Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Batman: The Video Game
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 26, 2016
Batman: The Video Game is a neat full title that this game is well worthy of. Of all the major franchises to be packaged and sold as a Nintendo game, Batman and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles transcended video games extremely well unlike so many other familiar franchises (X-Men, Spiderman, Superman, etc.) Considering that the game was a movie tie-in, the product is stunningly a well-polished and well-executed effort.

The control, gameplay, and graphics are top-notch. The game is a challenging action platformer and Batman jumps and punches very well. The jump is very crisp and gives the player control over how high. The wall jump control is also fantastic. The game really pushes you to master the wall jumping technique, but the controls are responsive. There is some minor complaint about start being used to scroll through weapons and select being used to pause the game.

Batman starts off with four attacks: Punch, Batterang, Batgun, and Triple Shot. The punch is short range and powerful, requires no ammunition. The other three attacks cost one, two, and three weapons respectively, have their pros and cons depending on the situation. Enough ammunition is available so that running out of weapons doesn't happen often.

I think the music for this game is slightly overrated, but pretty good. The graphics, meanwhile, are great. All the backgrounds look good except for the cavern level, but not quite as good as in Street Fighter 2010 The Final Fight. Batman is a purplish color, but I think it actually looks pretty cool. The cut scenes are very nice, but some gamers might have wanted a Batmobile level. I'm ok with the game being exclusively a challenging platformer with no driving stage.

The last stage is a juggernaut with many tough wall jumps. If you can get Batman to the top of the belltower, there is a boss fight with Fireplug and then a boss fight with Joker. If you can beat Fireplug but die fighting the Joker, then you will go straight to the Joker fight when you make it back. The game has unlimited continues, but only 3 lives with no extra lives. The Joker fight, by the way, is pretty difficult. I can recall Joker being regarded as one of the toughest bosses in an NES game, but perseverance and a little luck is required.

The ending is fantastic. In the movie, Batman lassoed Joker to a gargoyle statue while he tried to escape on helicopter. It resulted in Joker's death, but it was more a way to try and keep the Joker from escaping. In the video game though, you get a nice cut scene of Batman telling Joker "now YOU will dance with the devil in pale moonlight" before punching him off the belltower. The game kindly rewards you with an ending you would never see in any Batman movie, and it is a badass one indeed! Pretty neat how both Batman The Video Game and The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles game give you an ending that is cathartic and unheard of (In TMNT, Splinter turns back into human form).

Nevertheless, this is unquestionably a top 10 Nintendo game. The challenge is definitely there, but so is the fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2009
There is no denying the fact that the Nintendo Entertainment System (NES) was, at its very best, a flawed piece of hardware. Gamers everywhere will remember all the tricks of the trade (blowing, pumping, squeezing, etc.) in order to get the games to boot up. Yet, for all its quirks, that system can never be accused of one thing: churning out classic games that entertained gamers for hours on end. "Batman" is one of those games.

Based on the 1989 film of the same name, this game follows the basic progression of the movie, including such levels as Gotham City, the sewer plant, Joker's television studio, and the Belltower. You play as the Caped Crusader who must dispose of a wide range of enemies (both on land and in the air) while also utilize some fancy jumping skills to scale tall buildings and reach key platforms.

I think that the real genius of the game, though, shines through in its perfectly designed difficulty curve. Though I consider "Punch-Out!" to be my all-time favorite NES game (with this one a close second), in that collection of pugilistic confrontations there is just too much difference between the hardest villain (Tyson/Dream) and the one that proceeded him (Super Macho Man). Basically, you can dominate the entire game and still get floored by Tyson/Dream quite regularly. Fortunately, Batman does not fall prey to that design flaw. Don't get me wrong...the game can be very difficult at times. Yet, the difficulty progresses in such a fashion that the skills learned in one stage will need to be mastered before you have any chance at the next one.

Also, on a bit of a side note, the music in this game is some of the best the NES ever produced. For those of you who are able to appreciate an 8-bit soundtrack, you will be able to listen to Batman's tunes all night long.

To conclude, I think that the true test of the success of this game comes from the fact that it has taken nearly two decades to produce another highly-rated Batman video game (the recently-released Arkham Asylum). All the iterations of the Dark Knight in between either suffered from bad controls, stupid story, or goofy graphics. Who would have thought that the best edition would come from a system as flawed as the NES?!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2009
Batman for the nes is quite possibly one of the best sidescrolling games based off of a comic book liscense and sheer quality of this game is not often found with old games that are usually rushed to coincide with a movie's release date. Thiat is not the case here, what we have is a fun and challenging game that is leaps and bounds better than most of the nes competition.
For a game that's over twenty years old, the graphics are very detailed with lots of nice background effects like buzz saws spinning on the ground and the joker's face appearing on the computer moniters. Another cool effect is the spinning gears in the clock tower which also happens to be one of the most epic last levels in 8 bit. The only real problem graphically is that many of the middle levels don't really match the Batman theme very well and appear to be lifted from another game entirely whcih is really less of a complaint and more of a curiosity.
The gameplay is pitch perfect and the Batman handles in such a natural way.From the wall jumping to switching your three weapons on the fly, everything is mapped out to perfection. Many times playing this, I forgot I was even holding a controller, it really is that intuitive.
Last but certainly not least, there is the music. Each level has it's own melody that ranges from sweeping thatrical action compositions to moody more subtle sound. One thing is for certain, few nes games can manage to utilize the hardware and make the sound as quality as this. This here is a soundtrack that easily compares to megaman or castlevania and in case your new to 8 bit, that's a huge compliment.
Anyway, if you have an old nes lying around, dust it off and play this little gem. Even if your not a fan of Batman but can appreciate some old school platforming, this is worth checking out. Sunsoft really did a tremendous job on this one and it's a shame more people don't include this in their listmania lists because I would pick this up over super mario 2 any day of the week.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2012
Who can forget about the cool graphics, awesome soundtrack, fluent controls, variety of explosive weapon upgrades, superb hand to hand combo attacks, unforgettable ninja style wall climb, and overall gameplay from this blockbuster hit? I heard some great reviews about this game in the early 1990s, but I didn't get a chance to check it out fo myself until 2007. I'm glad that Sunsoft finally got it right when making a movie title into a NES game (Kemco failed horribly with Superman two years earlier). Its sure far from a picnic to get to the Joker let alone defeat him, but thats the fun of the challenge. When playing this classic game, you'll always be at the edge of your seat, so be prepared. It is arguebly one of the NES's best action side scrollers and best NES movie adaptations When it comes down with video games, Batman usually gets treated very well. Please pick this title up and play with patience. Its worth it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2013
It's a common thing for popular movies and cartoons to be converted into video games, and the era of the NES was no different. Following the success of the motion picture, Batman, starring Michael Keaton and Jack Nicholson, came Sunsoft's NES adaptation: Batman - The Video Game. You play as Batman, and you are on a mission to stop the Joker from terrorizing the city. While movie-based videogames are usually quite terrible, Batman is one definite exception to this.

The graphics of this game portray the dark, gothic look of Gotham City very well. The enemies look decent and include robots, ninjas, and strange creatures that leap up and down on you. The bosses look really good, too, even though they're a little small. Some of the bosses look like they could've just been another enemy in the level, but they're still drawn well, and have a good amount of detail. The animation of Batman's walk and wall-spring jump is very good, too. The way his cape "billows" is a nice effect. Even though this game was based on the movie, Batman is wearing the blue costume like in the TV show, rather than the black costume of the movie, but that's probably so that he would stand out against the backgrounds. The backgrounds are dark, and may not look quite as colorful as the graphics of some other NES games, but it fits with the game's dark atmosphere. There are also some rather impressive cinema scenes in-between levels, some of which include digitized images from the movie.

Sunsoft really had a way of bringing out the best in NES soundtracks, and this game is no exception. They didn't use any music from the movie or any classic Batman themes, but the music they composed sounds very much like "Batman"-style music. It has a good beat, and sometimes it can be dark and haunting. The sound effects are good, too. When Batman leaps, you can hear the effect of his cape billowing. Mostly everything else you hear are punches and small explosions. The only downside of the music is that some of the tunes are repeated, and the music quality is so good, it left me wanting more.

When you press the button to jump, Batman kneels for a split second before leaping. This is a delay that I had to learn to compensate for. Batman also "drifts" a bit when leaping, and it's a little tricky to control him. The wall-spring jump is surprisingly easy to pull off. When you duck down, it seems there's a slight delay if you try to punch immediately, which can be annoying in crucial areas. Cycling through the special weapons is a bit cumbersome, but thankfully, the game allows you to cycle through them while paused.

Batman is based loosely on the Michael Keaton/Jack Nicholson movie. Batman is out to stop the Joker from terrorizing Gotham City. There are some cinema scenes between levels that show the Batmobile driving around or confrontations with the Joker. There are some quotes from the movie included, and much of the scenery came right from the movie, too, such as the Axis Chemical Plant, and Batman's final showdown against the Joker in the clock tower.

Batman offers a good, decent challenge. The first level is not too hard, but after that it picks up a bit. The enemies don't offer much of a challenge until you get to level 3 where there are these huge guys who leap on your head. But the obstacles are far more inventive. There's one level where you work your way through a Power Plant, and you have to leap up platforms while avoiding electric currents. Another level has conveyor belts that send you speeding towards grinding gears. The chemical plant has acid that drips from the ceiling, as well as large pools of it. Some of the bosses are easy, while others can be a real challenge. The only real problem with the challenge is that some areas of the game force you to use special weapons to get through. Your special weapons require power, and if you run out, you cannot use them until you get more power. This is a real problem in Level 3! There is no way that I can tell to beat those leaping guys unless you use a special weapon on them before you get close. If I ran out of power, or if I died later on in the level and had to start over, I was not able to beat them! This meant I'd have to start the game over again. This is a bit unfair, but the rest of the levels were executed much better.

Although Batman fails to truly draw me into its gameplay experience the way many other action platformers on the NES have, it still has a lot going for it. The steady challenge, variety of levels, creative bosses, excellent music, and moody atmosphere make it a very worthwhile game to play. My only real complaint is that there isn't a whole lot of creativity in the enemies. There are far too many that just walk back and forth in a limited amount of space. The game is a bit short, but the challenge level will ensure that you'll be playing it for awhile before you can beat it.

Batman is definitely one of the better movie-based games around. I don't think I could really call it one of my favorite games, but I do think it's above average. If you really like Batman, or you're really into NES sidescroller games, then you may want to check this out. NES collectors should definitely have this game in their collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2012
I have not played this for almost 20 years since in was kid in middle school in early 90's i recently rebought this game a beat it for the first time ever!!!yes the level 5-1 i hard but it takes knowing how to use batman in the game to get past it..the music is awesome all levels stage 1 and 2 and 4 are the best. if you bought the modern batman games and not this one. you should go get now learn your roots from the first batman video game that started it all!!! great price!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2013
Inspiration strikes at anytime. I am not sure what made me remember this game, but when I did, I decided I needed to play it again. It remains one of the great classics, one of the top 10 movie adaptation games, and is still challenging and fun after all these years. A must own for any game collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 11, 2014
The 1989 movie spawned this game. A sidescroller where the player had to navigate 5 levels then defeat the Joker. The ability to grab on walls reminds me of some popular ninja games. Game is very hard actually. But not impossible. And it is so rewarding once you do beat it.
Visually the game is impressive for the NES. A lot of the art was inspired by the excellent Alan Moore graphic novel The Killing Joke. A classic in its own right and one of the better NES games. Just be warned, it is very hard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2014
This is one of the movie based games that isn't terrible. In fact, this is a very good game. The control in the game is fluent, the walljump is a fun piece of gameplay. All powerups require the same ammo so farming doesn't require much effort. There is true challenge in this game that makes you want to keep trying rather than quit. The final stage in the game however has some of the hardest jump required in any video game and I can guarantee you will get hurt by the clock gears.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2009
Out of all the Batman games out there (and trust me, there are quite a few), this is one of my favorites. The gameplay is satisfying, the levels are well-designed, and the music is excellent. Batman has some pretty cool weapons as well, such as batarangs and a "Batgun", both of which are fun to use. Batman also has a neat, but uncharacteristic, Ninja Gaiden style wall jump. The only problem I found was the lack of better villains. Sure The Joker is the end boss, but where are Two-Face, The Penguin, and The Riddler? Most of the enemies are generic, but well-designed. The game is very challenging too. Also, the color scheme is a little strange. Batman appears to be purple instead of the traditional blue. All in all, a good game for both Batman and the NES.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here