$25.00 + $3.99 shipping
Only 4 left in stock - order soon.
Ships from and sold by Sounds Good.

Ship to:
To see addresses, please
Please enter a valid US zip code.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by -importcds
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Artwork torn and/or worn. Expect an average delivery of 8 - 21 business days from USA.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Beethoven: Complete Sonatas Vol. 2 - Sonatas 11-22

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, May 4, 2004
"Please retry"
$18.94 $11.36

Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping.
$25.00 + $3.99 shipping Only 4 left in stock - order soon. Ships from and sold by Sounds Good.

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Over the past two generations, Seymour Lipkin has been hailed by connoisseurs and revered by his colleagues as a pianist of rare cogency, authority and musical wisdom. Studying at the prestigious Curtis Institute, Mr. Lipkin developed his immaculate virtu. Newport Classic.2004


Lipkin's performances are uneven. He is regrettably inconsistent in his use of repeats. (This listener wants them all.) He tames the early Sonatas, playing graciously but without their startling innovative quality. Most of the works in the Op. 20s are beautifully performed, although the opening movement of the "Moonlight" is too dreamy and slow and the finale too mild. Op. 26 and 28 are wonderful, and so are similarly lyrical, contemplative pieces like Op. 81a and Op. 101. The big challenges are met with limited success. The "Waldstein" and "Appassionata" lack excitement; the "Hammerklavier" is fine until the final fugue, which comes across with little power. Op. 109 and 110 are very much underplayed, and then Op. 111 is a bold, visionary performance. Go figure. The supplementary materials include a long, informative essay by Ted Libbey, a brief bio of the performer, and scores of all of the music, although in a rather heavily edited edition. This isn't the ultimate recording of Beethoven's piano sonatas (go to Goode on Nonesuch for a modern recording, Schnabel on Naxos and Nat on EMI on EMI for unique insights). But it certainly offers a lot of material for 34 bucks! --Leslie Gerber [This review refers to the uniquely packaged complete Lipkin Beethoven cycle contained on one CD-ROM.]

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Sonata no.11 in B flat major, op.22 - Mvt. 1 Allegro con brio
  2. Mvt. 2 Adagio con molta espressione
  3. Mvt. 3 Menuetto
  4. Mvt. 4 Rondo: Allegretto
  5. Sonata no.12 in A flat major, op.26 - Mvt. 1 Andante von variazioni
  6. Mvt. 2 Scherzo: Allegro molto
  7. Mvt. 3 Marcia funebre sulla morte d'un Eroe
  8. Mvt. 4 Allegro
  9. Sonata no.13 in E flat major, op.27 - Mvt. 1 Andante - Allegro - tempo I
  10. Mvt. 2 Allegro molto e vivace
  11. Mvt. 3 Adagio con espressione
  12. Mvt. 4 Allegro vivace
  13. Sonata no.14 in C sharp minor "Moonlight", op.27 no.2 - Mvt. 1 Adagio sostenuto
  14. Mvt. 2 Allegretto
  15. Mvt. 3 Presto agitato

Disc: 2

  1. Sonata no.15 in D major "Pastoral", op.28 - Mvt. 1 Allegro
  2. Mvt. 2 Andante
  3. Mvt. 3 Scherzo: Allegro vivace
  4. Mvt. 4 Rondo: Allegro ma non troppo
  5. Sonata no.16 in G major, op.31, no.1 - Mvt. 1 Allegro vivace
  6. Mvt. 2 Adagio grazioso
  7. Mvt. 3 Rondo: Allegretto - Presto
  8. Sonata no.17 in D minor, op.31, no.2 - Mvt. 1 Largo - Allegro
  9. Mvt. 2 Adagio
  10. Mvt. 3 Allegretto

Disc: 3

  1. Sonata no.18 in E flat major, op.31, no.3 - Mvt. 1 Allegro
  2. Mvt. 2 Scherzo: Allegretto vivace
  3. Mvt. 3 Menuetto: Moderato e grazioso
  4. Mvt. 4 Presto con fuoco
  5. Sonata no.19 in G minor, op.49, no.1 - Mvt. 1 Andante
  6. Mvt. 2 Rondo: Allegro
  7. Sonata no.20 in G major, op.49, no.2 - Mvt. 1 Allegro ma non troppo
  8. Mvt. 2 Tempo di Menuetto
  9. Sonata no.21 in C major "Waldstein", op.53 - Mvt. 1 Allegro con brio
  10. Mvt. 2 Introduzione: Adagio molto
  11. Rondo: Allegretto moderato - Prestissimo
  12. Sonata no.22 in F major, op.54 - Mvt. 1 In Tempo d' un Menuetto
  13. Mvt. 2 Allegretto - Piu Allegro

Product details

  • Performer: Seymour Lipkin
  • Audio CD (May 4, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Label: Newport Classics
  • ASIN: B00022XECM
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #325,611 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all verified purchase reviews

Top customer reviews

on March 10, 2009
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Look for similar items by category

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: gifts for dog, dog chews for puppies, puppy chew, puppy treats for small dogs, small dog food, big bone