Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Basic Machines and How They Work
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Tall Heights Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 10, 2012
I picked up the physical copy of the book for my (post-apocalyptic) library and am quite happy with the product. This naval manual looks like it was written in the 1940s. It starts simple with simple machines like levers and wedges and then works up to covering the basics of gasoline engines and power-trains. The writers sprinkled the text with both illustrations and equations in order to make the content as broad-based and accessible as possible.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2011
In the Kindle version the text is fine, but many of the figures and diagrams are cut off. Aren't these things checked before putting it up for sale?
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2012
This book makes great casual reading material for the mechanically inclined engineer. It oft reminds that complex machines today are a sum of basic mechanisms, just like an organism is made of simple cells and tissues. Levers, springs, gears, hydraulics, bearings are the workhorses behind internal combustion engines, earth working machines, airplanes, cars, bicycles! For its time and audience, the book does justice by covering just the mechanical aspects. A similar book for electronics would have been nice!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2014
I had hoped there would be more information. Maybe newer machines. For a biginner this would be fine. The information in the book is the same as a bigginers statics class. The paper back book looks like it was scaned and bounded. I could not find the date of the first printing ... It looks like the 1950's maybe older.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2014
This is a great little book. It is just what I was looking for. I needed a book that covered the basics of pulleys, hydraulics, gears, etc. This covers it all in a very easy to understand manner. I was glad to get it and I have used it a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
I purchased this thinking it would contain good reference information to have on hand in my Middle School Physical science classroom. However, the information is VERY specific to Marine Science, though it reviews simple machines. Overall not useful and it seems dated. Very few photograpsh, mostly Black and white drawings
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2015
good stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2013
Very simple book with Science inside at the level of any simple human. That's what modern society needs. I like it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse