Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno


on November 7, 2016
It gets 5 stars. Even though the story is crazy, you'll have a blast playing it. For a game that came out in 2009, it puts to shame a lot of triple A games released in the year 2016 for the simple fact that there's no microtransactions (you won't be nickel & dimed for any weapon, costume, and move), no DRM, and no content is locked behind a pay wall. I'll give one tip when playing it: do not try to rush through the levels; take time to explore because your exploration will be rewarded.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2015
Just unreal. This game truly has made its own niche. It is unlike any action/fighting/adventure/button-mashing-combo game

First off, the plot is great. You are a witch, who is the biggest badass on earth, and you fight angels with your sweet skills, and put them to death by summoning a bigger demon from the pits of hell via your Luscious hair. I know its hard to wrap your head around. But this game just blew me away with the massive boss fights, the intricate combat system, and the great style this game puts on. Not to mention the soundtrack. This game is one of the few that can pull off such a pop/techno style music in the background and get away with it. It just meshes well with the seductive, highly sexualized personality of Bayonetta. 'Twas just the right amount of story, fighting, and Quick Time events. Be prepared to have your mind blown for the boss fights and the finishers

Just a fun game to blast through in a couple hours. It took me about 7 or 8 hours on normal. I felt like i got a bargain getting this game for $6.00. It;s definitely worth it.

I would recommend this to anyone looking to open their mind to becoming an Angel-slaying Pop Witch Diva
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 16, 2014
I'd heard about this game - mainly that it was outrageous and incredibly sensual. This checks out.

I haven't played any of the Devil May Cry series, but it seems that this game uses a similar combat/reward system. As a plebe, I played the game on Easy (automatic) mode because when it comes to fighting games I can't be bothered to learn absurd button combos. In this mode, the gameplay experience felt quite streamlined with only a minimum of gripes for loading times, long cutscenes, or "yet another stupid death" moments.

Almost any screenshot from the game would be suitable for framing. It's gorgeous. I could, though, feel the 360 being strained when lots of things were going on during combat and in certain locations. Mainly this arises as vertical sync and screen tearing issues. They never really hampered gameplay, as there's no sniping and no online lag to worry about. Notably, these issues were quite specific to certain locations (Chapter 2 for instance), so most of the game is well-optimized for the 360.

The plot is kind of bonkers and tough to follow until you get to the endgame and can make sense of it all. As a result, if you are prone to picking up and putting this game down throughout your playthrough (as I did), returning to the game will feel quite jarring, especially if you're dropped into a boss fight. Boss fights are roughly half of the game play, so this happened a few times...

Overall a great addition to the 7th gen lineup. Although Bayonetta 2 has been announced for the Wii U, this felt like a one-off that deserves all of the praise thrown at it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 8, 2013
To put it simply, Bayonetta is a fun fast-paced action game that oozes style and skill recognition. It genuinely encourages you to learn and master the mechanics as well as experimentation and finding your own play style.

I played this nearly back-to-back with DmC, and it really highlights how much of a departure that was from the main DMC series. If you want DMC5 then look no further than Bayonetta. DmC is very open on the surface, but the reality is that there is no incentive to explore or learn the system. A few simple moves will utterly destroy every challenge on every difficulty. Bayonetta, on the other hand, constantly switches up the formula and never allows you to get too comfortable with any one strategy. DmC

Bayonetta also carries the same tone as the original DMC games. It has similar gameplay, and even a fistful of homages through cutscenes and gameplay. Simply put, Bayonetta is a video game that revels in being a video game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 15, 2013
Being a huge fan of hack n slash I wanted to try out this out and to my surprise, it was quite good. What can you say about a game where you play as a woman with guns in her shoes and eats lollipops for energy?, nothing much except that it can be funny at times if you watch the cut scenes.

Engaging gameplay once you get used the hair-twirling combat. Can be difficult at times and even frustrating but you won't get "ninja gaiden" frustrated with its difficulty. Also this version is the best out of the two platforms since Platinum Games have stated that the 360 version was the leading platform so you won't com across any real issues with the game concerning with things like bugs.

I recommend this game to anyone who likes this genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 5, 2015
This game as great. The combat is fast paced and rewarding. The story is ok and the characters are great. I love Bayonetta as the badass, hot witch that she is and the supporting characters are good. The one thing is that this game expects you to be flawless. If you're like me you'll keep receiving all those damn stone trophies. Some moments are slow but the whole game is great and worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 8, 2010
Bayonetta is definitely a peculiar game. I have to admit I was skeptical of the source material the first time I laid eyes on trailers and gameplay videos. But, I decided to try this game based upon some incredibly high reviews and a sale Amazon had a couple of weeks ago. Boy, am I glad I did.

Bayonetta is an Umbra witch, who seems to have forgotten her past and is searching for "The Eyes of the World". In the game, you fight the angels of Paradiso while on a quest to find the eyes. The story is almost irrelevant as it is so ridiculous you will pass it off as just something attatched to the gameplay. Its not bad, and the voice acting is rather good, while the story itself is so whimsical and silly you accept it as just the developers having some fun.

However, the gameplay is where its at. The game uses a ranking system to rank each battle based on damage, combos, item use etc. These battles affect the amount of "Halos" you recieve(think Sonic rings) which are used as a currency to buy items, accessories and other moves. And you will want to replay these battles so that you can perfect them and earn more halos because the fighting is just so much fun. Its a mix of Ninja Gaiden/Devil May Cry, but with extra flash and pizazz (and a little bit of sexual innuendo). The controls are responsive and easy to pick up. The game can feel button mashy if your just trying to reach the end of the game, but if you want to perfect these battles and earn Platinum rewards, your going to have to learn the combos and dodge alot of enemy hits.

So ultimately, if your a fan of Ninja Gaiden, God of War or Devil May Cry, you owe it to yourself to try out this game. The source material and wackiness of it may turn you off at first, but the gameplay is so tight that the story tends to not matter. Happy Angel slaying!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 3, 2011
I've never written a review on anything but seeing as I've been unemployed for a while now this is a great way to pass time. I've played all the "style combo" games (DMC 1,2,3&4 GoW 1,2,3,CoO Heavenly Sword ect..) And this is another great addition to the genre. It took me a while to actually finish the game but not due to difficulty but the story failed to draw me in as other games have but this is by no means a deal breaker. Now on to the good and the bad.

The Good
This game has a very expansive combo list because of all the weapons in the game and the combinations you can use them in as most weapons you can equip on your hands and feet. They range from pistols and shotguns to whips and katana and every weapon has its own list of combos you can execute.

The graphics are very impressive at least on the 360 as I've been told that the game can occasionally slow down in frame rate on the ps3. Although later on the environments seem to become second rate but what do you expect from a game that focuses on the gameplay.

The characters are very catching but not memorable outside of Bayonetta herself.

Voice acting is mostly well done but a weak script doesn't help it out.

Now the Bad
As nice as a large combo system is you'll find yourself falling back on the same couple of combos and weapons as they seem to be the most effective on the enemies.

The script as I mentioned above isn't all there but it does a fine job at moving the story along.

The difficulty may be a problem for new comers but if you're a veteran of this type of game then you should pick it up in no time.

The story overall is forgettable(or at least I think so) as the developers seemed to focus more on delivering solid gameplay and they did just that.

The upgrade system is very standard as when you defeat enemies they drop halos that you trade in to buy items,weapons and new combos(not really a bad thing just decided to throw it in before i forgot)

So overall Bayonetta doesn't bring anything all that new to the table, but what it does is deliver a very polished gameplay experience that is very enjoyable while the ride lasts, oh and there are collection side quests like all games now a days that unlock weapons and achievements/trophies. So if you like games like DMC and GoW you'll enjoy this title too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 9, 2011
Bayonetta by Sega is one of the best hack-n-slash games out there still. This game is hard to compete against. There are no gimmicks here, it's a straight button mashing joy ride. From the beginning, the game starts off with beautifully designed story driven cut scenes inlaid with the perfect music to fit each sequence. This games is all fun, it doesn't take itself too seriously, it's over the top with it's extravagant character. Bayonetta instantly became one of my favorite characters. Beautiful colors and character movements, backgrounds, enemy design, and more than enough combos to keep you satisfied and shooting for platinum. For fun factor and eye candy, I'd compare this game to Dark Siders, the classic Otogi (serious slash), Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath story, and I would go as far as Gears of War and Dead Space graphics (jeah, argue it, it's gorgeous, so if you like any of those, do yourself a favor and pick it up. From the creator of Devil May Cry, this game will leave you with only one question: where's my part 2?!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 21, 2010
let me start by saying that i've played this game a lot. i've unlocked every weapon, accessory, etc. i've done every verse of every chapter, found every bird, unlocked all achievements, beaten all the secret/extra content. the cap on the recorded playtime of a save file is 99 hours 59 minutes and i hit that on my first save file a long time ago. what i'm getting at is that i've seen everything this game has to offer :p

genre:
3rd person action game with a scoring/grading system

this game is for:
fans of the genre looking for something fun, or people wanting to give the genre a try. this game is great for a beginner. also of note, getting all of the achievements/trophies is required for some of the unlocks so it's expected that anyone could get them all without much trouble. so if getting 1000 gamerscore or a plat trophy is something that you like doing, this game is worth picking up.

this game is not for:
kids...or people that might try to take it seriously.

pros:
huge range of difficulty! a ton of content. gameplay is flashy and fun to watch. aside from a few game-breaking techniques/equipment, this game is skill based (making for satisfying gameplay). easily one of the best action games around in my opinion. clear game mechanics make it easy for the player to understand what skilled gameplay should be like, making the progression from casual to serious a natural one.

cons:
a weak story (it's a prologue at best). mood - though many will find the over-the-top action and anything but subtle sexuality quite amusing, it does turn some people away before they'd give the game a fair shake. controller abuse - if you want to milk as many points as possible from combo finishers, you're going to have to mash buttons or rotate the stick a lot (depending on the animation). all too easy - while the game's difficulty is quite scalable, the scoring system is very forgiving which allows non-perfect gameplay to turn out decent scores. while cool for the casual player, it leaves something to be desired for the hardcore...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here