Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now FFII_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 97 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 220 reviews
on June 23, 2017
A different turn:
After entering college in the mid '70s, heard so many new rock groups and sounds but perhaps no more so than Jethro Tull. Tried to fit in, BS my way into a clique but "fell flat on my face." (didn't even have one of their LPs!)
Anyway, over the years, have come to respect much of the music they produced. CD, their third album, remastered is quite good. Fidelity excels in vocals (midrange). Other times, there are variances; "play in time" and "Sessity; you're a woman" are awesome but on other tracks, there is lack of pronounced bass, depth, some immediacy and realism.
Still, a renewed walk down memory lane. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
This review is for the EU made LP ( Vinyl Import from Germany ).

This re-mix is a job well done by Steven Wilson. The clarity, depth, and balance does wonderful things for this great JT album. Benefit has always been my favorite Tull record and this allows this often forgotten classic to Stand Up ( no pun intended ) and be counted amongst the earlier recordings. The vinyl and pressing quality on this import version betters the US release, along with the added Benefit ( pun intended ) of being a DMM ( Direct Metal Mastering ) stamping. I have a number of DMM re-issues, most are very good, a few - not so much. This is a well executed production all the way around. And for the record ( my last pun - I promise ! ), I purchased this from Hot Shot Records of Germany, ( a Amazon merchant ), and the customer service was outstanding.

If your a fan of this Jethro Tull album, get your hands on this fabulous re-issue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
Aqualung, Thick As A Brick, Living In The Past -- all great albums. But Benefit is the first of the remarkable Tull era. It truly shows the diversity of music and styles and the complexity of Tull's music. (The somewhat bizarre "backward flute" on "With You There To Help Me" to a classic riff on "To Cry You A Song" to a lyrical "Alive and Well and Living In" he band presented a variety of styles.) With John Evan playinig keyboards the group was beginning to develop into one of the top bands of the 70s. I still wish instead of the playing Elton John's "Rocket Man" whenever an anniversary of man first landing on the moon comes around, someone would be creative and play "For Michael Collins, Jeffrey and Me" , Collins being the astronaut left circling the moon while Armstrong and Aldrin got to walk on the moon. It is the album which made me a Tull fan for life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2009
Benefit - 1970 14 Tracks - (4 bonus) (54:55) *****

Out of the early Jethro Tull albums, this is one of my favorites. It falls right in with a string of great albums from Stand Up (1969) through Thick As A Brick (1972). The interesting thing for me the first time I began to listen to this early classic was that I looked at the track listing and did not recognize any of the songs by their titles. This particular "remastered" cd has four bonus tracks on it, and I did recognize the song Teacher, advertised as "the original UK version", but this was just one of the bonus tracks, not part of the original album.

The music on this album has a good mix of acoustic and electric music. It sounds very balanced, without too much of acoustic or electric sounds. There is only one purely acoustic song and not really any heavy rockers like you might find on Aqualung for instance. Also, for all the "proggers" out there like me, who tend to look for the longer tracks, there are a few reaching the six minute mark.

With the addition of John Evan on keyboards, we get our first taste of piano on Alive And Well And Living In and the addition of organ in the background on Sossity, You're A Woman, which is one of the stand-out acoustic tracks. I think Ian Anderson's voice is much improved on this album, recorded with more echo and obviously "dual-layered" on some songs creating a much richer and fuller sound.

Many times the bonus tracks on these cd's are just filler songs or "throwaways" that just didn't make the cut before. The ones offered here: Singing All Day, Witches Promise, Just Trying To Be, and Teacher, are kind of a mixed bag. The first two are OK, but really just mediocre at best. Singing All Day is a nice, upbeat acoustic number, while Witches Promise I would describe as a very traditional sounding Tull song. Just Trying to Be is just a short little ditty that doesn't add much. Teacher, on the other hand is a much better song, and one of my favorites. It has all the elements of a good JT song. Good guitar riffs that interplay with Ian's flute, lots of time signature changes along with good vocals, keyboards, and a cool bass-line.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2016
Ian Anderson has always seemed like a clever Bard to me. Such a magickal lyricist and musical performer. Benefit is a known Tull standard for Tull fans no doubt. Saw them live back in 1976 or so. Best concert experience of my life. Front row baby!!! Bought a flute and learned to play because of Mr. Anderson... lol. I just had to repurchase my older Tulls for a fresh collection. The first was all albums. Still listening...listening...and loving it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
One of my Tull favorites. Really an old one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
Wouldn't play on my desktop? Did play on my laptop?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2010
The early efforts by Ian Anderson
and his mates are marked by a fusion of
jazz, blues, rock, classical and celtic influences.
Odd meters made to feel straight, mixed with classical
melodies, jazz feels and hard rockin' blues (with a flute)make these early albums true fusion music before the term was even coined.
This pre-Aqua Lung era holds a much more eclectic mix of styles
and genres. Not to criticize the later efforts but Benefit and Stand Up are
my favorites due to the fusing of so many styles and use of odd meter.
With high caliber players even by today's standards, Tull
takes you on a trip and brings you back.
Ian Anderson is a true musical genius and succeeds
in fusing these styles in an accessible and even
commercially viable way. I call it brilliant
and timeless. It does not sound old or dated and
has a mysterious and engaging quality ranging from
beautiful haunting melodies to jazz inflected hard rocking and swinging grooves. I was also reminded what a talented vocalist Ian Anderson truly is.
Mixing flute with hard rock is in itself an innovation that should be recognized. True progressive British rock with depth and substance.
Modern music could do well to take a page from the Tull songbook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
Great Music..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2009
As Tull is one of my top three favorite recording artists *ever*, I may eventually get around to reviewing every Jethro Tull release, and I may not be able to be completely unbiased.

This album represented an even greater pulling away from the band's blues roots as evidenced on the previous album, Stand Up. Nonetheless, there is still a raw, grungy sort of edge to these tunes, due mainly to the guitarwork of Martin Barre. Yet at the same time, there is a decided folky, interesting flavor to them, with more piano and flute.

We find the songwriter, Ian Anderson, feeling in the mood for social commentary with songs like "Nothing to Say", "Son", and "For Michael Collins, Jeffery, & Me". He gives a nod to the ladies (both positively and negatively)in "With You There to Help Me", "Alive & Well & Living In", and "Sossity; You're a Woman"

The bonus tracks on this CD, "Singing All Day", "Witch's Promise", "Just Trying to Be" and "Teacher" are all welcome additions to the rocking festivities, and according to Anderson's liner notes, they were written at around the same time as the original songs on the album.

I am simply very happy that I own this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse