. Tighten Up - Archie Bell & The Drells
  13. Mama's Cooking - Marcia Ball
  14. The Rubberband Man - Spinners
  15. Land Of 1000 Dances - Wilson Pickett
  16. Fried Neck Bones - Willie Bobo
  17. Too Much Barbeque - Big Twist & The Mellow Fellows
  18. Clean Up Woman - Betty Wright

Product details

  • Audio CD (May 5, 1998)
  • Original Release Date: May 5, 1998
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Box set
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Rhino
  • ASIN: B0000063E4
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #511,938 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on June 4, 2002
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2005
Format: Audio CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2009
Format: Audio CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: vintage desk, vintage table, vintage tables, vintage technology, electric tower