Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Real Benjamin Franklin (American Classic Series)
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Joseph Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 12, 2010
Reading this well written book on Benjamin Franklin makes me a little ashamed that I did not study harder in school and that I swallowed all the lies concerning this great man. Well documented and clearly demonstrates how this humble man rose to such prominence and played an integral part in the founding of our nation. Whether you are a student of history or merely a simple member of a tea party, you will find this book both inspirational and enjoyable. I highly recommend you read it and then add it to your family library.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2009
I have read all of the latest and many earlier biographies of Benjamin Franklin. This work hits the mark on showing his human side, his intellectual rigor, and is also very good on his interactions with the other Founders. I found it more readable than other Franklin biographies. I recommend this book highly and believe it would also be a great text for our educators at the high school level or higher. Of course, History and its significance to people today is not really taught in high school much anymore. I wonder what people like old Ben would make of our glaring ignorance of our own history.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2000
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is well written... even young children could enjoy the stories. Franklin was a remarkable man, he was a man of character. He excelled in many areas as a scientist, inventor, and politician. There are many lies being told about him today to defame his character, and this book will help you understand the REAL man!
33 comments| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2009
A FOUNDING FATHER, A PATRIOT, DIPLOMAT, FOREIGN POLICY EXPERT, PRINTER, AUTHOR,INVENTOR,and the list could go on, and on, and on. Franklin was so accomplished in so many diverse areas that it might be easier to list the things that he could not do rather than those in which he was expert. The Real Benjamin Franklin as presented by W. Cleon Skousen so artfully that you actually feel Franklin's presence as his words tumble off the pages. Along with The Real Thomas Jefferson, The Real Washington , The 5000 Year Leap *** this is a most wonderful way to get to know Benjamin Franklin, the man, just as, by his own words, he was. If you do not already know that anything carrying the National Center for Constitutional Studies (NCCS) label is bound to be excellent, I am sure that after reading Benjamin Franklin you will seek out other NCCS titles and experience the same pleasure.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
This is the first full biography of Benjamin Franklin that I have ever read. The book is just wonderful, as it is written for simpletons like me. No sophisticated language, no nuances, just simple, unpretentious, straightforward storytelling, only in this case, the story is not only true, but what a fantastic story it is. I now see that Benjamin Franklin was THE quintessential American. Even the great Abraham Lincoln and Mark Twain, who were what I would call psychological descendants of him, were just that: descendants. Benjamin Franklin was the original. I would even go as far as to say that all that is best about this great country of ours, is a reflection of who Benjamin Franklin was as a human being. and his accomplishments are just so fantastic, that it is simply breathtaking to even imagine that any one human being could have accomplished all that he did in his single lifetime. He was America's true Renaissance man. I realize that I will eventually revert back to worshiping Abraham Lincoln, but at least for this moment in time, I feel as if Benjamin Franklin really was the single greatest American who ever lived.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2010
My husband enjoys books about early American history. "The Real Benjamin Franklin" was one he thoroughly enjoyed. He had read "John Adams" by David McCullough, which he found fascinating, and discovered that this "real" book added many interesting details about Ben Franklin. We both look forward to reading other books in the "real" series!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2016
This is my second copy of this book as I lost the first. Every american should read this whole series(starting with the Real George Washington). They will let you see these amazing men in the correct light.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2012
You'll really feel like you know Ben Franklin and he's not the person that you were taught about in our defective educational system. He was really a great man, loving and devoted and a friend of freedom and humanity. Incomparable to anyone in politics today - maybe Alan West. When he invented the Franklin stove he didn't patent it because he didn't want to increase the cost of it - he wanted all people to have access to his great invention. - same with bi-focals. He met with many of the great minds of the time including Adam Smith. He was a very physically strong and disciplined person. When he makes statement about early to bed, early to rise - he's trying to share his secrets of success. It's unbelievable the risks these founders took to provide their posterity with freedom - they risked everything including their lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2010
I have recently purchased 3 of the American Classic series, George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and Benjamin Franklin. These 3 books come with a time-line,
Life Story, and an index and thumbnail(s) of the individual by contemory. All
of which make these books great reference books for any library. So a brilliant
quote on almost any subject is just a minute away.

I have read Ben Franklin and a quick scan of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. The Real Benjamin Franklin is an easy read, well structured, well documented(every page is footnoted). It gives you a general feeling for the man, the times, and his possition in it.

The Real George Washington (American Classic Series)The Real Thomas Jefferson (American Classic Series)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was a well written book. It was very informative. Easy to read.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse