Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 162 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 221 reviews
on November 13, 2013
There are some amazing spiritual tips for those who work with law of attraction and who are spiritually aware. Generally, it's quite helpful and accurate when it comes to introducing one into the 'rules of dating' yet at certain chapters she comes across as her observations are the hard and fast rules with -almost- no exceptions. I find humanity a bit more diverse than that. While the majority of men indeed might be sharing her opinion which is how she came to these conclusions, you are looking for just one person. So, I say use the tips that resonate with you and let go of the rest. Nothing wrong with improving your looks or making little fun changes with your hair and such but don't try to become someone you are not just to find a man. The one you'll find will end up being more interested in the illusion you've created than you which is not really the perfect recipe for a healthy relationship.

It was a fun read and educational as well
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2010
What a wonderful dating book from Patti Stanger of Bravo TV's popular show, Millionaire Matchmaker. If you're a fan and adore the show like I do, you will love Patti's book. She provides her over-the-top super direct sense of humor and approach to match-making for millionaires to help women to attract their life mate. Her approach is with an 8 step program. Patti provides her perspective and how she got into professional matchmaking which was part of what made this book such a delight to read. Her Jewish NJ background is so much fun to read (I'm from Jersey, too, so I totally loved it, it was like homecoming.).

I particularly appreciated her two closing chapters on the relationship reality check and negotiating the ring because so many single-never-married women (and, indeed, some men) in our modern era still hold this pipe-dream view of, "Once I'm 'IN LOVE' just EVERYTHING will work itself out." Patti provides both principles to apply and a generous amount of perspective tips for GOOD behavior patterns to be noticing and observing.

I highly recommend this delightful read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2013
Just bought Become Your Own Matchmaker. Finished reading the entire book in just a few hours! Absolutely inspiring, uplifting, empowering, and motivating. Full of priceless wisdom, and invaluable advice for leading a flourishing & fulfilling life. Patty Stanger directs her readers to a powerful & meaningful life path. It does not have to be limited to women only, many men would benefit from the incredible information provided as well. This book truly helped guide me at a very pivotal point in my life, so grateful for having the opportunity to gain such indispensable knowledge.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
I'm only over half way done reading the book and I had to force myself to put it down. As a huge fan of her show, this book knocks it out of the park! Its as educational and honestly, as straight to the point, no nonsense and hilarious as her show. Its the easiest way to get yourself together and meet Mr. Right for a reasonable price, compared to the annual membership of $50,000 up to $150,000 if your a millionaire and looking. But, as a single 30 something gal who has dated only twice in her life and is ready to settle down, after being out of the whole dating scene like, what ten years, is probably why my most recent bf didn't work. I'm not exactly the social butterfly but I also was clueless as to how to go about dating. Patti's book will definitely be quite a refresher course and very helpful. Just one problem ; I love my red curly hair.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2010
Overall, the book parallels the show nicely. It does have a lot of insight into Patty's personal dating life, which renders it somewhat of an autobiographical account (which I found to be some of the most interesting material of the book). As for her advice, I think a lot of it is true--and very realistic. I'm not sure if it will guarantee you your millionaire though. I find much of it to be very superficial...so if you're looking to attract that kind of person, this book will probably work for you. You will find yourself referring to Patty among your friends, when they come to you complaining about their non-committal boyfriends. I liked the book. I think it's a great reference for a good wake-up call--and very entertaining!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2017
LOVE this book! Helped me be ready to meet my husband! I recommend this book to all of my single friends!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2016
a must read. you learn a lot about women and a lot of what goes on the head of men concerning us and how to make yourself more appealing to a man, where to find the man of your dreams. etc... I could go on and on, so read it for yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
No one book of this nature will be spot on for every person, but this book gives a pretty common sense approach to relationships. Bought it for a young person who recently ended a 7 year relationship. Being out of the dating "market" for such a long time, this book gave her some issues to consider--i.e. boundaries, approach. This author is straight up. If you like her show, you'll like this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 1, 2012
This book compiles some of Ms. Stanger's best dating advice from her years of experience as a professional matchmaker. The audience for this book is single women from their mid-twenties through their forties, although she doesn't specifically tailor her advice to any targeted age group. She simply brings her knowledge of "millionaire" single men and what they want to an audience of single women who hope to attract and/or marry a high-status man. It's not unlike the book "Dating Up", but with a west coast orientation, rather than an east coast orientation. For that reason, some of the male client "types" she describes in her book are probably more typical of Los Angeles, California, than of Houston, Texas, or Omaha, Nebraska, so take some of that information with a grain of salt. The rest of the book walks you through her process of getting focused on what kind of man you want to meet (i.e. make a list!) and then some ideas for improving your personal presentation to make a good first impression. Making a good impression on a first date is critical to getting the second date, and without the second date, you can't get the third date, and so on, until you're in a relationship.

I recommend reading this book in conjunction with the following books, which will help you recognize bad dating patterns of your past, "red flag" men to stay away from, and qualities that are more than skin deep so that you can actually enjoy your relationship once you've established one:

Love in 90 Days: The Essential Guide to Finding Your Own True Love
Dating Up: Dump the Schlump and Find a Quality Man
Whom Not to Marry: Time-Tested Advice from a Higher Authority
Deal Breakers: When to Work On a Relationship and When to Walk Away
The Soulmate Secret: Manifest the Love of Your Life with the Law of Attraction
Love Will Find You: 9 Magnets to Bring You and Your Soulmate Together
Calling in "The One": 7 Weeks to Attract the Love of Your Life

David Shade's ebook "Select Men Wisely" I will also highly recommend, although I don't see it available on Amazon.com at this time.

Overall, Ms. Stanger's book is as enjoyable as the show, and she draws from a lot of interesting real life experiences throughout this book, so it is also an enjoyable read. You will need a little more information than she gives you in order to fill out your soul mate or ideal date list, but the other books I mentioned should fill in the gap for that piece of the process.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2017
Very great advice. Loved every minute of this book. If you are single, don't wait! Get it today! I mean it,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse