Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Shop Popular Services americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 649 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 748 reviews
on April 24, 2013
The front of the box says that Bonus Content includes Harley Quinn's Revenge and Batman: Year One, and that it has a code to download from Xbox Live that expires on March 31, 2013.

I wasn't sure if that meant all content was behind the code or that some was on the disc and some on XBox Live. I got mixed results when researching the issue. One person said they used the code after expiration and it still worked. Some people said they got two discs in the box and it had all the content and others said they got one disc in the box and it didn't have all the content.

So here's the breakdown:

I put in the code today, 24 April 2013, and it is indeed INVALID on Xbox Live. I have a paid Gold membership (compared to a free Silver membership) and it still didn't work.

The box contains two discs. Those who got one disc may have purchased the original game. This is the Game of the Year Edition, with the ugly red and white cover. Upon installing and starting up disc one, the game searched for me and advised me that I have Catwoman content waiting for me and to please insert the second disc to install the Catwoman Bundle Pack.

All I had to do to enable this was start the game with Disc 2 in the drive instead of Disc 1. Up came a screen offering me to install:
-Catwoman Bundle Pack
-Batman Inc. Batsuit Skin
-Challenge Map Pack
-The Arkham Bundle
-Harley Quinn's Revenge

I could install individually or select "Install All" button.

So a careful reading of the box and examination of the options seems to show that the only thing the expired Xbox Live download code was used for was the animated movie "Batman: Year One." You do NOT get that for free when you buy this game because the code expired March 31, 2013.

I hope that helps anyone out there who was wondering, as I was, what the expired code meant.
77 comments| 313 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
Love this game. Just recently bought this game and wonder why I waited so long. Its really fun and exciting. Awesome graphics. During the main game you play the majority of it as Batman who has to fight villians like Penguin, Mr Freeze, Ras, and Joker. At times you also get to play as Catwoman whos part is a bit small but her missions involve Posion Ivy and 2 Face. This Game of the Year Edition has great DLC. Everything comes on a second Disc and the Cover art shown on this page is similar but not so wordy and they Harley Quinns Revenge is on the disc and not downloadable by card. My favorite was Harley Quinns Revenge. I would suggest playing the main game first even tho you can play this whenever since it takes place after the events of the game. In HQR you get to play as both Batman and Robin and has 4 parts to it. Part 1 and 3 you are Robin and Part 2 and 4 you are Batman. This game has lots of side missions so even after you beat it theres much more you can do. I have also just finished Arkham Asylum and while good I think the gameplay for City is better and allows for more action.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
Batman: Arkham City has gotten all kinds of praise for being a good game, and I loved the original copy. So one would ask, why would you buy the same game twice? This edition will cost you roughly around $15 and will net you all the dlc for the game. To go on XBL (Xbox Live) and purchase the same DLC will cost you way more, so it makes sense to just purchase the GOTY edition.

Additional challenge maps, characters like Robin and Nightwing are a blast to play as, and Harley Quinn's Revenge is also included. For the Batman, all skins are made available. This edition is cheap and provides huge savings on DLC...and if you haven't played Arkham City, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR BUY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2013
I originally gave this three stars and after playing for a couple of days and using Rad Brad on You Tube to get past points I got stuck at I will now give it four stars. Don't think the graphics are as good as in the new one Origins, gliding is really fun with the dive feature and then glide again, grappling is great, so far cool upgrades but some require major amount of combos to use and I never seem to get enough to release my bat swarm. Still a fun game though and comes with a second disc of stuff like armor, Harlyquins revenge and other stuff. So if you like batman this might be a fun one for you, just like playing Asylum if that helps.

Update: if you don't like running around lost half the time because it's either impossible to find, get into, or how to do what's next. It's fun but find freeze how with just a temperature sensor? Getting the missions done to me is difficult. Have to get the containers for bang in some sort of order and how do I get behind the wall it's been a half hour and still haven't cracked it so I play for the graphics and use you tube a lot rad brad to get past but what's the point of a game that needs to be watched first to be played. Don't have this problem on gears of war and that one is fun. So that's the update. Cool batman graphics and controls ok, when it actually lets you do some of your leveled up combo moves, still can't use half of them. Smoke pellet rocks and gives plenty of pop ups to command batman. ok I'm done
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
The larger, open-world structure of Arkham City provides considerably more content than its predecessor, Arkham Asylum.
Batman's abilities and arsenal are enhanced, providing more ways to explore environments and bring the hurt to enemies.
The story is a little bit more sinister than before; just how far does Batman need to go to defeat his foes?

There is no manual with this game, but the controls are the same as before, and you can view them anytime in the pause menus.
This game comes with 2 discs: Disc 1 is the core game and its extra features, and Disc 2 allows you to install special content that was previously only available through download-purchase, as well as new story episodes played as Catwoman. (If you're not a fan of Catwoman, don't install her content until after you finish the main story; the Catwoman episodes interrupt the main story at four certain points.) -You could also skip Catwoman's content entirely, but you'll see reminders of her every time you play. She still plays similarly to Batman, but her gadgets are different/fewer, she doesn't have the same exact takedowns, and she uses her whip and wall-climbing as opposed to Batman's cape gliding.-
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2014
Yeah, I'm a bit late. This game was first released in 2011, by the time of which I had already completed the original Batman: Arkham Asylum. I should have followed up with this one shortly thereafter, but I didn't. I waited until 2014; to be exact, it arrived at my house on the 30th of May 2014. After nine days of play (7th of June 2014 as of this review), I have completed the main story mode in full, and 33% of the overall game (remaining are side missions, riddles, DLCs and New Story +). All in all, it was still worth the wait. The game is amazing. The visuals are impressively stunning, although a bit graphically outdated. The open-world is appropriately sized, dense and rich with atmosphere and color. And the combat system is an improvement over the original one in Arkham Asylum. And to top it off, it cost me a mere $15. Great value!

The only downsides to this title were the graphics which weren't as smooth as I wanted it to be, although that's because its three years old. There were a few glitches, which surprised me a bit. And the story was a bit disappointing, because it didn't feel as if there was much meaning to it in the same way Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight trilogy had meaning. It had a plot, but not much underlying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
Very good game. Frankly the game of the year edition did not add much for me. Catwoman is a decent addition, but nothing to write home about. The Harley Quinn section was an OK add-on, but it required you to play as Robin. Robin, Nightwing, and Catwoman all have slightly different attacks and equipment. But worse, they have different timing. Most of them are faster than Batman, but do a little less damage. Since the "brawler" rules of the game are all about timing your attacks so that you can switch back and forth between large groups of enemies, while blocking when necessary, having a timing shift right at the end of the game REALLY throws you off. And not in a good "This is different" sort of way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2013
If you are a fan of Batman and remotely like video games, this game is a must. Even if you are not a fan of Batman, and you like video games, you should at least try this one. I'm not a die hard Batman fan, but I did love the early 90s cartoon series. This game has many of the voice actors who did the early cartoon series, and they are pros at their craft.

The game play is great. I like the combo based fighting system, though you could argue that it's laughably easy once you get it down. It is fun though coming up with different ways to finish off your foes, using the various unlockable gadgets at your disposal.

The campaign has a good story. Excellent original story that pays homage to existing Batman lore with the plethora of characters. Tons of Easter eggs for big fans. And as I said, the voice work is top notch, so it feels authentic playing through and you really get pulled in by the dialog and interactions.

The challenge modes and extras do add quite a bit of replay value. They don't necessarily feel like a chore or obligation to play through and see how many waves of enemies you can survive or how quickly and efficiently you can take them out.

I highly recommend this title. You don't necessarily need to have played through Arkham Asylum, but you might as well since it's probably dirt cheap to buy right now and they're both great games. Arkham City, though, is much better due to the feel that it's much more open world, plus the Catwoman levels are entertaining, and the bonus Game of the Year(Harley's Revenge, or whatever) content is icing on the cake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 28, 2013
There's so much to see and do in Batman: Arkham City that you'd be forgiven for feeling overwhelmed by the game. It's a much bigger, open ended affair than Arkham Asylum. Asylum has the better, tighter story of the two but Arkham City's story is good enough that you'll want to play through to its very surprising ending. Arkham City gives you a few characters to play as and plenty of missions and collectibles to busy yourself with. This edition gives you the ability to play not just as Batman but also Catwoman, Harley Quinn and Robin. Every character has tons of stuff to do in various modes. Just collecting the Riddler trophies and completing his challenges is enough to keep you busy for weeks. It's the kind of game where you can just coast on it for a while and not worry about playing anything else due to the sheer amount of activities you can involve yourself with. The graphics and voice work are top notch and the surround sound is also pretty awesome (there's a nice little touch where when Mr. Freeze puts on his helmet and speaks, his voice suddenly seems to come from every speaker in this dead, robotic voice... love it).

It seems like just about every facet of Batman: Arkham Asylum has been improved upon with Arkham City. The combat especially is even smother this time around and it's a blast to master Batman's repertoire of moves to take on a bunch of goons all at the same time. I always find it funny that these same goons would even bother trying to take this guy on but hey, there would be no game if they all persistently ran away from him. It's challenging but not too challenging that it ever gets exceedingly frustrating. All in all, it's a very enjoyable ride with very few flaws to mention.

This Game of the Year edition of Arkham City is a totally worthy purchase and comes loaded to the gills. If you liked Arkham Asylum, this one is a no-brainer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2013
The game takes place a little after Asylum, where Joker is deathly ill and there's a power struggle amongst the evil doers for control of Arkham City. The main thread is Batman going after Joker and getting side missions along the way.

Not a lot separates this game from Arkham, same graphics, same Riddler puzzles, same enemies, etc. It seems like they just took the previous game, rolled a different storyline into it with some enhancements.I probably shouldn't say "same" (although the graphics don't seem much different to me) but you have a lot of similarities: Joker/Harley are the main baddies with a few supporting archenemies (Croc, Mr. Freeze, 2-Face, et al). There're a couple of dream sequence missions just like in AA. The Riddler puzzles are similar if a bit more challenging. You have the same moves/weapons + a few new ones. There are also the typical find-this-to-get-that missions.

The distinguishing differences are the side missions as well as the world itself which has much more room to travel than AA. Using the glider, you can travel throughout the city and launch yourself into the air with the grappling hook. There are missions where you're working with [insert bad guy here] or trying to hunt down [insert bad guy here] or trying to save [insert civilian here]. Even though I kept thinking, "Hey, that's just like [insert Asylum reference here]" it was still a great game. Also, I think the combat is a little tougher in AC.

The only gripe I can think of at the moment is the difficulty when selecting weapons. Might be my controller though.

Definitely recommend this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 50 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here