Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 95 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 180 reviews
on December 21, 2016
I liked his selection when I 1st started playing with the market when he was with Fidelity. Now I'm retired and hunting different strategies from known writers. I thought this to be an easy read and not challenging.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2017
Lynch is a wonderful storyteller with a marvelous wit. He's one of the best investors of all time, who pulls back the veils and mysteries of Wall Street to teach the reader that he too can succeed handsomely by just keeping it simple. I enjoyed this book very much, but I think One Up on Wall Street is more of a must read. I would recommend starting with that one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2014
This is especially good book for beginners (and other who wish to learn more) who wish to spot investment ideas worth investigating. Peter Lynch had a nice rule of thumb for a quick and dirty method of determining fair value. He asked himself what would be the fair value of this stock if its p/e ratio was 15. For many companies when I do fair value the long way the answers are often close. I read this book long ago and have reread it. Peter writes well and clearly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2017
Looking to educated myself on the stock market this was a great introduction. As well as a confidence builder to get out there and learn more about the stock market. Peter Lynch gives you multiple ways to get into the market, some he prefers more than others, but regardless we gives you an outline of his strategy for all strategies. Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2017
Very good book. I like it. A read a lot of that kind of books, but still loosing money on the stock market.
To be successful, it is not enough to have knowledge and discipline, you have to have a good luck, because market is unpredictable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
Peter Lynch's philosophy on stocks is an inspiration and an incredible help to all of us who are individual small investors. i use all the time for reference. it is super. he writes well. if you are just getting in the stock market, want to be on your own (not a mutual fund person), read this book. start off, though, with One Up on Wall Street, then finish off with this book. Peter Lynch is purely 100% stocks. so am I. i always recommend it to my customer service staff at Fidelity (sometimes they are just starting to look at stocks). Peter Lynch ran the Magellan Fund at Fidelity, and it was the best all around Mutual Fund in United States. Good ideas, admits when he made mistakes, shares insight (always needed), offers suggestions in how to look at companies (beware of the fancy offices; instead, look at the office with peeling linoleum, etc.). It's down to earth reading and enjoyable at the same time. it'll make your day. pkj
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2017
Feels like I'm a beginner investor having a conversation with a friend, but that friend is a very successful fund manager. Gives you his down to earth perspective. Was an easy read...i want more!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2016
Beating the Street is a great addition to his 'One up on Wall Street'. It may be slightly out of date but some of the basic principles never change, and Peter Lynch describes them very well. I enjoyed reading his stories from the time when he was managing Magellan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
Enjoy it, and the info. can be very useful if in the stock market.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2017
Dated, not worth the price...lacks current content and Fannie Mae is no longer. Don't buy this unless you just want to learn about his history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse