Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Nothing More Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 20 reviews
on October 1, 2014
This review is for "Begin Here - The Complete Decca Mono Recordings". (For whatever reason it is cataloged along with other issues of the original album.)

If you like mono sound and you think you might like this music, just buy it. You won't be disappointed. I wasn't particularly familiar with the early work of The Zombies when I did. At first I thought I made a mistake and I still give the original album only 3*. The R&B covers are not very exciting and in retrospect, they lessen the impact of the originals. (It might have made sense at the time but it doesn't hold up well today.) However, the second CD is phenomenal - all 22 tracks range from good to great. This means that the best way to listen to this material is to augment CD2 with the originals from CD1 (which when put into proper context are all quite good). It is a bit of a pain to do so but once you do, you'll join the multitudes who realized that the Zombies never got the acclaim that they deserved. And that is before they even started on Odessey and Oracle.

Instead of getting the Zombie Heaven boxed set (Zombie Heaven), I think you will get the best bang for your buck by buying either this or The Decca Stereo Anthology (The Decca Stereo Anthology) and Odessey and Oracle - the CBS Years (Odyssey & Oracle).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2015
For their first album and pre-Oyssey and Oracle singles like the phenomenal masterpiece Tell Her No... THIS is a MUST BUY. Not only because this expands beyond the first British version of the album to include the other songs on the American version but the sound is OUTSTANDING!!! I am hearing details on this that I have never heard before in the masterful persuasive keyboard techniques of Rod Argent, the guitar playing of the late Paul Atkinson and everyone else. The sound is just incredible on this disc and I am glad I didn't buy the America cd version of the first album that I originally intended because of this versions superior sound quality. This is one of the best albums I have bought in ages and if you want to see a great show see these guys on the current Odyssey and Oracle tour which features 4 of the 5 originals minus Paul of course. Colin has not only retained all of his range but he is an even better singer than he was back then.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2017
This is true rock n roll. Any fan of the Zombies will want to own this album. I purchased the vinyl version and was quite impressed. The Zombies music really defines the era of the sixties. I wish they had stayed together longer but will enjoy their few albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2017
Very good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
If you are beginning to become acquainted with the Zombies, then do as they suggest and "Begin Here" with this album than a "Greatest Hits" package. You will appreciate the songs more heard as they were initially intended than in a more jarring effect it is to hear their stuff taken out of context and meant as song for song than the album's total effect. Remember, the Zombies gave the Beatles the only true competitor to "Sgt. Pepper's" when they did "Odyssey and Oracle." And they are still together recording after breaking up and beginning new careers and then coming together again. "Begin Here...Plus" is a great record, an expanded reissue of their 1965 British debut. As singles, "She's Not There" and "Tell Her No" were superior many of the Beatles songs of the same period.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2016
Great reissue of tough to find album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2015
Just what I wanted.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
As you can guess by now, I have written several reviews of several different and diverse musical groups of the 60's through to and including the present day. Why, you might ask? That's because I have a rather diverse CD Collection as well. And If I may add, a rather large collection as well. When I give a review, it is my own opinion and because I own the CD's. I have a large collection of Japanese releases of British groups as well as imports from all around the world. I really love 60's British groups in particular and one of them is The Zombies. They were a phenomenal group both vocally and musically. Both this CD and Odyssey and Oracle are truly musical gems that should not go by unnoticed.I think that this cd has 26 tracks, 14 of which are the original British album. Included are singles, both A & B sides, as well as some unreleased tracks and alternate versions. It is a great buy if you love The Zombies and also for a boatload of bonus tracks. Just love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2009
This is the one to get if you are looking for all the Zombies' hits. This German reissue of their "Greatest Hits" album renamed "Begin Here" (not to be confused with their debut album of the same name) contains a slew of bonus tracks to give you a fuller picture of what they were all about. Buy this one along with their Odyssey and Oracle album.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
I started out looking for just one old Zombies album - this turned out to be that and more, including some pleasant surprises.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here