Kindle Price: $10.99

Save $6.00 (35%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss by [Stroh, Frances]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 212 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$10.99

Length: 341 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

''Beer Money is one of those memoirs you neither put down nor forget. I'll remember Frances Stroh's family -- and the beautifully candid, honest and often unforgettable voice she uses to describe them -- for a long time. I was very moved by this book.'' --George Hodgman, New York Times bestselling author

''In Beer Money, Frances Stroh takes us on a fascinating -- and often chilling -- journey into the world of dark privilege. In prose that is both beautiful and unflinching, Stroh tells a riveting story about the fall of an American family, an American city, and possibly the American Dream itself.'' --Janis Cooke Newman, author of A Master Plan for Rescue

''Of course, the Strohs' story is fascinating in itself. But what makes this memoir special is Frances Stroh's clear, brave voice. Free of regret or judgment, she renders even her family's darkest moments with grace and love. A page-turner in the very best sense.'' --Katie Crouch, New York Times bestselling author

From the Back Cover

In the tradition of Rich Cohen’s Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey’s Oh the Glory of It All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist’s struggle to find her way out of the ruins

Frances Stroh’s earliest memories are ones of enormous privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by black-tied waiters at the Regency Hotel, and a house filled with precious antiques that she was forbidden to touch. Established in Detroit in 1850, the Stroh Brewing Company had become by 1984 the third-largest brewing empire in America and a brand emblematic of the American dream itself; while Stroh was coming of age, the family fortune was estimated to be worth $700 million.

But behind the beautiful facade lay a crumbling foundation. Detroit’s economy collapsed with the retreat of the automotive industry to the suburbs and abroad, and, likewise, the Strohs found their wealth and legacy disappearing. As their fortune dissolved in little over a decade, the family was torn apart internally by divorce and one member’s drug bust, disagreements over the management of the business, and disputes over the remaining money they possessed. Even as they turned against one another, looking for a scapegoat on whom to blame the unraveling of their family, they could not anticipate that far greater tragedy was in store.

Featuring beautiful, evocative photographs throughout, Stroh’s memoir is elegantly spare in structure and mercilessly clear-eyed in its self-appraisal—at once a universally relatable family drama and an unforgettable American story.

Beer Money is one of those memoirs you neither put down nor forget. I’ll remember Frances Stroh’s family—and the beautifully candid, honest, and often unforgettable voice she uses to describe them—for a long time. I was very moved by this book.”—George Hodgman, author of Bettyville

“Of course, the Strohs’ story is fascinating in itself. But what makes this memoir special is Frances Stroh’s clear, brave voice. Free of regret or judgment, she renders even her family’s darkest moments with grace and love. A page-turner in the very best sense.”—Katie Crouch, author of Girls in Trucks and Abroad

“A compelling story of loss, but also of the resilience needed to forgive the past and forge a new future. The Strohs may have lost the trappings of the American dream, but Frances Stroh finds something of greater value: compassion for family despite—and because of—their missteps and flaws.”—Melissa Coleman, author of This Life Is in Your Hands

 “There are prep school expulsions and drug busts, messy divorces, a Hare Krishna encounter with Annie Lennox . . . and, of course, the evolution of a great American brand. Remember the Swedish Bikini Team ads? Or, ‘It doesn’t get any better than this’? I thought of Sean Wilsey’s great memoir as I read this, but what makes Stroh’s book so particular are the class contradictions. In movie terms, think Ralph Lauren meets Old Milwaukee. Oh, and it’s also a very moving and powerful story of one young woman’s coming-of-age.”—Tom Barbash, author of Stay Up with Me

“Frances Stroh takes us on a fascinating—and often chilling—journey into the world of dark privilege. . . . A riveting story about the fall of an American family, an American city, and possibly the American dream itself.”—Janis Cooke Newman, author of A Master Plan for Rescue


Product details

  • File Size: 8151 KB
  • Print Length: 341 pages
  • Publisher: Harper (May 3, 2016)
  • Publication Date: May 3, 2016
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B013PKDSI2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #52,135 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Family & Lifestyle Books
3.1 out of 5 stars
3.1 out of 5 stars
Relationship Books
3.1 out of 5 stars
3.1 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on May 9, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss