Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by The Lone Bellow PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 52 reviews
on May 25, 2014
This is an excellent recording of three incredible pieces of music, most notably the Concerto for Orchestra and Music for Strings, Percusion and Celeste. These are fantastic interpretations and are delivered with clear recording quality. I highly recommend this album!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
Awesome rendition of most famous Bartok's masterpiece. Historical performance by one of the author's friends.

Great and crystal clear sound. Must buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2005
This interpretation is without doubt by far the best ever recorded of these Bartok pieces, especially the Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta.- I doubt whether it will ever be surpassed.- And also the sound is perfect.- A "Must buy"
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
Very well played by an orchestra and a conductor who fully understood and loved the composer. The other items were equally excellent. Can only highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
When I first heard it performed in Hungary I was deeply moved, It is a beautiful orchestral piece. The performance on the CD is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2015
A classic recording of a classic work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2015
Great music!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2009
Any Bartok fan would enjoy this CD. It's a great listen and I highly recommend it to compliment any music library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2016
Bartok is one of my favorite composers and Concerto for Orchestra is one of his best-known, most popular and most accessible works. Bartok fled to the US from Hungary in 1940 and was short of funds. In 1943, Bartok's compatriot, Fritz Reiner, persuaded Serge Koussevitzky, the conductor of the Boston Symphony, to commission this Concerto. Koussevitzky was not disappointed and the Concerto was an immediate success.

The two other compositions on this CD are not too bad either. Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta premiered in 1937 and is one of Bartok's best-known compositions. It was commissioned by the Swiss conductor. Paul Sacher and is a brilliant piece of music. Stanley Kubrick used it in his film "The Shining."

This recording was made in 1955 and 1958, however, the sound is still rich, full and clear. The Chicago Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Fritz Reiner, is superb. These versions of the Concerto and Music for Strings are considered definitive by"1001 Classical Recordings You Must Hear Before You Die." At 75 minutes, the CD is excellent ​value.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2000
The featured Concerto for Orchestra is a thrilling 20th century masterpiece: it contains passages of (now mild) dissonant harmony, especially the wonderful trumpet part in 2nds. Composed at Reiner's instigation, it becomes a showpiece for each section of that magnificent orchestra (hence a "concerto"). The 1950's CSO was a terrific team of virtuosos (only Reiner could prevent that from being an oxymoron). As a kid I was amazed at how Reiner's tiny baton strokes could control a big orchestra of grown ups, and treasured this recording of him (one of my first).
This platter was also the first time I'd heard a Celesta. Its ethereal entries seemed to shimmer and float through the orchestral texture, and give me shivers still. It's great to have this program reissued on an exemplary CD (although the old cover art is ugly still). After those two pieces the vigorous Dances are relatively tame fare.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse