Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 43 reviews
on October 19, 2013
A collection of negotiation case studies, some set on the world stage, but others set at a much more intimate level. Mnookin's gift is to find the common threads that defy the scale differences, distilling a subtlety distinct cut on interest-based negotiation. The political case studies are good, but the real value in this excellent book lies in the detailed discussion and perceptive analysis of cases of employee representation vs. management, a divorce, and sibling disagreement over inheritance. Each case illustrates the value of focusing on interests rather than pointless positions of so-called principle. How often have I seen the outcome of "it's the principle" negatively impact people's lives, more often than not following some pyrrhic "victory" in a negotiation of some sort? Politicians of all stripes, managers and trade unionists too, as well as warring spouses or siblings - read, digest, benefit.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
The author provides examples, from business, politics and war, of conflicts between opponents who start out demonizing each other and then find, or fail to find, common pathways to resolution. The book is a plea for restraint of initial impulses to fight - in court or on the battlefield - while each side puts itself in the other side's place to figure out what concessions can reasonably be expected.

The section about Nelson Mandela is for me the centerpiece of the book. The story of his heroic endurance through years of imprisonment, his deep understanding of his opponents, and his skill at negotiating while balancing passion and thoughtful restraint, mark him as one of the truly great figures of history. I am grateful to Mr.Mnookin for teaching me so much more about this remarkable man than I already knew.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
This book begin with a analisys of important negotiations in very dificult perceptions of the paties of the other side in order to get an agreement and goes to more near cases as famiar cases. Recomended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
Perhaps I expected more absolute technique rather than an exploration of how an individual or group can cripple the effort of negotiation by demonizing a participant. A good book with interesting insights. Enjoyed the details of the historical examples and felt the author had an interesting humility -- he didn't fall into the error of believing he would have done better simply because he now has historical perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
Business books tend to approach subjects in a way that is textbook and not necessarily how things really happen. This one goes a long way towards bridging that gap but does tend to forget that not everything goes according to plan all of the time. The reality of the situation is that negotiating, especially with "The Devil" often requires a much more aggressive approach than what authors wish to advocate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2016
Very good book. Very usefull and brings practical situations. Sometimes the chapters are too long to describe the context. Could be more direct. But I think it`s worthy Reading it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2017
Great examples and analogies that guides you how to negotiate wisely.
If you like history it gives you some in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2015
Pure logic provided in this book - all based on the interpretation and perspective of the observer / actor. This book gives much to ponder. It asks you to think.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
A friend recommended this and I am so glad. Mnookin writes with personality, a lively treatment filled with actual stories of difficult situations solved or not solved by negotiation, some familial and others large scale (i.e., Mandela's decision to work with the South African power brokers).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
This book is great, I had to read it for school. I am happy that it was required because this isn't a book that I would typically read, but it was a very good book. It has a lot of lessons in it and will teach you how to build, grow or for some to even begin with negotiating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse