Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Star Wars movies on sale for Prime members Star Wars movies on sale for Prime members Star Wars movies on sale for Prime members  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
12
Ben & Sweets
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$20.89+ $4.29 shipping


on September 16, 2015
Great Ben Webster album. And an introduction for me to "Sweets" Edison. They are great together. This is that album that you can have on in the background and just end up feeling good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 21, 2013
A very good session . I do agree that these two were paired better especially on King of the Tenors, and Baby Ain't I Good To You. This is worth a listen. The best track is the riff on In A Mellow Tone. That is constant favorite.,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 19, 2015
Sound quality not so good; probably not well recorded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2007
With Ben Webster and Harry "Sweets" Edison blowing at their creative peak, how can you go wrong?

However, although this album holds a very special place in my personal jazz history, I just feel that both giants have given much better performances elsewhere (for instance at Sweets Ben Webster Meets Oscar Peterson (20-Bit Master) ,Coleman Hawkins Encounters Ben Webster , or at that grand and fabulous "Tatum Group Masterpieces"/"Lionel Hampton and his Giants" album)...

Well, don't get me wrong; Ben is as sonorous and subtle as he can be, Sweets is discreetly and subtly singing, the rhythm section is also very good, but I still feel this should have been a better album.
But, maybe it's just me...
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 12, 2003
The title track, "Better Go" reminds me a whole lot that this CD sets up a lot like "Buck and Buddy - Blowin' the Blues"; but then comes Ben Webster swooping in on "How Long Has This Been Going On" and I'm immediately reminded how much better of a CD this is - no disrespect to Buck (one of my all-time favorites) or Buddy. But, my God, what a beautiful pair Webster and Edison make! 'Sweets' rips up the opener and right away shows that he is in top form, with George Duvivier laying the 4/4 down. "Kitty", track three, has Hank Jones comp-ing nicely over Edison, then "the Brute" blows 'em away...leaving Hank to do the best he can. "My Romance" finds Webster romantic, indeed, and I can almost hear the string orchestra on "Ballads" in the back of my head. Just beautiful. Jones opens "Did You Call Her Today" with a nice Duke/Count double tribute, and 'Sweets' rides over the "Mellowtone-like" composition first, besting Ben this time, but not by much. Jones then gets off his best solo of the session, again comp-ing nicely to the finish. 'Sweets' closes out with the ballad "Embracable You". Clarence Johnston deserves a mention on drums due to perfect backing on everything, especially this one - he comes in halfway through and doesn't disturb 'Sweets' one bit. All in all, a real All-Star date for a real All-Star pair.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 27, 2003
As the CD booklet says, this 1962 studio session paired Webster and Edison, late in their careers, to record their brand of mainstream jazz. Each started in the 1930's. Each played with a giant bandleader, one with Basie, one with Duke. Their style evolved into the bop, hard bop and third stream movements of the '40's and 50's and 60's. This disc mixes swing with ballads, and lets Ben and Sweets alternate solos. It's all good. For a person like me, who wants a jazz collection with at least one CD by everyone who made an impact between WW II and the JFK assassination, this item serves as a fine introduction to Webster and Edison. After hearing this, I am inclined to pursue more tracks by each guy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 11, 2007
It's a wonder that Ben Webster and Harry "Sweets" Edison didn't record more albums in this format, but we are quite fortunate to have this classic. It has all the essential qualities of great jazz: relaxed, swinging, soulful and well executed. Edison shines on the blues and medium bounce songs, while Webster plays some of the most romantic saxophone ever heard on the ballads. Hank Jones, whose playing adapted to both the swing and bebop worlds equally, accompanies and solos with masterful elegance. The recording quality is excellent as well, in keeping with the fine Columbia products of the era.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 7, 2003
Ben Webster and Sweets Edison in a small group setting that displays their absolute mastery of swing to perfection. These fine musicians are backed by a terrific rhythm section including Hank Jones on piano, George Duvivier on bass and Clarence Johnston on drums. The cuts alternate between swinging uptempo numbers and beautiful ballads but always retain the element of swing that are the signatures of these alumni of the Ellington and Basie bands. Ben Webster plays ballads like no on else and Sweets Edison really sounds wonderful here especially on the bluesy "Kitty" (Track 3). This may be the best track on the CD but the rest is all good.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 1, 2000
Its doubtful that there have been two jazz musicians more suited to record together than Ben Webster and Sweets Edison. Alumni of the Ellington and Basie bands respectively, these two mainstream swing players have marvelous chemistry on this session. The charts are perfect vehicles for Webster's warm tone and silky phrasing as well as Edison's blues-ridden melodic style that matured in the mid and late 1950's. Most of the tunes swing hard anchored by a solid Basie-esque rhythm section. You'll wear this one out.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 9, 1999
This is a wonderful, swinging record. Three uptempo tracks, three ballads (two by Ben, one by Sweets), all impeccably played. The standout track is 'My Romance', one of Ben's greatest ballad performances (which is saying a lot). Ben's tone and time are so beautiful on this number you'll find yourself skipping back to it after your first hearing; his final note, held an extra couple of beats, in which Sweets pitches in on muted trumpet, is one of the great moments in all jazz. This one won't disappoint.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here