Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Trade in your item
Get up to a $0.25
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Beach Boys Concert / Live London

Extra Tracks, Reissued, Remastered, Live

4.5 out of 5 stars 59 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Extra tracks, Live, April 10, 2001
$48.98 $6.29

Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping.

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

1964 and 1968 live recordings let you hear how far the band had come! Concert was, in fact, their highest-charting album. Includes bonus live versions of Heroes and Villains and Don't Worry Baby .

Like virtually every band in the mid-'60s, the Beach Boys were expected to deliver their hits in person--no mean feat considering the ever more baroque concoctions that Brian Wilson was constructing in the studio. Tellingly, at the time the 1964 Concert was recorded in Beach Boys hotbed Sacramento, the band had but a few hits of their own and so they padded their set with Jan and Dean's "Little Old Lady from Pasadena" (cowritten by Brian), Dion's "The Wanderer," "Papa-Oom-Mow-Mow" by the Rivingtons, Bobby Pickett's "The Monster Mash," and, of course, Chuck Berry's "Johnny B. Goode." The instrumental backing here is sparse and simplistic; it's the band's vocal interplay that carries the day before a throng of screaming fans. By the time the year was out, Brian suffered his first nervous breakdown and gave up touring to concentrate on his studio productions.

Live in London was culled from live shows recorded at a time (1968) when the band were virtual pop-cultural outcasts in their home country, but still enjoyed an enthusiastic following in England. These recordings document the Beach Boys' remarkable resilience in the face of Brian's deliberate distancing and their frigid American career prospects; when the going got tough, the tough got spectacularly professional. Augmented by a horn section, the band locks into a powerful groove, giving energetic, largely note-perfect versions of the expected hits along with some key album cuts. Digitally remastered, this long out-of-print twofer edition features commentary by David Leaf (The Beach Boys and the California Myth), as well as two bonus cuts: a 1964 concert rendition of "Don't Worry Baby" and a 1967 live version (from the unreleased Lei'd in Hawaii album) of the challenging "Heroes and Villains" that features a rare appearance by Brian Wilson performing with the band. --Jerry McCulley

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Fun, Fun, Fun
  2. The Little Old Lady From Pasadena
  3. Little Deuce Coup
  4. Long, Tall Texan
  5. In My Room
  6. Monster Mash
  7. Let's Go Trippin'
  8. Papa-Oom-Mow-Mow
  9. The Wanderer
  10. Hawaii
  11. Graduation Day
  12. I Get Around
  13. Johnny B. Goode
  14. Darlin'
  15. Wouldn't It Be Nice
  16. Sloop John B.
  17. California Girls
  18. Do It Again
  19. Wake The World
  20. Aren't You Glad
  21. Bluebirds Over The Mountains
  22. Their Hearts Were Full Of Spring
  23. Good Vibrations
  24. God Only Knows
  25. Barbara Ann
  26. Don't Worry Baby
  27. Heroes And Villains

Product details

  • Audio CD (April 10, 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Extra tracks, Live, Original recording reissued, Original recording remastered
  • Label: Universal Music
  • ASIN: B00005ABWX
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 59 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #108,658 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's The Beach Boys Store

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: live albums, live classic rock albums, live classic, cds live concerts