Trade in your item
Get up to a $0.55
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Best of the Blue Note Years Original recording remastered, Live

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Original recording remastered, Live, May 8, 2001
"Please retry"
$78.92 $18.32

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Blues Mind Matter
  2. Little B's Poem
  3. Bouquet
  4. Ghetto Lights
  5. Patterns
  6. 'Til Then
  7. Dave's Chant
  8. Same Shame
  9. Ummh
  10. Houston St. Thursday Afternoon
  11. Roses Poses

Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 8, 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording remastered, Live
  • Label: Blue Note Records
  • ASIN: B00005B5X5
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #120,567 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Bobby Hutcherson Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Dr.D.Treharne on June 7, 2001
Format: Audio CD
The problem with calling this "The Best of the Blue Note years" is that that opinion is very subjective.This is actually an attempt to provide one track from eleven of the albums that the prolific Hutcherson recorded for Blue Note between 1965 and 1976 as a taster for more re-releases.As such, it works better than it ought to. My favourite tracks are "Ghetto Lights" on which Freddie Hubbard gets to play some lovely muted trumpet (that from 1965) and"Umhh" from 1970 which puts Hutcherson up against Joe Sample on electric piano and Harold Land on Tenor Sax.There are three other things to note. Firstly the selection illustrates very well how differently jazz is recorded at the start of the 21st century than some of the early efforts here.For example, listen to the drum sound, particularly on "Blues Mind Matter" which is all sticks and top.It's also interesting to hear how much bassier the sound had become by 1976 and "Houston St. Thursday afternoon".Secondly if you're coming to Hutcherson from his Verve material it's like listening to somebody completely different - be warned.Finally, this succeeds in its unstated aim of this listener wanting Blue Note to remaster and re-release (selectively) whole albums,perhaps starting with "Dialogue"
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?