Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $6.00 (38%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Behind Closed Doors: A Novel by [Paris, B. A.]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Behind Closed Doors: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 3,902 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99
Mass Market Paperback

Length: 354 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

An August 2016 Best Books of the Month by Amazon, iBooks, and Real Simple magazine

An August 2016 Indie Next pick and LibraryReads list pick

An August 2016 Book Club Pick by Popsugar: “Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train!”

As seen featured in The Skimm’s newsletter: “It’ll have you page turning ‘til the end.”

“If you’re hunting for a thriller to give you chills in August, look no further than this book, which is already a big hit in the U.K.” ―Real Simple magazine

“This debut is guaranteed to haunt you ― especially if you’re about to tie the knot. Paris’s thriller asks the question: ‘The perfect marriage or the perfect lie?’ Jack and Grace, the couple at the center of this totally enthralling novel, are so clearly not what they seem you’ll have no choice but to read and read and read until their darkest secrets are revealed. Warning: brace yourself.” ―Bustle (10 New Thrillers to Read This Summer)

“A gripping domestic thriller…the sense of believability and terror that engulfs Behind Closed Doors doesn't waver.” ―The Associated Press, picked up by The Washington Post

“B.A. Paris takes the cliché about not knowing what goes on beyond closed doors to nightmarish place…. Each chapter escalates the tensions and stakes faced by Grace in the nightmare that is her new ‘perfect’ marriage to Jack.” ―Huffington Post

Behind Closed Doors takes a classic tale to a whole new level…This was one of the best and [most] terrifying psychological thrillers I have ever read…each chapter brings you further in, to the point where you feel how Grace must feel. The desperation, the feeling that no one will believe you and yet still wanting to fight because someone you care deeply about will get hurt.” ―San Francisco Book Review

“Paris grabs the reader from the beginning with a powerful and electrifying tale. Behind Closed Doors, a novel sure to make one's skin crawl, also reveals no one truly knows what does go on behind closed doors.”―New York Journal of Books

“This dark and twisted thriller will keep you on your toes and have you wondering exactly what goes on behind your neighbor’s door.”―Buzzfeed (“6 Thriller/Mystery Reads That Will Have You Sleeping With the Lights On”)

“Really freaking creepy. And really good. Until the end, which was an honest gasp and imaginary pearl clutching moment. Yes, that good. Reader, if you want to read the thriller that enthralled even this jaded soul, pick up Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris…. Then draw the blinds and turn off your phone because you will not want any interruptions.”― LitHub (“18 Books You Should Read This August”)

“Debut-novelist Paris adroitly toggles between the recent past and the present in building the suspense of Grace’s increasingly unbearable situation, as time becomes critical and her possible solutions narrow. This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” ―Booklist (starred review)

“Making her smash debut, Paris [keeps] the suspense level high. In the same vein as Gone Girl or Girl on the Train, this is a can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” ―Library Journal (starred review)

“Newlyweds Grace and Jack Angel seem to lead a perfect life in British author Paris’s gripping debut, but appearances can be deceiving...Grace’s terror is contagious, and Millie’s impending peril creates a ticking clock that propels this claustrophobic cat-and-mouse tale toward its grisly, gratifying conclusion.” ―Publishers Weekly

“A frighteningly cool portrait of a serious sadist, Behind Closed Doors is a gripping, claustrophobia-inducing thriller... Read at the risk of running from every handsome British lawyer who crosses your path.” ―Romantic Times

“This book proves that looks are most definitely deceiving...Disturbing, to say the least, readers will definitely be shaken as the story commences and they become immediately absorbed. The writing was incredible, and the pace is quick, offering up too many chills to count...Behind Closed Doors screams: ‘Stay single!’” ―Suspense Magazine

“B.A. Paris’s debut, Behind Closed Doors, is a chilling confirmation of the adage that no one ever really knows what transpires in other people's private lives…. Paris has created one of the most heinous villains in recent memory, upon whom even the most pacifist of readers might wish torturous revenge. They’ll likely remain behind their own closed doors as they race through this thriller to see how, or if, the nightmare ends.” ―Shelf Awareness

"This book just has to be huge in 2016. I flew through it in two breathless sittings. Quite simply: astounding." ―S.J.I. Holliday, author of Black Wood

"This outstanding debut novel will leave you breathless." ―Bella

"This one is 2016's answer to Gone Girl. Nuff said." ―Women's Health UK

"It took me just an afternoon to read this book and by the end, my heart was pounding. If you like fast and frantic stories, you'll love this." ―The Sun

"Behind Closed Doors is an intriguing, sharply gripping debut thriller." ―Lovereading.co.uk

"An utterly compelling journey through the darker side of the human psyche. Your blood will run cold but you won't be able to stop reading, I promise you that." ―Sarah Harper, Lovereading reviewer

"This has been one of my best reads EVER and will be huge in 2016. Congratulations to B A Paris on a remarkable debut book." ―Shelley Bennett, The Book Club member

About the Author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author B. A. PARIS grew up in England but has spent most of her adult life in France. She has worked both in finance and as a teacher and has five daughters. Behind Closed Doors is her first novel.

Product details

  • File Size: 1841 KB
  • Print Length: 354 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1250132363
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press (August 9, 2016)
  • Publication Date: August 9, 2016
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01CXO4VRI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #811 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Thriller Books
3.6 out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 stars
Psychology
3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars
Literary Fiction
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

VINE VOICEon May 5, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment| 893 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment| 308 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 206 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 395 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment| 506 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Behind Closed Doors: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Behind Closed Doors: A Novel